We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 142: English reviews
Cherry Hill, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2016

When I checked in I was given a room that was already occupied. Big surprise. Trash wasn't emptied from previous occupant. Smelled awful. Free Internet unusable speed, faster internet available for more $$$. No daily maid service. Free breakfast was coffee and packaged oatmeal in the office. No dishes or cups in the cabinets.

Helpful?
Thank kapplerphoto
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I was disheartened to read that you were checked in to a room that was not clean and fresh upon your arrival. Please know that we do not operate like that. We strive to give each of our guests a clean, comfortable room. I will... More 

Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
199 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Arrived here and was greeted at the front desk by a VERY loud and obnoxious clerk who immediately decided that she had the privilege of playing with my dog, and the privilege of invading my privacy by asking where I was from and what was I doing in town, all 3 of which were none of her business. She actually... More 

Helpful?
Thank Taylor W
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I'm sorry that your check in was not handled professionally. I will be addressing this with my staff to ensure this doesn't happen again. I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. Please know that we strive to provide a clean, comfortable... More 

El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2016

The room was fairly clean and well equipped, but kind of small for an extended stay. Not a lot of closet space. There are no amenities here like a pool or spa and the breakfast was nothing but coffee and granola bars and instant oatmeal. However, the location is great is you want to be in the Sugar House area... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard F
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed a clean well equipped room and appreciate your kind comments about the location being great. I apologize for the room size being smaller than expected, we do have different room types as well. The staff and I would... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

We booked 2 nights here and cancelled the second night within an hour of checking in. Firstly, the staff were lovely and very accommodating, but everything else was very disappointing. We arrived here to a big commotion occurring on the third floor, a girl in lingerie was screaming at a middle-aged man telling him she needed to give him some... More 

Helpful?
Thank RoxyHolt
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review

I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear the issue with your stay. To ensure that a situation like yours doesn't happen again, our team is ready to handle any domestic issues swiftly and accurately as well as obtaining the cleanliness of... More 

Monticello, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2016

They need to hire some people that know simple cleaning skills. I shouldn't have to clean my own room. Besides the dirtiness, the carpet left my white socks looking like I walked on blacktop. They were just black on the bottom.

Helpful?
Thank 988monette
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am so disappointed that the cleanliness of your room was not up to the standard we like to uphold on a daily basis. Please accept my apology. In response to your feedback, I will talk to my housekeepers about the issues you mentioned so... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

This is my first stay at extended. At first I wasn't sure about a place that has a kitchen, thinking it might smell bad. It turns out fine. I really like the trees in the parking lot. Walking distance to a giant park, another direction is a big shopping area with lots of restaurants and bars.

Helpful?
Thank Jason Z
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review

Your feedback is very important. It is pleasing to know your first experience with us was a great one. It also good to know you found our convenient location suitable. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon. More 

St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2016

We found a pile of crumbs in the bed, a shower that wouldn't drain, long black hair in the shower and probably in the drain. We checked out early and demanded a refund, which we received. The hotel is located in an ideal spot, but it is not very welcoming, and not well kept up.

Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the room not being up to cleanliness standards, that is unacceptable and I am very happy that you were refunded back. That is not at all how we normally operate. I discussed your comments with our team,... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Reasonable price when booking online (Travel Site). Did not care for the outside entrance to Rm, and the cleanliness of the Rm was inadequate (hairs in sink, mold in shower grout, stains in carpeting, etc....).

Helpful?
Thank Robert C
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

a good place to stay if you're going to USCIS in Salt Lake, Utah. Not as big compared with other branch. reception is close at midnight.we need cookware and dishes but theyre already closed at midnight. So make sure you get what you need before they close.

Helpful?
Thank Alynna
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Sugarhouse. Sorry about the miscommunication about the office being closed. There is someone on sight 24 hours. If you need anything next time, just press 0 and a staff member will deliver to... More 

Homer Glen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

First stay was good even though we were a late arrival. Very accommodating... Grab and go breakfast is just that... Fruit and hot coffee and to go oatmeal or bars. Nothing really exciting, but they are an extended stay place so this isn't really necessary, but nice for those who come and go. Second visit wasn't that great. Had no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Genie57_10
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to share your review and for staying with us. I'm glad you had a great stay with us, but disappointed that your second night had various issues. I will make sure the maintenance engineer double checks those issues. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again... More 

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
3.8 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake...
#13 of 75 in Salt Lake City
158 reviews
2.8 km away
Ramada Salt Lake City
Ramada Salt Lake City
#53 of 75 in Salt Lake City
455 reviews
11.2 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt ...
#17 of 75 in Salt Lake City
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City/University-Foothill Dr.
5.0 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#47 of 75 in Salt Lake City
215 reviews
7.0 km away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City Central
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City Centr...
#22 of 75 in Salt Lake City
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House

Address: 1220 East 2100 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84106 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites - Salt Lake City - Sugar House)
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Price Range: $114 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Extended Stay, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Salt Lake City/Sugarhouse Hotel Salt Lake City
Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House Utah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The third floor rear was quiet and had lovely trees to look at, rather than the front which looked out onto a commercial street.”
 of 5 bubbles VisitingVictoria, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Would not recommend this hotel - they try to cut corners on very basic amenities - cleanliness, linen...”
 of 5 bubbles freudsigmund2011, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on 3rd floor and it was quiet. The hotel was not very busy.”
 of 5 bubbles richardfV2844OX, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go someplace else, We moved to Hawthorne Suites - same price, but incredibly better.”
 of 5 bubbles K178TFjeffg, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The desk clerk saw that I walk with a cane and she immediately offered a room to me that is just steps from the lobby..”
 of 5 bubbles anneR2299PY, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay