We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

375 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Showing 354: English reviews
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Stayed 2 nights in a campervan in a powered site. You are not assigned a site so you are able to choose. The whole camping ground is filled with holes which badly need to be filled and the bathroom and showers need an upgrade, they were not very clean and there was water all over the place. The wifi was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MN0975
FranzTOP10, Manager at Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi MN0975 Thank you for your comments. Wifi which is supplied by another company is being upgraded later this month. Shower,toilets are cleaned daily late morning and then again late at night so I can only presume you experienced in between times. As for the potholes this is an ongoing problem dealt with weekly butnot helped by the extremely wet...

North Strathfield
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Location is awesome and value for money. Staff were not professional say didn't clean even after keeping the board outside the room and mentioned about bugs, toilet tissues and even shampoos were missing, looks like everything self-service. If you are after spending extra money on the glaciers, then this hotel helps to save money on accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaiganeshd
FranzTOP10, Manager at Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Jaiganeshd, I am sorry to hear about your experience here at Franz Josef Top10. This is not what I expect and staff have been spoken to to reinforce my expectations of customer service and room presentation.

Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

We arrived Yesterday 22/1/17 and we expected some form of communication to the outside World, but what er got was bad wifi and a long Walk to town. Its a Nice place but i would recommend something in town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valdemar Q
FranzTOP10, Manager at Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Valdemar, I appreciate that our wifi is not good and the company that supplies to us is planning an upgrade later this month which will hopefully fix the current problems. Hopefully our staff would have explained where you would currently get the best reception when you were checking in. If not I apologise.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Had a one night stay here and it was fine. Staff were great, incredibly helpful. Made good dinner recommendations. Weirdly we were put in a 7 bedroom room though we only booked for 3 people? Apparently that's the system, but I don't think it helped our ambience. Clean bathrooms and reasonably located though. Very poor wifi, didn't work at all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonja M
FranzTOP10, Manager at Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Sonja, Thanks for the kind words. The company that supplies our wifi is planning an upgrade later this month which will hopefully fix the restricted coverage we currently have.

Reviewed 19 January 2017

We found the park to be perfectly located; not in the township, but a 2 minute drive away and 10 minute walk. Price was comfortable and the quality of the room we stayed in was great, it was a small cabin, perfect for our one night stop. Staff were friendly and very informative. Linen was not included, so I think...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherinne J
FranzTOP10, Manager at Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Katherine, Thanks for the kind words. In regards to the linen we do have Cabins available with linen provided at a slightly higher price but unfortunatley these were already all booked on the night you stayed. We offer all options to try and cater to all different peoples budgets

Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night, was mostly empty and we had a camp ground to ourselves close to main office. Kitchens very clean and adequate as were the shower very clean and plenty of hot water. Staff very friendly but we were woken at 01:00 and endured a large group of young drunk and verbally abusive Americans. They were rapping and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
FranzTOP10, Manager at Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Jan, First let me thank you for your kind words regards staff and facilities. I am sorry your stay was disturbed by other guests and once we were made aware of the situation they were spoken to and we had no further problems from them. We do not have staff patrolling the grounds all night however a phone is...

Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately during our stay, it was cloudy and foggy. No mountain view at all. But that is the thing when you go to mountainous area. Unpredictable. We regret spend our time in west coast. Maybe we should go to East Coast instead. I don't understand the rave about spectacular west coast drive but that could be because we didn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mimi h
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Good parking, Had two entry points into room, lovely modern bathroom. Shared kitchen which was well equipped. Would be nice if more tea towels and cloths were supplied as we didn't like using one supplied as it was dirty. Great family area in dining room for eating and watching T.V.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tweety2005
FranzTOP10, Manager at Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the kind words but sorry to hear that your tea towel supplied was not clean. Hopefully you came to office and were supplied with a clean one

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Booked a powered site for 2 nights. Strangely, we weren't given a specific plot so it was first come first served. This caused a little chaos especially when you need to take your van into town and other places. Each time we came back, we had to find a site. Also, tents were using powered sites which meant we couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scotsmember
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We stayed here for one night, wouldn't have stayed any more. we had one of the executive rooms with ensuite. It was clean but had a strong smell of cleaning product. Because sand flies are a problem you need to close the windows at night but then it gets hot and stuffy. The bathroom was a tight squeeze so wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liketotravellotsNZ

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franz Josef
1.4 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,291 reviews
1.2 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,086 reviews
1.5 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Franz Josef Montrose
Franz Josef Montrose
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
214 reviews
1.8 km away
Sir Cedrics Chateau Franz Backpackers and Motel
17.3 km away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A peaceful setting with great views of the mountains, Franz Josef TOP 10 has accommodation to suit every budget. Guests in campervans and campers enjoy modern kitchen and bathroom facilities. Accommodation includes standard cabins with shared facilities and self-contained park motel units suitable for singles, couples, families or larger groups. We have two spas for guests to use, Wi-fi throughout the park, kids playgrounds, Sky TV, games room. Our staff know the area and are happy to advise on the best way to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park

Address: 2902 Franz Josef Highway, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: $63 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Brisbane, Australia
16 days ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for the insuite toilet option”
 of 5 bubbles RaghavSabharwal, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Quieter Rooms, Back of the hotel rooms”
 of 5 bubbles jaiganeshd, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask about linen, if staying in a cabin.”
 of 5 bubbles , 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“this is in a quiet location so you are assured a good nights sleep”
 of 5 bubbles _grahamdavi, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“Big family apartment”
 of 5 bubbles MohamedAlJilani, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5