We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Madison Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

767 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Madison Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 750: English reviews
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Although this hotel opened in 1981, it seems to have come from a much earlier time. Beautiful furnishings and collectibles to see makes this a lovely spot. We spent two nights at the Madison Hotel. The room was spacious, well-equipped, quiet and very comfortable. There were two large weddings while we were there but there was no noise or disturbances...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amberdog16
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again whenever your visit NYC or northern NJ. Scott McArthur General Manager

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2015

Very good location, spacious rooms and across the road from Covent train station, direct access to New York. Good continental breakfast included.shattle service to Morris town. 24/7 tea, coffee, water and fluit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MOHAMMEDALI66
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the tell us about your stay. We were happy to read you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ. Scott McArthur General Manager

Las Vegas,Nevada
Reviewed 31 July 2015

I stayed for four nights for short vacation and reunion. I was greeted warmly upon arriving and was set up quickly. The room was nice,exactly like the picture I saw. The bathroom was very good, good towels, shower had great pressure, and the usual shampoo, conditioner and all. The king size bed was a delight after the busy days we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LVRick
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled you had a "very nice experience" and look forward to returning whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ. Scott McArthur General Manager

Arroyo Grande, California
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Sure, the Madison Hotel is showing its age, but in this era of fast food, fast chain hotels and automatic everything, it's nice to be able to look down the hallway of the hotel and not have to say "what day is it and where am I again? This all looks the same as yesterday." I found the front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol29111
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ. Scott McArthur General Manager

Morristown, New Jersey
Reviewed 27 July 2015

My room was damp and moldy. On entry the carpet was damp, I endeavored to remove the humidity by running the air conditioner, which was unsuccessful. The place is old and needs a major overhaul. The purpose of my visit was a business meeting, and the meeting room was similarly old with an antiquated air system. Staff are lovely, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ann p
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to say that I inspected the room you stayed in along with other employees and found no sticky carpet and no mold, In addition, the AC cooled the room nicely. Is it possible something was on your shoes? As you can see from other comments on this website along with all the...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 21 July 2015

We stayed here for a wedding and we had a great stay. The wedding was held in the Conservatory, and it was very well done. The staff was friendly and attentive. The food was great, but the entrees came out at different times. Our only real complaint was related to the A/C unit in our room-- we only had three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheInvestmentBanker
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your experience at The Madison Hotel. We are thrilled you had an opportunity to experience a wedding in our beautiful facility and are happy to hear you had a great stay and found the staff friendly and attentive. Sorry about the AC unit. They usually have a high setting...

West Redding, Connecticut
Reviewed 17 July 2015

This is our company's recommended hotel when we travel in the area and it's a wonderful place to stay. I love that it is not a "cookie-cutter" hotel from a chain and has an old-world charm to it (even though it was built in 1951). Lot's of dark wood and paneling in the lobby with antique-style furnishings. Staff super friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank catherinef419
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We all appreciate it and we are thrilled to read that you found the staff "super friendly", the rooms clean, bed comfortable, complimentary breakfast very nice and enjoyed the little extras we provide like the daily raffle and the coffee,...

Paramus, New Jersey
Reviewed 12 July 2015

My wife and I spent our wedding anniversary at the Madison. We were expecting a good accommodation, but what we received was a fantastic experience. From the close proximity to our residence to the magnificent exterior of the building. The front desk made us feel very welcomed at check-in. The room was extremely comfortable, although the TV should be updated....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EddieS668
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Happy Anniversary and thank you for spending your special day with us. We are glad you had a "fantastic experience" and look forward to you spending many more special days with us. Scott McArthur General Manager

Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

This is a very pleasant hotel located equidistant between Morristown and Madison. It is certainly not within walking distance of either downtown but it is within five minutes driving of both. The local commuter railway line station is a couple of hundred yards from the station so access to local towns and to NYC is convenient and easy. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wardonia
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate it and look forward to having you as a guest again. Scott McArthur General Manager

Reviewed 11 July 2015

Have been coming here for the past 8 years. Most times the visit is spot on and other times lacking. We like the location and atmosphere of the place and the Red Dog. Front desk clerk Jesse was a delete to deal with. Recently stayed over 4 July weekend and problem Friday and Saturday came from a family of 8-10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jfh10319
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. Let me apologize for the guest smoking in the room next to yours, if we had known when you first smelled it we could have immediately went to room and asked them to stop, It is against the law in...

457 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (146)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (39)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (258)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard King Room (26)
Viewed
Suite (37)
Viewed
The Geraldine Rockefeller Dodge (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morristown
2.5 km away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
3.9 km away
Hyatt Regency Morristown
Hyatt Regency Morristown
#4 of 5 in Morristown
857 reviews
1.9 km away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#3 of 5 in Morristown
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Morristown Inn
1.2 km away
Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center
8.3 km away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Rod's Steak & Seafood Grille
Rod's Steak & Seafood Grille
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about The Madison Hotel

Address: 1 Convent Rd, Morristown, NJ 07960-6922
Region: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Price Range: $198 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Madison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Morristown
The Madison Hotel Morristown, New Jersey
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morristown
#1 Business Hotel in Morristown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Madison Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
2 months ago
New Haven, Connecticut
Brooklyn, New York
over a year ago
New Jersey

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Madison Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suites are wonderful and recommended!”
 of 5 bubbles 791MarthaJ, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Nearby train tracks with train travel at night. The noise will wake you up. Look for a room on the other side if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles 223larryk, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“book the train car for dinner!”
 of 5 bubbles lucyg766, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I have never had a bad room.”
 of 5 bubbles BobWayland, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There is a NJ Transit train track along one side of the hotel and they have live bands in the bar on weekends -- ask for a quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles jpora, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5