We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 143: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Really liked this place. Friendly and helpful staff, clean facilities, solid pizza, good wifi coverage and spacy carpark. Altogether with decent free soup and free hot tub it's no doubt a great value for just 20NZD. Not to mention it was the only hostel in Fox Glacier that let me stay in my own van overnight.

Helpful?
Thank Radek P
Ambica A, General Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest Kia Ora!! Thank you so much for your feedback received by us for your stay with us!! I have shared your positive sentiments with all my colleagues at the hotel and the entire team looks forward to your next visit to our hotel. Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance at any time.... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

I went there with my sister and my mum just for one night, but the place was amazing, clean, warm and friendly. We could have breakfast which was included and make our own lunch in the kitchen. After we met the lovely staff we decided to stay one more night. All the staff was very friendly, especially Mani, Ceci and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nataly O
Ambica A, General Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from The Fox Glacier Pod Hostel and Inn. Thank you for your patronage to our hotel and for taking the time to share your experiences with us. The guest experience is our highest priority and it is always gratifying to receive such valuable comments. We appreciate you spending the time to share your experiences with us and... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Facilite with nice bed with curtain on each bed, thus each of us having own privacy. Awesome to put ourselves in the spa pool after the walk to see the galcier and the famous Lake Mantheson. The hostel having a restaurant as well, food is delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Pui C
Ambica A, General Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review our resort. The entire team is delighted to receive such wonderful feedback and to learn that your experience at our place has been exemplary. Thank you once again and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back. More 

Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

This place is extremely friendly and great people serving you what u need. The team is absolutely amazing and they are always willing to take the extra mile to make sure the guest are delighted. This place offers free unlimited wifi along with breakfast, tea and coffee. Nice clean place with good facilities. The room we stayed was very comfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jomy A
Ambica A, General Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at our place. Your kind comments regarding our staff and services is greatly appreciated and has already been shared with our entire team. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back. More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2016

I cant rave about the place enough. New owners, new management who go out of their way to look after you. The rooms were very comfy and clean and just 4 bunks to a room. You can put across a curtain in your pod and each has a light, power outlets and usb connections. The room came with free breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank David W
Ambica A, General Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Fox Glacier Inn. Your kind comments regarding our staff and services is greatly appreciated and has already been shared with our entire team. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

You can sleep for cheap, but don't expect more. The room was small with no extra's. The kitchen is too small and a mess, only 2 people can cook at the same time. You get free bread and coffee in the morning, but not enough knives and places to sit for everyone. After 2 nights we were glad to move... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank v
Ambica A, General Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay experience owing to various factors during your recent stay with us. Having investigated your observations in detail, please allow us to clarify that : I am surprised to hear about your feedback of the rooms being small. This is one of the... More 

Travellers are raving about these Fox Glacier hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

This hostel is really excellent. The management is very friendly, you're provided with free soup in the evening and free cereal and toast for breakfast in the morning. They also have really excellent wifi.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren B
Ambica A, General Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Fox Glacier Inn. Your kind comments regarding our staff and services is greatly appreciated and has already been shared with our entire team. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Region of Murcia, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2016

The hostel is very very nice, I came there when it was already drk, well, the town itself was the first place from Wanaka where there was phone reception at all. The office was already ckosed, but I checked in at the bar, the staff was really nice and welcoming. Shared 4 bed rooms, has curtains for each bed, a... More 

Helpful?
Thank DainaZvi
Ambica A, General Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at Fox Glacier Inn. We are pleased to know that you overall had a comfortable stay and your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Your feedback has been a very good learning for us and we will reemphasize the need to be attentive and consistent. Thank... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Searching for a room for the night and ended up here. It's not bad but its not great either, you get what you pay for. Shared a 4 bed dorm as it was what was available, beds were clean but noisy, could hear guests walking through corridor and through the next room . So if you must be here keep... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maria T
Ambica A, General Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience to the perfection. I am surprised to hear about your feedback about the room. This is one of the comments that we do not hear very often. Many of the backpackers who are well travelled and have experienced various backpacker’s Motel across... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2016

The staff are vacant and the rooms are damp and musty. It wasn't good at all. Unless this place has a major overhaul, stay somewhere else. The rooms were dark and boxy and the shower/toilet was tiny. Glad we were only here for one night.

Helpful?
Thank Alan C
Ambica A, General Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay experience with us. I am surprised to hear about your feedback about the room and donot remember you mentioning it to our Reception staff. This is one of the comments that we do not hear very often. On the contrary, many of... More 

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.0 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
0.2 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
323 reviews
0.8 km away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
344 reviews
0.5 km away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
340 reviews
15.9 km away
Sir Cedrics Chateau Franz Backpackers and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn

Address: 39 Sullivan Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: $55 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Glacier Hotel South Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dormitories are available but we chose a private room with ensuite.”
 of 5 bubbles Avntheothers, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room near the corridor end as can access outside easily to carry gear into room.”
 of 5 bubbles terryjudymag, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Use the wifi late at night or very early in the morning. To get a quiet room, get rooms facing the lush green vegetation e.g 32 and 34”
 of 5 bubbles rocksandmusic, 26 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Motel rooms are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles Evz1, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Private room with bathroom, other rooms are without bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles MartinP991, 19 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay