We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

486 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
See the most recent reviews
Showing 463: English reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2016

Although out of town these villas are really great. The accommodation is on a farm and near the entrance are three alpacas and two sheep which children can stroke. The villas themselves are well equipped.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hello Gordon, thanks for taking the time to place feedback on here. We try to set a good standard, and those alpacas and sheep must be the best feed animals around.

Campbelltown, Australia
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We stayed at these villas for 2 nights in early December and on the second morning,when we were getting ready to check out we had no water from when we wake up.. We were unable to use the toilet, wash or had any drinking water. The owners response was akin to Fawty Towers! They made no effort to appolagise or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SHOOTERGAZ
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

I see that you haven't left you proper name on here, I wonder why. As for saying that our response was like Fawlty towers, I personally spoke to everyone who was staying here at the time, and informed them of what was happening. I think that Fawlty Towers was a great comedy show. Im sorry that your stay with us...

Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

We stayed at these villas for 2 nights in early December and apart from a window on the second night, we had no water for the duration of our stay. We were unable to use the toilet, wash or had any drinking water. The owners response was akin to Fawty Towers! The wife telling us that she'd had no water...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Fiona M
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, Im sorry that your stay here wasn't up to our usual standard. I can control a lot of things but a blockage in the spring that provides our water is not one of them. The "number of rules and charges" are put in place to protect our equipment and villas, they are not there for a...

Irvine, California
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights at a one bedroom villa and it was spacious and comfortable. The kitchen is fully stocked and there's a large living room. Our villa has a space in front to park our car and that seems to be the case for all the villas. You can even feed the sheep and alpacas next to the villa....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank berrynot
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay here, we try hard to keep the standards up to a good level.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Accomodation was decent though the pic on the website makes it look a lot nicer than reality. We booked the 2 bedroom apartment and had the view that overlooked the glacier which was nice. However, our experience was soured tremendously as all the units were affected by a lack of water supply from the first morning onwards. The owners did...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Santhou
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Im sorry that your stay with us was not up to our usual standard. Our water supply as I explained to you at the time comes from a fresh spring in the hills behind Glenfern Villas and the fact that the pumps weren't playing the game was out of our hands. As you said i did my best to get...

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

We had a comfortable apartment no complaints at all. Best feature was the 'wildlife'. Very friendly alpacas and sheep to feed! The two people we saw in their office were both really helpful too. And after dark the stars were amazing!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ieb1
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, our housekeeping staff do their best to keep the villas in great condition, and yes the stars here at night are fantastic.

West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 22 November 2016

We had a great stay at this villa!! Nice bedroom, kitchen, and living room! We had very nice views just from our villa and also enjoyed feeding the sheep and alpaca there as well. Staff was helpful in recommending restaurants and other activities to do in Franz Josef!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gregory B
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay with us, those sheep and Alpaca are getting very fat with all the feed they are given.

Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We stayed one night in a villa at this location. The owner was extremely helpful with information about local attractions and dining options. The villa was very large and comfortable, with a full kitchen and sitting area, and a separate bedroom. It was great to have room to spread out after a long drive. We would definitely return to this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Foreranger
South Island, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Booked easily online.Well priced nice rural location about 3km north of Franz township. Very tidy location rooms well fitted out with nice amenities very comfortable bed. Friendly and knowledgeable manager.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greetch
Tokyo
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

Tranquil location just off the main drag of Franz Josef. No restaurants nearby which means you have to drive or eat at one of the restaurants that has a pick-up service (Blue Ice, Tiger King and The Landing). Two rooms in a single villa so lots of privacy. Rooms very spacious and adequately equipped. Best part are the three alpacas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kurosaki_Ichigo

171 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (148)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
2.1 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,036 reviews
1.1 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
303 reviews
2.3 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
2.3 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,264 reviews
2.7 km away
Franz Josef Montrose
Franz Josef Montrose
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: $163 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Glenfern Villas Franz Josef staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a cottage with a view of the glacier. But if it's bad weather, you may not get to see much.”
 of 5 bubbles bullman99, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Carry some food as it is about 2 kms away from nearest grocery or town.”
 of 5 bubbles GandhiFamily, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Check that they have resolved their water issues before booking”
 of 5 bubbles 354fionam, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“They are all good.”
 of 5 bubbles CharlesB218, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room in the back facing the mountains”
 of 5 bubbles MargaritaMadness9909, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5