We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge

525 Great South Road Papatoetoe, Manukau, Auckland 2104 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (13)
Family and Play Areas (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 2 motels in Manukau
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge is one of Manukau city's best kept secrets. Camelot Arms is part of the ASURE group and has ASURE's four star rating. It is also moderately priced. It was built at a time when motel rooms were roomier and more comfortable than they are today. Many of the rooms have room for king or super king beds. Come and enjoy our old world comfort yet very modern style! We offer a range of accommodation from studios through to 1 and 2 bedroom units including Executive deluxe(Spa bath) to kitchen studio units. We offer competitive corporate rates We are ideally situated close to the airport for tourists arriving and departing. Five minutes drive to:- Manukau Westfield Shopping Mall- Middlemoore Hospital- Rainbows End- Vodafone Events Centre- The Grange Golf Course- MIT (Manukau Institute of Technology)- NZ Victor Badminton Centre. Ten minutes drive to- Auckland's Domestic and International Airports- Botany Town Centre- Sylvia Park Shopping Centre. Camelot Arms Motor Lodge is convenient for both business travelers and holiday visitors. All our Serviced Daily. All units and apartments have either a kitchen with cooking facilities or a kitchenette including tea and coffee making facilities, microwave. All units have bathrooms, hair dryers, some with corner spa bath.Free WiFi Flat screen TV ,Sky 50+ channels TV. Electric blankets, Heaters, Fans, and Cots. Breakfast available (delivered to room)Large private outdoor barbecue area. Guest laundry. Free Off-street parking. Conference room with facilities and full catering for up to 30 delegates. Chargeback facility to local restaurants.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast available
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese
206Reviews3Q+A49Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 125
  • 34
  • 21
  • 6
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Zijun Jiang wrote a review Dec 2023
China1 contribution
The hotel is clean, spacious and bright. Easy parking, easy access. The front desk of the hotel is warm, attentive, efficient and quick to check in. The room is very clean, the bathroom dry and wet separation, the overall is very comfortable. Room sound insulation is very good, very quiet, does not affect sleep. Prices are affordable. Live very satisfied!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Dawson, Owner at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge
Responded 28 Dec 2023
Thank you for your review. Come back again! :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
doolan864 wrote a review Jan 2023
Canberra, Australia10 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Excellent location and clean and large accommodation as compared with other motels we stayed at . Received upgrade to 2 bedrooms Excellent managers of the motel . The location was close to the services in the town including shops supermarket cafes and restaurants
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Time of heavy rains as road access maybe limited
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Georgina wrote a review Dec 2023
2 contributions3 helpful votes
Terrible service. Incredibly rude staff. Very disorganized. We felt as welcome as a fart in a space suit. Won't go there again and won't recommend it. Staff need to learn people skills. Also they take $250 amount off you plus all payments before they let you in. Unheard of practice.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Dont go here!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Dawson, Owner at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge
Responded 26 Dec 2023
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our motel. We’re very sorry you had problems during your stay. Perhaps you haven’t heard of “payment in advance.” It was recommended more than 10 years by the then Motel Association as a way for members to deal with guests who leave without paying their bills. At the time there was a lot of problem around the country with runners. I think since members adopted the prepayment method the problem has stopped. We’re sorry that you disagree with such a method but I think you’ll find that it’s fairly universal around the country for obvious reasons. Mostly we only charge a $250 refundable bond/damage deposit for Debit card holders. You tried to bluff that you had a Credit card when you actually had a Debit card. You must have known that you had a Debit card. We could tell by the card number that it was a Debit card. So why try bluffing? Others gave up your bluff line a long time ago. I think too that you’ll find that charging a bond for Debit cards is also fairly standard around the country at least in main centres. It is also accepted by other guests from around the country. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Roving03986021604 wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
This is a motel I would recommend to any1.it 3rd I have stayed here nw as close for wht I in auckland for.staff very friendly an welcoming.very clean an tidy.will definitely continue to go bk here whn up north.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Not flash but gd for money u pay with clean tidy units with very welcoming, friendly staff.would...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jen wrote a review Aug 2023
Auckland, New Zealand4 contributions1 helpful vote
This place had The Worst Service I've ever experienced. It was so poor I ended up leaving partway through filling out my admission form. From the moment I walked in the door, the man behind the counter was rude and obnoxious. His personality was that of a busted anal sphincter. After the drama that was Covid, you'd think that this place would have people manning the front counter that actually cared about getting positive customs. This guy needs to be fired. He's given this place a terrible reputation and left a bad taste in my mouth. In the photos supplied, if you zoom in you can see him giving me the finger... this is from a grown-ass man that should know better. This guy sucks Kumara!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Abbie wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Very very poor communication. I rang them twice about payment issues and it was sorted over the phone that I would pay at property. I get an email saying it’s canceled just under a week before we were suppose to travel. I rang and he stated that I didn’t make payment which was sorted to pay at property from previous phone calls. Another issue was that it was a debit card not a credit card. (Booked 03/05/22) If this was an issue why was I not contacted and let know months ago when I booked it or when I rang him the first time.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Dawson, Owner at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge
Responded 28 Dec 2023
I see one big problem. You guaranteed your booking with a debit card in spite the booking agency expressly asking for a credit card. That makes your booking very insecure and it can be cancelled up to 2 hours before check in time. It doesn't matter how early you booked. If you had booked with a credit card your booking is 100% guaranteed. In fact if we can't provide a room for a credit card booking we have to find you alternative accommodtion. In normal times using a debit card may not matter. However you booked for a date to see a pop concert. We were full up on that date which means your insecure booking may get cancelled. If you want to book on a date for a pop concert, rugby match or the like use a credit card. If you don't have one ask a friend to help out. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jin wrote a review Sept 2022
Newcastle, Australia3 contributions
I have stayed in many rooms at the Camelot Arms during the COVID lockdowns, and most recently I stayed in Room 4, which has a new marble bathroom. David and Michael are very hospitable and always go the extra mile if you ask them for anything. I highly endorse the Camlot Arms, which I consider to be a home away from home. Say hello to their cats if you get the chance.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
tarandeep D wrote a review Sept 2022
4 contributions
The motel is an excellent and well present motel. It is suitable for business people. The room 4 which I stayed is refurbished. The bed is supper and ourtside garden is great and awesome. I will definately be back again. Thank you once again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lambo wrote a review Sept 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand5 contributions1 helpful vote
Came back to room at 6.30 pm to find bathroom window facing the car parking area wide open and the curtains fully drawn back in the main room so that anybody could clearly see what was in the room. Asked for an explanation why this has been left like this and told it was to air out the room and then told “ what is the problem?” Asked them why they can’t see a problem and that nowhere on the world has this ever happened to me and told they have never had an issue before. Then was told to “come outside”. Was then shown the cctv cameras. I laughed in his face and said what bloody good are they if people are wearing a mask and a hoodie - I then get no apology just as blank stare. For your safety and security DO NOT STAY AT CAMELOT ARMS MOTEL AT 525 GREAT SOUTH ROAD!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Dawson, Owner at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge
Responded 31 Dec 2023
Thank you for your review. I checked with the cleaner who did the service of your room. She said that she closed the main curtains and the associated net curtains. She also said that you left the bathroom window wide open not her. She left it as she thought that was how you wanted it. You also left the bathroom window wide open again on the following day when you departed with the key inside the room. We are also very careful about who we let onto the property. We keep a good eye on people coming and going. We definitely do not let anyone with a mask or hoodie onto the property without challenging them. At night you would be in the room so there is no problem. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
pete.tina wrote a review Sept 2022
1 contribution
Stayed in upstairs unit 21. Beds were super comfy, wifi great, clean, orderly and amenities plentiful. Bathroom refurb done to a high standard. Friendly hosts. Excellent value for money. Will definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Manukau area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$160 - AU$161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandManukau
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ASURE CAMELOT ARMS MOTOR LODGE (AU$160): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Manukau, Auckland, New Zealand) - Photos of Motel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Gravity NZ Trampoline Park (1.1 km), Escape Masters MANUKAU (0.8 km), and Salvage Place (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and dry cleaning.
Which room amenities are available at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Urban Soul, Melba, and Sakai Japanese Restaurant.
Is ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Manukau.
Are any cleaning services offered at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Howick Historical Village (8.4 km), Eden Garden (14.9 km), and Highwic (15.0 km).
Is ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.