We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Roosevelt Inn

Save
Share
206 Cemetery Rd, Keystone, SD 57751-2039
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (121)
Room & Suite (47)
Dining (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Roosevelt Inn
Updated 30/05/20

About

#3 of 12 hotels in Keystone
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
A small, family owned and operated, limited-service hotel located in the city limits of Keystone, SD, at the base of Mt. Rushmore National Memorial. Property has a variety of rooms, ranging from small, economy rooms with one queen sized bed to large family suites that can accommodate up to seven persons. Pool operates seasonally (May thru September).
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast buffet
Game room
Billiards
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Vending machine
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Telephone
Clothes rack
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English
219Reviews14Q+A51Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 91
  • 82
  • 35
  • 5
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
e g wrote a review 16 Oct
1 contribution
The shower was leaking leaving puddles on the warped floor. I could only open the bathroom door half way. There was a random piece of hardware lying on the shower floor. The room’s carpet was badly stained. It looked dirty. Worst of all the pillows smelled badly of dirty hair. I slept with a towel over the pillow. The hotel was fully booked and I was too tired to leave. Checking out I told the clerk my complaints. She apologized and said, “I don’t know what I can do about that.” She made a note of my complaint, and I hoped someone would contact me. They didn’t.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don’t stay here
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Al L, Other at Roosevelt Inn
Responded 3 days ago
A2479BUestherg, thank you for your feedback. I apologize on behalf of the ownership and staff. We are so very sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. What you describe is unacceptable. i wish you had spoken to management when you first became aware of the issues, so we could have worked with you to make it right. Your stay is not indicitive of a normal guest stay and what you described is inexcusable. I personally apologize that your stay did not meet the high expectations we demand of ourselves, as that is what you deserve. I have reached out to the manager and would ask you to do the same, her name is Reeva. Our guests are far to important to us and if we fail you, we feel awful. We are family owned and operated hotel with over 60 years combined experience. We take your concerns to heart. Guest satisfaction is far to important and everything we do is to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable, We thank you for sharing, we hope you did enjoy the Black Hills and it's many attractions. I again apologize, and hope you had safe travels, PS. We would appreciate you reaching out so we can help and also get the room number. We will investigate in the mean time, but we do want to discuss your concerns also.
Read more
chicago807 wrote a review 12 Oct
Tinley Park, Illinois10 contributions
This is an old hotel in a fabulous location. Very short drive to Mt. Rushmore…you can even see the faces if you walk just about a block away! Also a quick walk to all the restaurants in Keystone. The hotel is a bit dated but very clean and well managed. We had a nice balcony that was great for coffee or an evening cocktail! We didn’t eat breakfast, but it certainly smelled delicious. Would recommend this hotel for your stay when seeing Mt. Rushmore.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Al L, Other at Roosevelt Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you chicago807, for a very nice review. We like to think of our hotel as seasoned, not old. We are family owned and operated and that means we care. Our business is based on satisfied guests. We will always work our hardest to make your stay the best. Please know we value your opinion and if you feel anything was outdated we apologize and each you to reach out to let us know. We spend every off season updating, repairing, remodels, and enhancements to keep the property in great shape. We love hearing you found our hotel clean and comfortable and enjoyed the balcony. Those balcony rooms are a guest favorite. Reeva and Pete our dynamic duo, aka managers, take awesome care of the hotel and the guests. If you have any questions or concerns, they are eager to assist. We enjoy hearing you could see the faces down the street. It is also wonderful to know you loved the location right by Mount Rushmore and many other attractions. Sorry you missed our free hot breakfast as it is as good as it smelled. Thank you for being part of the Roosevelt Inn family and staying with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed the Black Hills and invite you back to see us when you can. It was our pleasure to serve.
Read more
Michael B wrote a review 10 Oct
Billings, Montana193 contributions37 helpful votes
Nice hotel right along our way. It had everything we needed. The breakfast was very good too. The fold out TV and fireplace were very nice touches. The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. I would certainly stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Al L, Other at Roosevelt Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Michael B, thanks for a wonderful review. We love hearing you found us a good value and a very nice hotel. We offer great customer service and the little extras like free hot breakfast with omelets, pancakes, biscuits and gravy, hot potatoes, fresh fruit, cinnamon rolls, and much more. We are pleased to see you enjoyed the fireplace and fold out tv, and found the room clean and bed comfortable. The best compliment is you would stay again. Thank you. We appreciate your staying with us and hope you enjoyed the many attractions including Mount Rushmore just down the street,
Read more
Dustin S wrote a review 8 Oct
Lakemoor, Illinois13 contributions5 helpful votes
A couple of weeks ago my wife and I stayed here. We had a great experience! The managers, Reeva and Pete are so nice, and they do a great job of making your stay as welcoming as possible. Their breakfast is of a higher variety than your standard continental, adding extra features like a pancake-maker, fresh yogurt with assorted toppings, and a different "hot" each morning. Their location is nestled in the scenic Keystone, home of Mt. Rushmore. They were within walking distance of all the good shopping in town, the Rushmore Tramway, the Wax Museum, and the 1880 Train. They also have a game room! For the COVID-weary: I walked by an opened room that was being cleaned by staff - trust me, they clean thoroughly. I would definitely recommend the Roosevelt Inn for any travelers looking for a good "base of operations" in the Black Hills. -Dustin and Alisha
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Al L, Other at Roosevelt Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Hello from the Roosevelt Inn Dustin and Alisha. Thanks for a lovely review, we are grateful. We love hearing good things about Reeva and Pete are managers. The are customer service stars and lead our team in providing exceptional service. The best part of us is you, so we do our very best to make sure your vacation is awesome. We enjoy hearing, you enjoyed our delicious hot free breakfast. We are not talking a roll and a cup of coffee or juice. We are serving on real plates and silverware to make you feel at home omelets, pancakes, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, breakfast potatoes, yogurt with yummy toppings, cinnamon rolls, and a bunch more. Of course we serve some great coffee to, but when your out and about, I hope you tried Grapes and Vines across the street from the hotel. We also loved seeing you like our central location at the base of Mount Rushmore. As you said we are a leisurely walk to historic downtown Keystone. There are many attractions downtown, and places to eat and shop. Right now it is a little slower, as we are past the prime season, but there are still are many attractions and places to shop and eat a short drive away. Thanks so much for the testimony on our cleaning process. We have always demanded from our staff a extremely clean property. We have a tough head housekeeper with high expectations and a even tougher inspector to please, YOU! We have even refined our process taking Covid into mind, to make sure we are doing our best. Your recommendation to stay here is so appreciated. I love your description of base of operations for the hotel. Our central location is perfect. There is plenty to do locally and even more to do a short drive from the hotel. Our staff works diligently to make sure you feel like your part of our family. We are eager to show you the best places to see, maybe even a hidden gem. We want to offer great suggestions on where to eat, shop, best attractions, and coolest entertainment. We so thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We are thrilled you had a amazing time and ask that you come back and see us again. Dustin and Alisha, it was our pleasure welcoming you and we wish you joy and happiness through this year and many years to come.
Read more
D J wrote a review 5 Oct
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota37 contributions15 helpful votes
Wonderful affordable clean charming hotel to stay in while exploring the Black Hills area. Highly Recommended! We stayed on the 4th floor (yes there is an elevator) in a double queen room with a step-up sitting/table alcove. The room was very clean except for the carpeting which seems to be common in older hotels so I never go barefoot in hotels. We made daily use of the pleasant sitting area for morning coffee, you can get good coffee from the dining area (the coffee from coffee makers in 2 star hotels is pretty bad IMO) and reading in the evening. The staff was friendly and helpful. I made an error so we arrived one day early and the manager was very accommodating even moving our belongings to our originally booked room the following day. The included breakfasts were more than adequate and very good: hot selections of eggs, sausage etc., pancake maker, toaster, cold cereals, yogurt, toppings, bakery items, juices, etc. We appreciated the ceramic dinnerware and metal utensils for dining and less waste! The breakfast area was well supplied and tended. If you wish to social distance they do allow people to bring breakfast to rooms. Also there is a seating area near the front desk as well as 2 verandas with seating areas. There is a coin operated laundry facility on the second floor that we appreciated and used. There is also a pool and game room. The magnetic key was a bit frustrating because it frequently stopped working even tho we kept it away from our cellphones. Keystone is a historic and quaint little town to explore. Roosevelt Inn is conveniently located within walking distance of shopping, dining, etc. Just a covid FYI: if you are concerned about contracting or inadvertently spreading covid then best wear a mask here and anywhere in SD; VERY little mask wearing or social distancing by anyone anywhere in SD.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Covid FYI: if you are concerned about contracting or inadvertently spreading covid then best wear...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Al L, Other at Roosevelt Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Debaj, what a wonderful detailed review, we are thankful. We so appreciate you allowing us to be your home when away from home. We care, our staff is eager to assist and serve. We are here to answer all questions or concerns you may have, with the exception of where the duck billed platypuses come from, but we will give you an educated guess :) . Oh yes, we have a sense of humor too. We are super excited you enjoyed our free hot breakfast. We also like seeing you liked real plates and silverware. It is good for the environment and much easier to use. While we are talking breakfast, sorry if the in room coffee wasn't wonderful. We had a difficult time this year with supply, and hopefully if the pandemic eases, we will go back yo our regular supplier. We apologize. It is awesome to see you enjoyed your superior room with the seating area by the window. It is a great place to relax and watch the happenings in Keystone, you might even catch sight of local wildlife. It is fun to hear you loved the area and the charming town of Keystone, It is walking distance from the hotel, there is great views on your walk, dining, shops, and entertainment. We are sorry about the lock issue. We are actually upgrading this fall to keyless locks. These locks are so much easier to use and seldom have problems. I hope I covered everything and we are thrilled you had a great vacation in the beautiful Black Hills. It would be an honor to have you stay again, so if your making plans for the future, please keep us in mind.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 64 - USD 202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
roosevelt hotel keystone
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Guesthouse Mount Rushmore
LOCATION
United StatesSouth DakotaKeystone
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Roosevelt Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Roosevelt Inn?
Nearby attractions include Rushmore Tramway Adventures (0.06 km), National Presidential Wax Museum (0.09 km), and Dahl's Chainsaw Art (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Roosevelt Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Roosevelt Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Roosevelt Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Roosevelt Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grapes & Grinds, Peggy's Place, and Holy Terror Coffee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Roosevelt Inn?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Roosevelt Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Keystone.
Are any cleaning services offered at Roosevelt Inn?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Roosevelt Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Roosevelt Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Holy Terror Mini Golf (0.2 km).
Does Roosevelt Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.