We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Madison Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

767 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Madison Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 750: English reviews
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewed 9 July 2015

This is probably the "best" hotel in the area in a sense that it's got quite a bit of character. was quite impressed by the lobby and expecting a nice room but the room smelt horrible, the carpet was damp and sticky and the bathroom is dirty as well. Please clean your rooms thoroughly. I am quite disgusted by the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sophia C
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. However, I am not clear what was wrong. I know you stayed with us for 6 nights in the same room and no one recalls you ever sharing your concerns with anyone at the property while you were here or since you checked out over 2 months ago. Upon getting your...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 9 July 2015

I stayed in this hotel on business for a few days. The accommodation was very nice, the furnishings are a bit dated but everything was clean and worked well (except the in room phones... shortcut buttons didn't work. The attached restaurant is nothing to write home about, but the food was good. Service- if you have a lot of time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aztravlgrl
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We are happy you found the accommodations nice and clean and hope you will stay with us again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ. Scott McArthur General Manager

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 7 July 2015

This was my 4th or 5th stay at the Madison Hotel and they outdid themselves. The young man who checked me in was very friendly and seemed to genuinely care about the guests and making them feel welcome. The room (a king) was large, comfortable, and quiet and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikki G
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for making the Madison Hotel your "choice" hotel when visiting our area. We appreciate your business and look forward to having you as a guest whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ. Scott McArthur General Manager

Irvine, California
Reviewed 2 July 2015

My cousin & I stayed at this hotel last week for my niece's wedding. The venue is spectacular for a wedding and very well coordinated. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable and the staff did a great job of cleaning the room. The front desk staff was very pleasant. The hotel has some very interesting features, ask about them....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank imaprettywoman
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to read you found the rooms clean and comfortable and the staff very pleasant. In addition, I am glad the wedding was lovely and well coordinated. We look forward to having you as a guest again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ. Scott McArthur General Manager

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 1 July 2015

I went here for a business trip and was pleased with pretty much everything, from my room to the on-site restaurants to the front desk staff. There was no continental breakfast but they had hot chocolate, coffee and tea stocked 24/7, in addition to a fireplace with comfy seating. When I went, there were back-to-back snowstorms and staff were helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJOCOTravels
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. What are thrill to read you were pleased with everything. I am sorry you were unable to partake in our complimentary continental breakfast which is available 7 days a week from 6:30AM - 10:00AM. I am sure you would have been just as pleased. We look forward to seeing you again whenever you visit...

Heidelberg, Germany
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Maybe I have stayed at too many Hotels in Asia and the Middle East. But 400 USD a night for a hotel without a doorman or any other kind of luggage service, without slippers, without replacement of free water bottles or Q-Tips for the 2nd night? For worn-out furnitire, especially the cabinets? There must be better choices at this price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eatdrinkmenwomen
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Based on the rate you mentioned I am assuming you upgraded to a suite and were unfortunately introduced to our state and local taxes which equal 15%. There is nothing I can do about the taxes however I can tell you we are the number 1 ranked hotel in Morristown (4 consecutive years) as well...

Palm Springs, CA
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Although the hotel is older, the property is well kept and has nice amenities and a friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are traditionally decorated and have wonderful bath amenities, coffee maker. Turn-down service in the evenings with ice bucket refills. Mornings offer a complimentary continental breakfast (coffee, tea, and homemade treats available in the lobby all day). If you're...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PSMan
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to read you found the hotel well kept with nice amenities and a friendly and helpful staff. We look forward to having you as a guest again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ. Scott McArthur...

Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 24 June 2015

Charming hotel in a lovely location within walking distance of train to midtown NYC (if you are sensitive to the sound of train whistles that may not be a selling point). Excellent restaurants on site. Room decor was nice, nothing special. My room overlooked the expansive lawn and mature trees - truly a peaceful view. Room was very spacious and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christopher w
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your response to my private email. I did check the room and checked the light on the desk and found the two outlets in the base that I described in my email to you. Sorry, it wasn't easier to see. Thank you for your business and we look forward to having you as a...

Albany, New York, United States
Reviewed 23 June 2015 via mobile

Local told us about this hotel. Checked it out through website, looked very nice but price was more than we wanted to spend. Went on Priceline and got the room for 1/2 the price. More than impressed with rooms and staff and breakfast. Later on found out that the hotel is on the posh side and people cannot believe the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul F
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your business and look forward to having you as a guest whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ. Scott McArthur General Manager

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 22 June 2015

The Madison Hotel is a nice historic hotel between Madison and Morristown NJ. They have two outstanding restaurants - Rod's and the Red Dog Tavern, which is the main reason I stay there. Other than that, I can't understand how they call themselves four star, the rooms are outdated, the bathrooms are dingy (black mold in the grout of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neelio45
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind words i.e. calling the hotel clean and nice with two outstanding restaurants as well as your continued patronage. It sounds like you have stayed with us before and I apologize for this little hiccup during your last stay with us. It will be addressed immediately and is always an ongoing process. I did...

457 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (146)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (39)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (258)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard King Room (26)
Viewed
Suite (37)
Viewed
The Geraldine Rockefeller Dodge (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morristown
2.5 km away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
3.9 km away
Hyatt Regency Morristown
Hyatt Regency Morristown
#4 of 5 in Morristown
862 reviews
1.9 km away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#3 of 5 in Morristown
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Morristown Inn
1.2 km away
Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center
8.3 km away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Rod's Steak & Seafood Grille
Rod's Steak & Seafood Grille
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about The Madison Hotel

Address: 1 Convent Rd, Morristown, NJ 07960-6922
Region: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Price Range: $199 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Madison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Morristown
The Madison Hotel Morristown, New Jersey
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Morristown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
#1 Family Hotel in Morristown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Madison Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
2 months ago
New Haven, Connecticut
Brooklyn, New York
over a year ago
New Jersey

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Madison Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suites are wonderful and recommended!”
 of 5 bubbles 791MarthaJ, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Nearby train tracks with train travel at night. The noise will wake you up. Look for a room on the other side if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles 223larryk, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“book the train car for dinner!”
 of 5 bubbles lucyg766, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I have never had a bad room.”
 of 5 bubbles BobWayland, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There is a NJ Transit train track along one side of the hotel and they have live bands in the bar on weekends -- ask for a quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles jpora, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5