We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cedar Lodge Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Cedar Lodge Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cedar Lodge Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 190: English reviews
Cambridge
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

My daughters and I had a great time in Goderich at the Cedar Lodge Motel. It felt as though we were staying in the employees and owners' home. They were beyond helpful and so friendly. The motel and all its facilities were very well maintained and clean. It is the perfect spot to sleep and start your day before enjoying...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarah M
Rita J, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Our guests are very important to us and we love to hear that they felt comfortable and welcomed. We agree with you that our location is great for enjoying all that Goderich has to offer. We will look very forward to your...

Tiny
Reviewed 10 August 2015

I have never in my life stayed in such an awful motel room. First of all when entering it, it smelled damp. Probably because the shower is right beside the bed! The flooring feels rotten underneath and is covered by a fraying carpet. The bedspread was stained on the underside. The toilet was a cubicle where my elbows could touch...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Len A
Rita J, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our property. We are so sorry to hear that your time with us was not enjoyable. We take your feedback seriously and have made some changes since your visit as a direct result of your experience. We have recently installed a new venting system in the room to ensure that there is improved air circulation. In...

Collingwood area
Reviewed 7 August 2015

We stayed here once before and had an enjoyable stay. This time it was just as good. Kids enjoyed a swim before bed, rooms are clean, staff is friendly. Great place and reasonable priced. :) looking forward to our next stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Millie2009
Rita J, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and most importantly, for your return visit! It is always wonderful when we see our guests often! I'm happy to hear that you find our staff friendly and that our rooms are nice and clean. These are things we just can never hear enough! And of course, the pool is a wonderful asset, especially with all...

Brampton, Canada
Reviewed 1 August 2015

Price was right! We were treated really nice by the staff. They were very accommodating when we needed any extras. The room was clean. Had a great sleep, bed was comfortable. The pool and hot tub were fantastic! We would definitely stay there again!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda U
Rita J, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. At the end of the day, this is just about everything we strive for. Clean and comfortable with happy guests! Not to mention a great price and of course, our happy smiling faces! We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and we hope you will come visit us again! Thank...

London, Canada
Reviewed 28 July 2015

My title really says it all. It's a clean friendly little place, which more than adequately allows you to stay in Goderich for a few nights if you need to. The parking lot is a wee bit cramped, but my wife reported that the pool and hot-tub were above average for what it was. I hate when motels/hotels cheap out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Archeus1
Rita J, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. I really do enjoy hearing how our guest experience was and we really try to make any adjustments necessary. I will pass along your comments about the shampoo and we'll see if we can come up with a better quality product! We are very proud of our pool facility and I'm...

Windsor, Canada
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Arrived without a reservation and was able to secure a room right away. Room had just been cleaned and we were pleased with the accommodations. Carpet had a mysterious wet spot however, something we just avoided. Pool area is wonderful...definite hit with my son and myself. Only drawback, went to make a coffee in the morning with the coffee maker...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Teresa M
Rita J, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. The pool is always a big hit! I would like to take this opportunity to let you know that we will be replacing all carpets in the fall so by your next visit, everything will be lovely and fresh!...

Saint Thomas, Canada
Reviewed 23 July 2015

My husband and I arrived before check in time, but were given a room right way as we reserved a day ahead. We were given any extras we asked for, and they were pleased to help with anything. The room was spotless, and I mean not even dust in the under sink cabinet in the bathroom. No smoking policy is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lynn P
Rita J, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are always happy to hear our property reached the standards expected by our guests. Our housekeeping staff always do a lovely job and I will be sure to pass along your wonderful remarks! I'm also glad you were able to make use of our great indoor pool...

Saint Thomas, Canada
Reviewed 18 July 2015

My husband, daughter and sister in law (both 10 year olds) stayed here for a night while visiting family in Goderich. Check in and check out was quick and efficient. The bathroom was clean and room was pleasant. Our room had A/C, cable/satellite, microwave and mini fridge. The pool area was a sure win with the kids minus the fact...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tkkane
Rita J, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. As our pool is an unsupervised one, we must insist that all children under the age of 12 are being supervised. The safety of our guests is very important to us! We are happy that you were able to make it work...

Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

Did not have a chance to set foot in the motel as they would not let me in without a credit card for a deposit. I offered to put down as much cash as they requested as I do not believe in credit cards and was given instructions to motels nearby. Very unprofessional behaviour but luckily I was able to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George K
Rita J, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this review

I will begin by stating that our policy has always been that we require a credit card upon check in. We have decided to review this decision based upon your experiences and allow a cash deposit with proper government identification. We are sorry you didn't get a chance to stay with us but we do appreciate the time you took...

Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here for one (rainy) day and night and I couldn't have been more pleased. The room was spotless and updated, and the fridge and microwave were great to have. The bathtub was immaculate and provided a fun bathtime full of bubbles. The tv offered a great mixture of channels and helped fill the downtimes. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tamberinetango
Rita J, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for all your kind words! We love hearing that our guests enjoyed their stay with us! It sounds like you were able to make use of all we have to offer! The best part about an indoor pool is that it doesn't matter what mother nature decides, you can still enjoy a swim! So glad to hear that you...

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goderich hotels
1.5 km away
Samuels Hotel
Samuels Hotel
#1 of 9 in Goderich
210 reviews
6.4 km away
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Benmiller Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Goderich
312 reviews
6.8 km away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#2 of 9 in Goderich
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Maple Leaf Motel
Maple Leaf Motel
#4 of 9 in Goderich
77 reviews
0.6 km away
Harmony Inn
Harmony Inn
#6 of 9 in Goderich
50 reviews
1.2 km away
Colborne Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are just minutes from the beach and historic downtown. A two story modern facility equipped with air conditioning colour FLAT SCREEN TV, wireless internet as well as microwaves and fridges in each room. We also have an indoor pool and whirlpool spa as well as a sauna and fitness centre. Direct dial phones with voice mail. Located close to many tourist attractions. Open year round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge Motel

Address: 157 Huron Rd | Ontario, Goderich, Ontario N7A 2Z7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Goderich
Price Range: $82 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Lodge Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Cedar Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel Goderich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cedar Lodge Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I liked our room that was located in the back of the property away from the main street.”
 of 5 bubbles D6959VQrobertar, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Back rooms might be quieter but I don't know if they would have a balcony. Nice communal sitting balcony for front upper rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles bonnieg747, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Typical motor court motel - cars all park outside the rooms, so not overly quiet in the morning!”
 of 5 bubbles Lbd59, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the back of the property are quietest”
 of 5 bubbles X5350CSjennifers, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“King bed comes in a bigger room”
 of 5 bubbles D9111AHchrisc, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay