We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holy Smoke Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Holy Smoke Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 148: English reviews
Amissville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was our first time visiting this part of the country but our granddaughter wanted to visit Mt. Rushmore, so we took a chance. We waited lake to make reservations but was thrilled to find that Holy Smoke could accommodate us. We had to make a move while at the resort due to our late booking but the staff helped... More 

Helpful?
Thank anniemaes2016
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Hi Anniemae, Thank you for the great vote of confidence! You made our day. Dani More 

Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We stayed at the RV Park Aug 26-Sept 5, 2016. We will definitely stay here again when we are in the area. The park is very clean & the rv sites are fairly level. Most are pull-thru sites. It's not a large park. Sites are a decent size with full hook-ups & a picnic table at each site. Management was... More 

Helpful?
Thank hdhawg1340
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Many thanks for the great review! You made our grounds crew smile. We are all happy to hear that we became a memorable part of your vacation and that you will return to see our beautiful Black Hills and choose our park in which to stay. Have a great Winter!! Dani More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Huge sign as you enter the office "NO REFUNDS UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES." The owner then charges your credit card BEFORE you see where the cabin is. You will discover you need to climb massively steep loose gravel switchbacks to get to the cabins. The owner will then tell you "just leave your bike in this open field and walk the... More 

Helpful?
Thank motopg
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

This review really doesn't merit a response but since it is filled with untruths, I am responding to it. 1. The sign in the office says if you leave early there are no refunds. It is the size of a standard sheet of letter paper. There is 14 day cancellation which was agreed to when the reservation was made on... More 

Sarver, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2016

This was probably the absolute worse experience I have had at a campground. The sites are just big enough for the camper and the picnic table sits on the side of the hill making it unusable. The whole experience was horrible we paid in full months in advance to be told when we arrived we would not have the sites... More 

Helpful?
Thank rtjsvj
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Sometimes the best you can do isn't going to suit anyone. No matter how thin the pancake is it always has two sides. You were contacted at 8:30 PM our time because you were rude to my manager and did not give her a chance to explain what had happened. The party that was in your reserved spot lost the... More 

Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We really enjoyed staying at this location. We had a newer log cabin, and it was very quaint and enjoyable. There was more than adequate space, and the location was excellent to see the local attractions, particularly Mt. Rushmore. We were at the top of the hill, but I wouldn't want to make the trek up there in bad weather.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank stanlock
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! We don't have to worry about the trek in the winter as we are closed from Oct. 1st to mid May and we have snow removal equipment for our maint. crews to get around in the winter. We hope you will share your experience with your friends and return to make more memories some day.... More 

Clear Lake, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We were really only in our cabin to sleep, shower, and eat breakfast foods we had packed. Other reviewers are right, if you need more than this out of your cabin, you are missing the point of being in SD... :) Hints/Suggestions to the Holy Smoke Staff : Cabin names and numbers for 3 and 4 are switched on your... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank vacationfor42016
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We value your input. Signs got switched when the maint. crew oiled the railings. They are now in the same position as the map shows, however, the cabins go by number not name on the reservations. You would not believe the linens we replace every season because they have been misused. Our office hours have been... More 

Watertown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We checked in on July 31 and spent 5 nights in a two bedroom cabin, number 12 to be exact. The room was very clean and met the needs of my family of four. The housekeeping staff did a great job making up the cabin after we had left for our day's travels. The location is far enough off 16A... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ace1rush
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

WOW, all I can say is many thanks for the great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the resort and the trail ride. We are hoping that the new trail bosses return next season as everyone loves them. We are Happy to be a part of great vacation memories. Please tell your friends about us and we hope... More 

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Holey Smoke cabins are comfortable, well-equipped, and priced fairly for this tourist area. We stayed here after visiting Mount Rushmore, just down the highway. We had a unit in one of the duplex cabins, with no one in the adjacent unit, so it was quiet.

Helpful?
Thank acs898
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Hi and Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value your business and hope you return. Dani More 

Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Nice, exceptionally clean cabins although somewhat small even for 2 people. Our group had 4 different cabins during July, 2016 and the water pressure was awful. A normal shower took a good 15-30 minutes just to get the soap off and out of your hair. No reason to complain to management about this as the property was full and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 333donna
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Hi Donna, Wish you would have called about the shower. When you check in we tell you if there is a problem to let us know. We are not always visible but we answer the phone 24/7. The problem with the shower probably was as simple as a change of shower head as we have a well here with minerals... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016

First of all, this location is a no-brainer. It's easily accessible but is still tucked enough away to give you that nestled-in-the-forest feel. We loved that we could bring our dog too. The staff was so kind and considerate, and our cabin had everything we could need and more. In seeking a quiet retreat from the hustle and bustle of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Courtney B
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Hi Courtney, We are Happy, Happy that you took the time to let us know you liked your stay. My staff works very hard to make your stay as enjoyable as we can and we appreciate your business and hope to see you again. Dani More 

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.1 km away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
3.2 km away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
6.9 km away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
10.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holy Smoke Resort offers 27 fully modern log cabins, Cabins can accommodate from 2 to 12 people as they are of different sizes. Some are pet friendly and some have fully equipped kitchens. Our Vacation rentals are fully equipped and one has a game room with a pool table and sleeps up to 12. All cabins have bathroom with shower, AC/Heat, refrig., Microwave, coffee, TV and WiFi. Bedding and towels are provided as well. Daily housekeeping is provided in all units except the vacation rentals. We have a 21 site RV Park. All pull-thru sites with TV, WiFi and full hook up Which includes sewer. Sites are long pull-thrus designed for the larger rigs, all have 30/50 amp. Electric. No public showers or public restrooms in the RV Park. The park is for fully self contained RV units having their own bathroom facilities. We offer trail rides from Memorial weekend to Labor Day conditions permitting. Our staff will gladly help you plan activities and places of interest to fit your schedule. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holy Smoke Resort

Address: 24105 Highway 16a, Older Gps Is Misleading, Keystone, SD 57751-6641
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Price Range: $97 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holy Smoke Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holy Smoke Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holy Smoke Hotel Keystone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holy Smoke Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holy Smoke Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We did not see a bad location!”
 of 5 bubbles anniemaes2016, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book 2-bedroom cabins for more room and test shower before agreeing to cabin.”
 of 5 bubbles 333donna, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Cabin 12, view of trees, eat breakfast outside, bring bug spray or candle for nights”
 of 5 bubbles K1997VYchristinab, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you want to spend time in your cabin for activities other than sleeping, this is not the one you want. Very rustic accommodations.”
 of 5 bubbles , 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We had cabin 15A. Cabins 15, 16, and I think either 14 or 17 are at the top of the hill in a great spot.”
  • Cabin main area
  • Cabin dinette and vanity
  • Cabin loft
  • Cabin bed and stairs
 of 5 bubbles toad94, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay