We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

5,835 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 5,637: English reviews
Paradise Point, Australia
Reviewed 10 November 2014 via mobile

Work pays for rooms so we minimise our costs by walking to the shops at Wailea and buying food and drinks at the ABC shop. Also some restaurants there have cheap meals at happy hour between 2-5pm. Definitely save up for a massage at the spa and go an hour earlier to enjoy the amazing pools. With a little planning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meganwolfenden
GWExecutiveOffice, General Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Meganwolfenden, mahalo for your review and suggestions for guests. The Shops at Wailea are great for their dining and amenity options outside of the resorts. Excellent advice about making sure to visit the Spa an hour earlier than your appointment to enjoy the terme experience as well. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Mahalo, Tom Donovan...

Dillsburg, United States
Reviewed 9 November 2014

This hotel has something for everyone, from SPA services for the adults, to many swimming pools with slide and other water fun for kids. Any occasions can be planned at this hotel, from wedding, to business meetings, and much much more. It is definitely a must see place.

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas James S
GWExecutiveOffice, General Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Thomas James S! Mahalo for your review. I'm glad that your entire family enjoyed their stay and found activities that each person could enjoy. We appreciate your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Mahalo, Tom Donovan Managing Director, Grand Wailea

Reviewed 9 November 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Grand Wailea for 4 nights of our honeymoon. The photos don't do it justice, it has been a truly amazing experience. The staff are welcoming, friendly and accommodating, and the grounds are like nothing we had ever seen before. Incredible opulence and attention to detail. We walked for an hour one morning and covered only just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten R
GWExecutiveOffice, General Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Kirsten! Mahalo for spending your honeymoon with us! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and took a chance to tour the property. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo, Tom Donovan Managing Director, Grand Wailea

Pataskala, Ohio
Reviewed 9 November 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in a great location on Maui! Amazing views from all areas of the grand, vast grounds. Awesome pool with fun slides and a water elevator. Perfectly appointed very large rooms! Great dining options and superb staff! I would love to return soon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank froggy2525
GWExecutiveOffice, General Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Froggy2525, mahalo for your review and staying with us! I'm glad that you enjoyed the location, views and, most importantly, pools! We hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo, Tom Donovan Managing Director, Grand Wailea

Santa Ana, California
Reviewed 8 November 2014

Just finished a five day stay at this enormous property. The grounds are beautiful and the staff was, by and large, very pleasant and courteous. There were a few rude individuals, but they were the exception. The room in the Molokini Tower was quite nice. The food and drinks were very expensive so be prepared for this fact. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cerett
GWExecutiveOffice, General Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Cerett, mahalo for your review and staying with us. I appreciate your feedback. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your overall stay, but I personally apologize for any rude behavior you experienced. That should never be the case in any situation during your stay. I also appreciate your insight into the pool policy enforcement and will work with our...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 7 November 2014 via mobile

Please disregard the negative reviews. Yes, it's expensive. This is Wailea. And the rooms are being upgraded as we speak. Even in the old rooms, this is an amazing property that is perfect for families. I was concerned when I heard there was a new Managing Director, but Tom Donovan and Cindy Pate, his executive assistant, went way above and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrey3
GWExecutiveOffice, General Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Andrey3 -- mahalo for returning to Grand Wailea! We appreciate the review and all of the pictures you posted on Instagram and Twitter during your stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo, Tom Donovan Managing Director, Grand Wailea

Vancouver
Reviewed 7 November 2014

We had a great time here. It's true that it is old, but personally I liked the charm of that style. The rooms were perfectly fine and clean enough for us. The pools were amazing, even though two were closed for renovations (until nov 20th I believe). We had our two girls with us and they loved it! The beach...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lney
GWExecutiveOffice, General Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Lney, mahalo for your review and stay! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the charm of the hotel. We are currently refreshing both the resort rooms (ongoing) and pools in phases. Great choices with Humuhumunukunukuapua'a and Grand Dining Room, too! We look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo, Tom Donovan Managing Director, Grand Wailea

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 7 November 2014

A combination of great factors came together to make this recent experience one of the best I've ever had there in the last decade and possibly more. First of all, great rates (even for Napua) including breakfast. The staff in the lounge at the Napua tower are all absolutely amazing. Things I noticed that made this a great stay and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ckccan
GWExecutiveOffice, General Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Ckccan, Mahalo for your kind review! I appreciate the detailed feedback and am glad that our team made a great impression on you this stay. We do in fact have a new F&B Director who has been making some great changes throughout our venues. Amasia did close as of Saturday and we are working towards a new outlet for...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 6 November 2014

We got married at this resort many years back and decided to celebrate our anniversary at the same resort. Needless to say when we checked into the room my wife was blown away this was not the same experience when we first visited this 5 start resort with the bathroom having mold. We also brought our kid and my wife...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael C
GWExecutiveOffice, General Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Michael, mahalo for your review! We appreciate you returning to Grand Wailea to celebrate your anniversary. I apologize that your room conditions were not in satisfactory conditions upon checking in, but I'm glad you gave us a chance to recover the situation by letting us know. Stephanie is a great asset to our company and I know that you...

Ontario
Reviewed 5 November 2014

I had the pleasure of visiting Maui again. I LOVE Hawaii and even though I've travelled to lots of different destinations, Hawaii is always my top vacation spot. We have been to all of the islands and stayed at a variety of hotels. We stayed at this hotel from Oct 25th-Nov 3rd. This was my second visit to Maui having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paedsrn
GWExecutiveOffice, General Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Paedsrn, mahalo for your review and staying with us during your business trip. I appreciate your detailed feedback. Please know that I am personally working with our Housekeeping team to address the issues you detailed in your room. We are also currently undergoing a renovation of all our rooms in phases, all of which should be complete by early...

3,997 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3388)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (942)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (510)
Viewed
View from Room (294)
Viewed
Room/Suite (280)
Viewed
Bathroom (95)
Viewed
Dining (179)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
9:59
Videos (7)
Viewed
Other (1069)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (552)
Viewed
Adult Pool (32)
Viewed
Amenities (152)
Viewed
Beach (41)
Viewed
Garden View Room (91)
Viewed
Napua Club Room (21)
Viewed
Pool (39)
Viewed
Dining (95)
Viewed
The Hotel (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
1.0 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
42.2 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
421 reviews
0.4 km away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
37.2 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.4 km away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Price Range: $553 - $1,270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Prestigia and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#4 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#5 Green Hotel in Wailea
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort staff and other travellers.
126 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (126)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They're all good... but I prefer ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles 576GeorgeB576, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Several pools to choose and access to the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles mikecO2449PT, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The Napua Tower rooms are at the center of the complex for easy access to the resort ammenities”
 of 5 bubbles dsloane123, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“9th Floor in building to the left of the lobby over the boutiques.”
 of 5 bubbles LandaCRS, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were in an Ocean View, while not looking out to the ocean it was very nice and there was a waterfall outside our room.”
 of 5 bubbles johnjeffreyc, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5