We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Metropolitan Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Metropolitan Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 178: English reviews
Start your review of Metropolitan Inn
 Click to rate
Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not so great. The Temperpedic beds were not very comfortable with some kind of cardboard stiff mattress pad under a thin sheet. No blankets whatsoever. Just a sheet and thin bedspread. The bathroom was dirty with dirt in most cracks and crevices in the tile. The heater was not on a normal thermostat so it was super hard to adjust...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneLS
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this hotel is reasonably priced, very clean and quiet and close to downtown I would book here again, I saved almost 500.00 by staying here as opposed to marriot where the convention is, a ten minute walk

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Q1575NOpatrickc
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The room and bed were spacious and clean and I should have slept wonderfully if that's really all that mattered. Unfortunately, anytime anyone used the toilet in a neighboring room, I could hear the pipes really loud and would wake me up at times. It didn't help that a lot of snow was coming down either because in the morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David N
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Management is key! The GM & staff will make sure your accommodations will exceed an adequate stay. In addition, the rooms w/ Temper beds far exceed any other places. Great place and am recommending this place to anyone whom visits Salt Lake.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mhandleyslc
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

I had my assistant look up pricing for rooms and he misunderstood and booked it. I called with in a few hours and they said it was with in 48 hours, so to call in the morning to have the manager fix it with out fees. The next morning, they said the manager said the room is on refundable. Then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly L
St. George, Utah
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Room did not look like the pictures on the site - bed was temprapedic - great!!! Place was clean and staff was nice. It was good for location and value and allows pets. I may stay again if I was looking for more amenities but if I do I willo check the rooms to see what they look like

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom H
Bryce, Utah
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Felt like the pictures on the website were not the room we stayed in. Nice little place for the money we found the staff nice.great location and just what we needed beds were indeed nice place was clean and smelled good

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom H
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Booked thru Internet 1 night stay, checked in late. Talked with desk clerk next morning on cost to extend stay and she quoted us a price we agreed to. Next day when checking out the "manager" (idiot) charged us 50% more than quote, said desk clerk "made a mistake". Asked to speak with owner and manager said he's Korean and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bwalsh281
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello bwalsh281, Thank you for your feedback. We do apologize for not meeting your expectations. To clarify for future guests what happens should a guest decide to extend their stay with us, we never intend to dupe, trick, or take advantage of a guest in any way. We first verbally clarify the rate before and after tax, we then print...

Corona, California
Reviewed 24 September 2016

located in downtown close to the temple and capitol. a real bargain with tempur - pedic beds .... quite dated with a friendly and helpful staff .... would probably not stay here again if something else was available. but, if you want an excellent bed - this is the place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johndw40
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello johndw40, Thank you for your feedback. We are very proud that we have the most comfortable beds in all of Utah! It is unfortunate we were unable to meet some of your other expectations, we do hope you will consider staying with us again and give us an opportunity to serve you again. Best Regards, Chet Culmer

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

The staff was disgusting towards us and wanted us to pay more money even though we had already payed the full price. The receptionist was vet rude and sarcastic, worst place I've ever stayed at in America and it has honestly put me off going back. Other than that the location was alright as it is close to the city....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DcVsMarvel
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello DcVsMarvel, Thank you for your review and feedback. It is unfortunate we were unable to meet your qualifications for a comfortable stay. When guest makes a reservation and states there are only 2 guests, but have 4 guests, we do need to charge a very inexpensive fee of $10.00 per extra guest (this extra fee is listed on our...

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#47 of 75 in Salt Lake City
222 reviews
0.6 km away
Peery Hotel
Peery Hotel
#48 of 75 in Salt Lake City
447 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake C...
#56 of 75 in Salt Lake City
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt ...
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
834 reviews
0.1 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
0.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake...
#44 of 75 in Salt Lake City
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This beautiful little Gem of a hotel among the many giants of big box hotels is perfectly nestled in downtown Salt Lake City just 12 minutes walk to the Salt Palace Convention Center, add another minute to that and you are at Temple Square, City Creek Center Shopping Mall, one block away from a "trax" free zone Utah's public transportation (UTA). Dozens of of restaurants, cafes, and bars walking distance availability. If you dont want to walk, cycle cabs are a phone call away, and make regular passes by our front entrance for convenience. 5.7 Miles from Salt Lake City International Airport (7-10 minute drive). A 4 minute drive or 15 minute walk to The Venue (1.2 Miles). Free daily Continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, Cable t.v. in every room. Metropolitan Inn is the ONLY hotel in Utah with America's Most Recommended Mattress, Tempur-Pedic Mattresses! Sleep in Health and Luxury at the Metropolitan Inn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Metropolitan Inn

Address: 524 S West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2318
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Price Range: $108 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Metropolitan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Metropolitan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Salt Lake City
Metropolitan Salt Lake City
Metropolitan Inn Salt Lake City, Utah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Metropolitan Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“quiet rooms are upper floors in back.”
 of 5 bubbles travelingvermonters, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Only a block and a half from the UTA Trax Courthouse station.”
 of 5 bubbles timmeeks1966, 12 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Try the Murphy Suite for extra roominess.”
 of 5 bubbles bajabo, 26 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Upper floors quieter than ground floor...as per usual.”
 of 5 bubbles The_Illuminati, 12 Jan 2015 | Read review
“We were on the second floor and our room faced south so it did not face the main street. I think it was quieter possibly than the rooms that faced the street - but even those are not right on the street they are across the parking lot from the street.”
  • If you need a large work space, the table is quite small.
  • Bathroom counter was small but totally servicable and very clean.
  • Not sure what the free items were as the basket was empty. :)  There were some maps and brochure
 of 5 bubbles cybertraveler, 28 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5