We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Heartland Hotel Glacier Country

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 66: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a hotel that is definitely very good for transit or a one night stay. The exterior may not looks appealing that's because they have kept the building facade as well as the exterior unchanged, but the renovated interior of the room is definitely delight you. Almost every things you in the room is new, hence what you get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas Y
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country, responded to this review

Good morning Thomas Y, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us - we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We are proud to have our newly renovated hotel rooms and public areas and take on your feedback that the rooms require hangers for coats etc - this is some...

Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Amenities can be improved on. Moreover, the receptionist is hardly at the counter, it seems extremely easy for any stranger to just go to the hotel and up the room to access the rooms. Unsure of safety here. In addition the wifi is crazily poor regardless where you are in the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank diorshow
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country, responded to this review

Good evening diorshow, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Glacier Country. It is a shame to hear you were unhappy with your time with us. If you would like to contact me directly with your concerns this would be most helpful in ensuring that we can address any...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 April 2016

Our group of 28 were touring the South Island for 14 days and unfortunately Fox Glacier Heartland Hotel was the least liked. The rooms had a few issues, bathroom lights not working, water not working, locks not working. The rooms were tidy, but need some maintenance and upkeep which I don't think is a top priority for them as the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nikkiv74
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country, responded to this review

Good afternoon nikkiv74, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Glacier Country. This hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment Winter 2016 which will see all guest rooms and public areas renovated. You have my apologies that you were unhappy with the hotel during your stay. Kind regards, Melissa...

Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

We chose this hotel as a stopover on a trip up the West Coast. The room had everything one could realistically expect relative to its price. As an aside, hotels in Fox and Franz appear to price match on the high side. But this hotel was at the cheaper end of that scale. The room had everything we expected, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gondwana80
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country, responded to this review

Good afternoon Gondwana80, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Glacier Country. This hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment Winter 2016 which will see all guest rooms and public areas renovated. You have my apologies that you were unhappy with the hotel during your stay. Kind regards, Melissa...

Noosa, Australia
Reviewed 9 March 2016

We found the basin in the main room not in the bathroom to be an odd touch. As a last minute booking and having read some bad reviews, we weren't expecting much and it wasn't as bad as we feared. The rooms are old fashioned and there's no AC but it was fairly cool the night we were there. Wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amp-qld
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country, responded to this review

Good afternoon amp-qld, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Glacier Country. This hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment Winter 2016 which will see all guest rooms and public areas renovated. You have my apologies that you were unhappy with the hotel during your stay. Kind regards, Melissa...

Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

The walls were paper thin. I was kept awake by a snorer in the next room and felt like the ceiling was falling on when people walked around upstairs. The pillow cases were dirty and creased, as though they had been slept on. The furniture was chipped and dirty and the bathroom facilities abysmal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country, responded to this review

Good afternoon Jenny L, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Glacier Country. This hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment Winter 2016 which will see all guest rooms and public areas renovated. You have my apologies that you were unhappy with the hotel during your stay. Kind regards,...

Arrowtown, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Late booking as nothing much available and had to book a place for the night. Read reviews after. Did not find the room I had as bad as some described here, however, it is an old, tired, thin walled and ? Tin ? Roofed building, with no air conditioning in the room (radiators for cold weather warmth). The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jules141057
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country, responded to this review

Good afternoon Jules141057, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Glacier Country. This hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment Winter 2016 which will see all guest rooms and public areas renovated. You have my apologies that you were unhappy with the hotel during your stay. Kind regards, Melissa...

Greve, Denmark
Reviewed 3 March 2016

Well situated and nice looking from the outside. Nice friendly staff. Entering the small and not very nice and cozy room (room 36) we at once discover a wet floor in the corner under the sink (cracked). No problem in the reception and we got the room next door ( room 35 exacatly alike). The room was on the ground...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank springbank
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country, responded to this review

Good afternoon Springbank, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Glacier Country. This hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment Winter 2016 which will see all guest rooms and public areas renovated. You have my apologies that you were unhappy with the hotel during your stay. Kind regards, Melissa...

Reviewed 2 March 2016

Always like to be balanced with a review, so start with reception being helpful on our arrival and staff friendly at breakfast (two nights). Also the hotel is conveniently placed in the centre of town. And there is wi-fi. Then, I'm afraid, you open the door to the room. It's hot, stuffy and dirty. The carpet is stained with all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country, responded to this review

Good afternoon Jack H, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Glacier Country. This hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment Winter 2016 which will see all guest rooms and public areas renovated. You have my apologies that you were unhappy with the hotel during your stay. Kind regards,...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Room number 30 was disgusting, only a desperate backpacker would stay there. If the other rooms are similar I would say avoid it. Curtains were hanging down, some sort of generator was going all night and it sounded like pipes were banging all night. Not very clean and linen and towels were shabby. It made me feel uncomfortable and itchy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenni1949
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country, responded to this review

Good morning Jenni1949, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay at the Heartland Hotel Glacier Country. Our hotel is undergoing a refurbishment winter 2016 which will see the rooms looking modern and fresh. Kind regards, Melissa Alexander General Manager

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.2 km away
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
#10 of 10 in Fox Glacier
159 reviews
0.2 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
324 reviews
1.7 km away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
945 reviews
1.1 km away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
255 reviews
0.1 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Glacier Country

Address: 39 Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: $148 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Glacier Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Heartland Hotel Glacier Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Heartland Hotel Glacier Country staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles JackH968, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask to see the room because there are very different types of rooms, some have view, some proper bathroom etc. Second floor has better view”
  • The
  • The room with hand basin
  • Toilet seat stucked in the shower corner
  • The shower
 of 5 bubbles irmeliw, 5 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Don't go!”
 of 5 bubbles law170544, 4 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Can't give one except to say don't stay there.”
 of 5 bubbles shotokan_63, 16 Feb 2015 | Read review
“'free wifi' has been constantly disrupted and intermittent at our room”
 of 5 bubbles K987GCdanieln, 28 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay