We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 163: English reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Really liked this place. Friendly and helpful staff, clean facilities, solid pizza, good wifi coverage and spacy carpark. Altogether with decent free soup and free hot tub it's no doubt a great value for just 20NZD. Not to mention it was the only hostel in Fox Glacier that let me stay in my own van overnight.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Radek P
Ambica A, General Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest Kia Ora!! Thank you so much for your feedback received by us for your stay with us!! I have shared your positive sentiments with all my colleagues at the hotel and the entire team looks forward to your next visit to our hotel. Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance at any time....

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

I went there with my sister and my mum just for one night, but the place was amazing, clean, warm and friendly. We could have breakfast which was included and make our own lunch in the kitchen. After we met the lovely staff we decided to stay one more night. All the staff was very friendly, especially Mani, Ceci and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nataly O
Ambica A, General Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from The Fox Glacier Pod Hostel and Inn. Thank you for your patronage to our hotel and for taking the time to share your experiences with us. The guest experience is our highest priority and it is always gratifying to receive such valuable comments. We appreciate you spending the time to share your experiences with us and...

Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Facilite with nice bed with curtain on each bed, thus each of us having own privacy. Awesome to put ourselves in the spa pool after the walk to see the galcier and the famous Lake Mantheson. The hostel having a restaurant as well, food is delicious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pui C
Ambica A, General Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review our resort. The entire team is delighted to receive such wonderful feedback and to learn that your experience at our place has been exemplary. Thank you once again and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Mumbai
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

This place is extremely friendly and great people serving you what u need. The team is absolutely amazing and they are always willing to take the extra mile to make sure the guest are delighted. This place offers free unlimited wifi along with breakfast, tea and coffee. Nice clean place with good facilities. The room we stayed was very comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jomy A
Ambica A, General Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at our place. Your kind comments regarding our staff and services is greatly appreciated and has already been shared with our entire team. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

New Zealand
Reviewed 5 September 2016

I cant rave about the place enough. New owners, new management who go out of their way to look after you. The rooms were very comfy and clean and just 4 bunks to a room. You can put across a curtain in your pod and each has a light, power outlets and usb connections. The room came with free breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
Ambica A, General Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Fox Glacier Inn. Your kind comments regarding our staff and services is greatly appreciated and has already been shared with our entire team. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

You can sleep for cheap, but don't expect more. The room was small with no extra's. The kitchen is too small and a mess, only 2 people can cook at the same time. You get free bread and coffee in the morning, but not enough knives and places to sit for everyone. After 2 nights we were glad to move...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frank v
Ambica A, General Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay experience owing to various factors during your recent stay with us. Having investigated your observations in detail, please allow us to clarify that : I am surprised to hear about your feedback of the rooms being small. This is one of the...

Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

This hostel is really excellent. The management is very friendly, you're provided with free soup in the evening and free cereal and toast for breakfast in the morning. They also have really excellent wifi.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lauren B
Ambica A, General Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Fox Glacier Inn. Your kind comments regarding our staff and services is greatly appreciated and has already been shared with our entire team. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Region of Murcia, Spain
Reviewed 12 May 2016

The hostel is very very nice, I came there when it was already drk, well, the town itself was the first place from Wanaka where there was phone reception at all. The office was already ckosed, but I checked in at the bar, the staff was really nice and welcoming. Shared 4 bed rooms, has curtains for each bed, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DainaZvi
Ambica A, General Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at Fox Glacier Inn. We are pleased to know that you overall had a comfortable stay and your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Your feedback has been a very good learning for us and we will reemphasize the need to be attentive and consistent. Thank...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Searching for a room for the night and ended up here. It's not bad but its not great either, you get what you pay for. Shared a 4 bed dorm as it was what was available, beds were clean but noisy, could hear guests walking through corridor and through the next room . So if you must be here keep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria T
Ambica A, General Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience to the perfection. I am surprised to hear about your feedback about the room. This is one of the comments that we do not hear very often. Many of the backpackers who are well travelled and have experienced various backpacker’s Motel across...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2016

The staff are vacant and the rooms are damp and musty. It wasn't good at all. Unless this place has a major overhaul, stay somewhere else. The rooms were dark and boxy and the shower/toilet was tiny. Glad we were only here for one night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
Ambica A, General Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay experience with us. I am surprised to hear about your feedback about the room and donot remember you mentioning it to our Reception staff. This is one of the comments that we do not hear very often. On the contrary, many of...

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.0 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
0.2 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
332 reviews
0.1 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 km away
Sir Cedrics Chateau Franz Backpackers and Motel
0.8 km away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
15.9 km away
Franz Josef Montrose
Franz Josef Montrose
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn

Address: 39 Sullivan Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: $52 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Glacier Hotel South Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“superb location, multiple activities like skydiving nearby, a serene place”
 of 5 bubbles muzzammilb2015, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had room 33 which is a private room with ensuite as it was in the end we only had one neighbour”
 of 5 bubbles 186lisam186, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles Jspek, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Shared dorms are tiny, consider a private room.”
 of 5 bubbles xxemmamcdxx, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Dormitories are available but we chose a private room with ensuite.”
 of 5 bubbles Avntheothers, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5