We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holy Smoke Resort

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Holy Smoke Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 151: English reviews
Start your review of Holy Smoke Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to stay. All the staff are very friendly and make you feel right at home. The cabins are very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed everything about stay there and look forward to visiting again. This was the fifth year that we have been there and each year we have had a great experience. We ride from Utah about...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nickolas S
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Good Morning Nick S. Guests that return year after year are the greatest testament to our place. We hope to welcome you back soon. You made my day! Dani

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Love the Holy Smoke Resort. Area is beautiful, campground and cabins are maintained really well. Service is excellent! We love Dani and how she takes care of the place. I have stayed at this resort for the 2014 and 2016 Sturgis Rallies and it couldn't be a more perfect location for such an event. The resort is far enough out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adam T
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Hey Adam T. you made my day and that of everyone that works here. We are delighted that you will return again for the Sturgis Bike Week. We truly appreciate our guests and returning guests are the highest compliment we can receive!! THANKS AGAIN, DANI

Reviewed 1 March 2017

The cabins are really nice. On a 4 point scale compared to hotel ratings. New and well kept. Quiet setting surrounded by tall pines. Dani took such good care of us at reservation time we could not stay any place else. Top notch.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 1danm
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review us. Our staff tries very hard to make your stay a memorable one. Our returning guests are many and we value them greatly. See you soon. Dani

Amissville, Virginia
Reviewed 28 November 2016

This was our first time visiting this part of the country but our granddaughter wanted to visit Mt. Rushmore, so we took a chance. We waited lake to make reservations but was thrilled to find that Holy Smoke could accommodate us. We had to make a move while at the resort due to our late booking but the staff helped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anniemaes2016
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Hi Anniemae, Thank you for the great vote of confidence! You made our day. Dani

Florida
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We stayed at the RV Park Aug 26-Sept 5, 2016. We will definitely stay here again when we are in the area. The park is very clean & the rv sites are fairly level. Most are pull-thru sites. It's not a large park. Sites are a decent size with full hook-ups & a picnic table at each site. Management was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hdhawg1340
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Many thanks for the great review! You made our grounds crew smile. We are all happy to hear that we became a memorable part of your vacation and that you will return to see our beautiful Black Hills and choose our park in which to stay. Have a great Winter!! Dani

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Huge sign as you enter the office "NO REFUNDS UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES." The owner then charges your credit card BEFORE you see where the cabin is. You will discover you need to climb massively steep loose gravel switchbacks to get to the cabins. The owner will then tell you "just leave your bike in this open field and walk the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank motopg
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

This review really doesn't merit a response but since it is filled with untruths, I am responding to it. 1. The sign in the office says if you leave early there are no refunds. It is the size of a standard sheet of letter paper. There is 14 day cancellation which was agreed to when the reservation was made on...

Sarver, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 September 2016

This was probably the absolute worse experience I have had at a campground. The sites are just big enough for the camper and the picnic table sits on the side of the hill making it unusable. The whole experience was horrible we paid in full months in advance to be told when we arrived we would not have the sites...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rtjsvj
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Sometimes the best you can do isn't going to suit anyone. No matter how thin the pancake is it always has two sides. You were contacted at 8:30 PM our time because you were rude to my manager and did not give her a chance to explain what had happened. The party that was in your reserved spot lost the...

Arizona
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We really enjoyed staying at this location. We had a newer log cabin, and it was very quaint and enjoyable. There was more than adequate space, and the location was excellent to see the local attractions, particularly Mt. Rushmore. We were at the top of the hill, but I wouldn't want to make the trek up there in bad weather....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StanL70
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! We don't have to worry about the trek in the winter as we are closed from Oct. 1st to mid May and we have snow removal equipment for our maint. crews to get around in the winter. We hope you will share your experience with your friends and return to make more memories some day....

Clear Lake, Iowa
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We were really only in our cabin to sleep, shower, and eat breakfast foods we had packed. Other reviewers are right, if you need more than this out of your cabin, you are missing the point of being in SD... :) Hints/Suggestions to the Holy Smoke Staff : Cabin names and numbers for 3 and 4 are switched on your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vacationfor42016
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We value your input. Signs got switched when the maint. crew oiled the railings. They are now in the same position as the map shows, however, the cabins go by number not name on the reservations. You would not believe the linens we replace every season because they have been misused. Our office hours have been...

Watertown, Wisconsin
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We checked in on July 31 and spent 5 nights in a two bedroom cabin, number 12 to be exact. The room was very clean and met the needs of my family of four. The housekeeping staff did a great job making up the cabin after we had left for our day's travels. The location is far enough off 16A...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ace1rush
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

WOW, all I can say is many thanks for the great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the resort and the trail ride. We are hoping that the new trail bosses return next season as everyone loves them. We are Happy to be a part of great vacation memories. Please tell your friends about us and we hope...

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
3.2 km away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
252 reviews
6.9 km away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.1 km away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
10.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holy Smoke Resort offers 27 fully modern log cabins, Cabins can accommodate from 2 to 12 people as they are of different sizes. Some are pet friendly and some have fully equipped kitchens. Our Vacation rentals are fully equipped and one has a game room with a pool table and sleeps up to 12. All cabins have bathroom with shower, AC/Heat, refrig., Microwave, coffee, TV and WiFi. Bedding and towels are provided as well. Daily housekeeping is provided in all units except the vacation rentals. We have a 21 site RV Park. All pull-thru sites with TV, WiFi and full hook up Which includes sewer. Sites are long pull-thrus designed for the larger rigs, all have 30/50 amp. Electric. No public showers or public restrooms in the RV Park. The park is for fully self contained RV units having their own bathroom facilities. We offer trail rides from Memorial weekend to Labor Day conditions permitting. Our staff will gladly help you plan activities and places of interest to fit your schedule. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holy Smoke Resort

Address: 24105 Highway 16a, Older Gps Is Misleading, Keystone, SD 57751-6641
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Price Range: $99 - $819 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holy Smoke Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Holy Smoke Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holy Smoke Hotel Keystone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holy Smoke Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holy Smoke Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cabins 1 and 2 are best for a couple.”
  • This is the cabin I stayed at for the 2014 Rally.
  • This is the cabin I stayed at for the 2016 rally. Lovely peaceful area. Even the neighbors are g
adamtE7187QV, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book as early as you can. Best place in the Keystone-Mt.Rushmore area. Fills fast.”
1danm, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We did not see a bad location!”
anniemaes2016, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book 2-bedroom cabins for more room and test shower before agreeing to cabin.”
333donna, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Cabin 12, view of trees, eat breakfast outside, bring bug spray or candle for nights”
K1997VYchristinab, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hotels.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates