We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Peppers Carrington Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Peppers Carrington Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Peppers Carrington Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 110: English reviews
Axbridge
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Location excellent, on golf course, near beaches, very peaceful. Rooms spacious and well furnished, good facilities i.e. golf, swimming pool, bar and games room (when open). Winery cafe disappointing, dining room disappointing. We stayed at the Hotel for 3 nights over Christmas, 24th - 27th December. They purport to be a first class establishment offering the best in luxury accommodation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusanAxbridge
Carrington_ResortNZ, Marketing Supervisor at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear Susan, Thank you very much for your honest feedback. I have forwarded your comments to our General Manager and to the personnel concerned. We are glad to hear that you liked our accommodation and facilities. However, we are very sorry for this bad experience. In New Zealand it is a common practice to apply a surcharge of 15% on...

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2017

What a terrible shame, this place could be sensational. The views are stunning and the rooms , we had a lodge, are fantastic. Sadly the restaurant is appalling. We arrived to the wow factor views and immediately decided to walk to the beach, it's 45 minutes each way but really worth it...just remember to take water, a hat and sunscreen!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross B
Carrington_ResortNZ, Marketing Supervisor at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ross, We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. We are very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. This is very disappointing to hear that you had to wait for such a long time and that your ordered food was not enjoyable. We...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Unfortunately, we arrived at the resort a bit after dark, so we were unable to see how delightful the view is. Since we arrived later than the check in time, we called in earlier to let the reception know and they were very accommodating. The villas were nice, spacious, clean and had great views of the golf course and out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F S
Carrington_ResortNZ, Marketing Supervisor at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for giving us a perfect rating, this is much appreciated. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was very accommodating. I'm sorry to hear that the washing machine was broken, but great that our staff found a solution. I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Call...

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights, the room was very nice and the bed and pillows were amazing. We found the wait staff very friendly, the local ladies and a young girl that sounded Irish were exceptional. My husband enjoyed the golf course twice. We had paid for breakfast as part of our package which was very nice but a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 381narellep
Carrington_ResortNZ, Marketing Supervisor at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are very happy that the wait staff was welcoming and accommodating and that you and your husband enjoyed the golf course and your stay in our lodge room. However, we are very sorry to hear that you weren't able to order anything on...

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

For a 4 star hotel service is 1 star. We understood that New Years Eve dinner was a buffet at nearby winery and chose not to go but reasonably expected a modicum of service. Could not even get a beer served on NYE. Today New Years Day we went to winery for lunch..waited 20 minutes without any service not even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lyn m
Carrington_ResortNZ, Marketing Supervisor at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lyn, Thank you for your honest feedback. We apologize for your bad experience. This is very disappointing to hear. I have forwarded your review to our General Manager, who will make sure that this won't happen again. I can only explain this by telling you that we were understaffed during this period of time and it is a shame...

New Zealand
Reviewed 21 December 2016

The resort has been bought by the Chinese and is awaiting consent for a massive redevelopment that will see the existing resort demolished. The bar is now closed and it is clear that no maintenance is being done on the dining area (e.g. decking is mouldy and has not been waterblasted for some time) and outside (leaves everywhere) It is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allison A
Carrington_ResortNZ, Marketing Supervisor at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear Allison, We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about our restaurant. We are very sorry to hear your bad experience. Unfortunately, we are currently understaffed and can't have the bar or restaurant open every night, which should not be an excuse and we are trying to get this issue solved as soon as...

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Just come back from a long weekend at Peppers Carrington Resort, staying with another couple in Villa 10. Villa had fabulous views and was very clean and comfortable. Shame there was not two master suites, so we had to toss a coin to see who got the ensuite double with balcony and views, and who got the back bedroom, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annaontour2016
Carrington_ResortNZ, Marketing Supervisor at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear Anna, Thank you very much for your detailed and honest feedback. We are very sorry to hear that your stay at Peppers Carrington Resort was not up to par. I have sent your feedback to the General Manager and to the personnel concerned. Unfortunately, we can't really do anything about the location of the villas and the layout of...

Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Okay so the weather is pretty unpredictable in this part of New Zealand and you may experience several seasons in one day but the location is stunning. The resort is great. Service at Reception is fantastic. All of the staff we encountered were professional, friendly and knew their stuff. The room was marvellous. Space galore, beautiful wood everywhere and daily...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Magda011
Carrington_ResortNZ, Receptionist. at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear Magda 011. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Peppers Carrington Resort. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. I appreciate your feedback regarding the restaurant menu. I will certainly take chef's attention about your feedback about the menu. Thank you very much and looking forward...

Ormeau, Australia
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful place. Staff are incredibly helpful. Room was lovely with a terrific view.The bed was very comfortable Ate in the restaurant. Food was delicious. Will definitely be back. We highly recommend this place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex Louise M
Carrington_ResortNZ, Receptionist at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear Alex Louise M Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Peppers Carrington Resort! I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with. Kind regards Clorissa , Receptionist

Reviewed 10 August 2016

We had a town house, which was roomy, very quiet and beautiful views. For me there wasn't a lot to do there, but to veg out and relax. We ate at the winery a few times just so we could sit and take in the views.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl-ann H
Carrington_ResortNZ, Manager at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! We look forward to having you stay with us again.

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaitaia
20.3 km away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
16.8 km away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
29.6 km away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.5 km away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
39 reviews
20.2 km away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
29.5 km away
Waters Edge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Peppers Carrington Resort, is a 3000 acre estate comprising a lodge, championship 18-hole golf club, Olympic skeet shooting range, vineyard and winery as well as a grass fed Black Angus farm. In addition, the resort boasts an infinity swimming pool, tennis courts, wetlands, mountain biking trails and one of New Zealand's most spectacular and unspoilt beaches - 4km of white sand and superb swimming, fishing and dolphin spotting. Carrington also offers fine dining and lounge facilities, a library, billiard room and pro shop. We are located on the Karikari Peninsula, in Northland on the North Island of New Zealand. This 4 star resort provides accommodation with 10 luxury lodges, 13 3-bedroom villas and 12 luxury houses. Lodge accommodation include spacious air conditioned bedrooms with private bathrooms, each containing a California King sized bed and satellite TV. Each Lodge room opens onto a wide verandah with views to the ocean, golf course or native bush and vineyard. The lodges are connected by verandah walkways to the library, restaurant and members' lounge. The Villas offer self-contained and fully appointed accommodation - on the ground floor a living room, dining area, fireplace, and laundry facilities, with a verandah overlooking the golf course and Pacific Ocean. In addition, a fully equipped kitchen, toilette, satellite television, air conditioning and private garage are also housed on the ground floor. The second floor has a master bedroom with an ensuite bathroom and balcony, also with sweeping views of the golf course and Pacific ocean, a second double bedroom and bathroom (twins available), and a single bedroom. Other facilities and services available include gymnasium, laundry facilities (Regrettably no dry cleaning), massage therapist on call, babysitting services and Kaitaia / Kerikeri airport transfers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Peppers Carrington Resort

Address: Maitai Bay Road | RD3 Kaitaia - Karikari Penisula, Kaitaia, New Zealand (Formerly Carrington Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaitaia
Price Range: $173 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peppers Carrington Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Peppers Carrington Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Kaitaia
Carrington Hotel North Island
Peppers Carrington Resort Kaitaia, New Zealand - North Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Peppers Carrington Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Peppers Carrington Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for the villas, they are well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles womblers2004, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Villas 1-6 are situated higher up the hill and have better views. The villas are a ten minute walk away from the main resort.”
 of 5 bubbles , 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are apartments and amazing villas”
 of 5 bubbles 4252loulou, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms have fantastic sea views but they are all have views over the golf course which is good. Corner room felt nice and spacious”
 of 5 bubbles davidmorganDevon, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in lodge rooms. Very spacious an clean. Decor very nice”
 of 5 bubbles Ellpell246, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5