We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 41: English reviews
Start your review of Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park
 Click to rate
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

friendly staff, clean and good facilities. We stayed in the motor park for 2 nights. All the facilities were good but the down side was it was very over crowded and the neighbors were very very close. It felt like staying in a carpark with all the RV;s and campervans lined up in a row. I would say it makes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank worldhoppernz
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

this place seems to cater to the backpacker rather than camper vanners...showers cost 50c for 7 min hot water...the kitchen and lounge areas in the shed are largish...but you need large with the crowd..couldn't wait to get out of there....not sure there is much of a choice in that town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KimInsydney32
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This site was all right but nothing to write home about. You can certainly not describe the views or surround scenery as spectacular or inspiring and the main speciality of the place is s a motel rather than a dedicated campsite. It had all the usual facilities including showers, clothes washing and dump site.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernard R
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in a camper van for one night on an unpowered site. Highly recommend this camping ground, although do bring lots of bugspray!! Really nice facilities and kitchen, with a large social area and loads of comfortable seating. The staff were really lovely and when our camper van broke down the receptionist help us get in contact with breakdown assistance,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoelHedlund
Tweed Heads, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Decided on this camp ground for a night in our motor home. We had checked out the Top 10 then this park. The set up looked just right for our needs and turned out a good choice. The big communal "shed" was really just perfect for our needs. We had a powered site just adjacent to the main building which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L55_11
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 22 April 2016

We stayed in a room with a double bed. That was about it in the room. Just the double bed, a window and a chair. It was clean and the bed was comfy. Common area was spacious and clean. It was quiet and we had no trouble falling asleep. Bathrooms were clean. Reception actually gave each of us the $.50...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
Moers, Germany
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

Arrived with my friend in the afternoon. No problems with checking-in. We booked a tent site for 18$ which included the use of the kitchen and toilet. You had to pay for the shower which is kind of unfair because we paid already for sleeping in our own tent. Anyway. Friendly staff, no issues at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FreddyNZ_2015
Reviewed 11 February 2016

I have nothing but praise for this accommodation. The owner has done an excellent job ensuring the basics ( and then some ) are all covered for an overnight or week-long stay in the wilderness. Highly recommended. Those that complain about a .50 shower, it's a brilliant idea to manage costs. Fantastic. Showers were hot and plenty of time, if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C Neil L
Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Booked a powered site for our motorhome, amazed to find after paying $60 for the site we then needed to pay $0.50 each for a shower. When we questioned this at reception, we were told by the very helpful lady that it was her boss who made the rules and that was what he charged even if you were paying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pssd
haastlodge, Manager at Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park, responded to this review

To Clarify the rate was $50.00 not $60.00 for 4 persons. Showers work on 0.50c coins for a good hot 7 min. shower, and that is correct the price of the showers are not included in the price, others charge $2.00 for 3min. other Motorpark down the road from us charges $68.00 for 4 persons with unlimited showers still much...

Reviewed 15 January 2016

We stayed here in a large camper truck while returning to Central Otago from Westland. This site was closen as it was less expensive than the Top 10 up the road. The facility appears to be an old Ministry of Works site. The communal facilities have a 1970s government vibe about them. The bathrooms were pretty clean, and showers are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen T

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
2.6 km away
Heartland World Heritage Hotel
2.4 km away
Haast River TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.1 km away
Aspiring Court Motel
Aspiring Court Motel
#1 of 2 in Haast
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
Hannah's Homestead
Hannah's Homestead
#3 of 4 in Haast
17 reviews
5.5 km away
Bay Road Motel
Bay Road Motel
#2 of 4 in Haast
30 reviews
91.1 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideal stop over located halfway between the Glaciers and Queenstown. We offer quality accommodation for every budget. Our range consist of self-contained studio rooms, buget double, twin, dorms rooms all with shared facilities, powered van site and tent sites. We are an easy walk from iconic Hard Antler Bar and Restaurant and shops. Activities in the area consist of River Safaries on either the Waiatoto or the Haast, helicopter flights, bush and beach walks, scenic Jackson Bay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park

Address: Marks Road | Haast, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 0000, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Price Range: $25 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park New Zealand/Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Motel rooms are excellent quality. Backpacker rooms are away from Motel - are excellent quality, clean, and amenities very good.”
 of 5 bubbles cneill2015, 10 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Take plenty of food and fuel with you”
 of 5 bubbles sarahrO7155PS, 10 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Ground rooms were near the communal kitchen and lounge which we liked”
 of 5 bubbles Crestwood, 10 Apr 2013 | Read review
3 of 3