We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Heartland Hotel Glacier Country

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 71: English reviews
Start your review of Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Motel style. I was worried after reading comments. Completely recently refurbished rooms, instead, modern design. Rooms and bathrooms are small but comfortable. Definitely to recommend. Breakfast: not recommended, considering the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdriVitto
Romford Essex
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There are 2 hotels in fox glacier with the same name. Hope this is the right place. This is the one without the white bar. Not a good place. Maybe ok for backpackers but not for us. No wardrobe, safe, space in bathroom for toiletries, other than a very small glass shelf and the window ledge. Kettle was supplied but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holidayfan55
Lincoln, U.K.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

During our five week tour of NZ we stayed mainly in motels and Holiday Parks, during peak season, on a budget of approx 150NZD per night. when we visited Fox Glacier we decided to treat ourselves to a stay in a hotel, and opted for the Heartland. Sadly the English expectations of a hotel did not match up to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thenickmeister
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Quiet convenient location. Price was right. We stayed two nights. Staff on checkin were very helpful and informative. We did not check out the restaurant; it looked a little too institutional. Our ground floor room was a little on the small side but was fine. Clearly the rooms have been significantly upgraded recently. Really, no complaints. I would certainly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LikethetripFantastic
Reviewed 31 December 2016

By the look of our room, this property has recently had a full overhaul. The room was modern and well-appointed. In spite of the name, this is a motel-style property, which means that there are parking spaces right outside the rooms which are on two floors. The building is mainly wooden which affects the sound levels in the room. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dhmacher
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country, responded to this review

Good morning dhmacher, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Glacier Country. We are pleased you enjoyed the newly refurbished rooms. I have passed your comments onto my maintenance team to investigate. We hope you enjoyed your time on the West Coast. Kind regards, Melissa Alexander General Manager

Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

This is a hotel that is definitely very good for transit or a one night stay. The exterior may not looks appealing that's because they have kept the building facade as well as the exterior unchanged, but the renovated interior of the room is definitely delight you. Almost every things you in the room is new, hence what you get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas Y
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country, responded to this review

Good morning Thomas Y, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us - we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We are proud to have our newly renovated hotel rooms and public areas and take on your feedback that the rooms require hangers for coats etc - this is some...

Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Amenities can be improved on. Moreover, the receptionist is hardly at the counter, it seems extremely easy for any stranger to just go to the hotel and up the room to access the rooms. Unsure of safety here. In addition the wifi is crazily poor regardless where you are in the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank diorshow
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country, responded to this review

Good evening diorshow, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Glacier Country. It is a shame to hear you were unhappy with your time with us. If you would like to contact me directly with your concerns this would be most helpful in ensuring that we can address any...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 April 2016

Our group of 28 were touring the South Island for 14 days and unfortunately Fox Glacier Heartland Hotel was the least liked. The rooms had a few issues, bathroom lights not working, water not working, locks not working. The rooms were tidy, but need some maintenance and upkeep which I don't think is a top priority for them as the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nikkiv74
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country, responded to this review

Good afternoon nikkiv74, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Glacier Country. This hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment Winter 2016 which will see all guest rooms and public areas renovated. You have my apologies that you were unhappy with the hotel during your stay. Kind regards, Melissa...

Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

We chose this hotel as a stopover on a trip up the West Coast. The room had everything one could realistically expect relative to its price. As an aside, hotels in Fox and Franz appear to price match on the high side. But this hotel was at the cheaper end of that scale. The room had everything we expected, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gondwana80
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country, responded to this review

Good afternoon Gondwana80, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Glacier Country. This hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment Winter 2016 which will see all guest rooms and public areas renovated. You have my apologies that you were unhappy with the hotel during your stay. Kind regards, Melissa...

Noosa, Australia
Reviewed 9 March 2016

We found the basin in the main room not in the bathroom to be an odd touch. As a last minute booking and having read some bad reviews, we weren't expecting much and it wasn't as bad as we feared. The rooms are old fashioned and there's no AC but it was fairly cool the night we were there. Wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amp-qld
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country, responded to this review

Good afternoon amp-qld, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Glacier Country. This hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment Winter 2016 which will see all guest rooms and public areas renovated. You have my apologies that you were unhappy with the hotel during your stay. Kind regards, Melissa...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.1 km away
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
#10 of 10 in Fox Glacier
173 reviews
0.1 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
0.1 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
163 reviews
16.0 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country is privileged to be located within a unique world heritage area. The internationally recognised Westland World Heritage Park encompasses 2.6 million hectares of spectacular wilderness, including the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers. Heartland Hotel Glacier Country is just five minutes drive from Fox Glacier. Located in Fox Glacier village, this recently refurbished three-star plus hotel is the ideal place to stay if you are here to see this remarkable attraction - we are just three kilometres from the glacier car park. A multi-million dollar upgrade was completed in October 2016 that included all 51 guest rooms and ensuites, restaurant, bar and reception area. The design scheme for this hotel drew inspiration from the local West Coast environs in creating an effective and cheerful hotel upgrade. The exterior décor and light internal refurbishment brings a fresh new look to the property and creates a consistent feel throughout. Heartland Hotel Glacier Country looks forward to welcoming you to this very special corner of the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Glacier Country

Address: 39 Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: $146 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Glacier Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Heartland Hotel Glacier Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Heartland Hotel Glacier Country staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the motel down the road!”
 of 5 bubbles thenickmeister, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room on the upper floor, away from the stairs. Some rooms towards the back appear to have a view of the mountains.”
 of 5 bubbles dhmacher, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go to another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles JackH968, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask to see the room because there are very different types of rooms, some have view, some proper bathroom etc. Second floor has better view”
  • The
  • The room with hand basin
  • Toilet seat stucked in the shower corner
  • The shower
 of 5 bubbles irmeliw, 5 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Don't go!”
 of 5 bubbles law170544, 4 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5