We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ellis Hotel

Save
Traveller (232)
Room & Suite (300)
Dining (21)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Watch prices for this hotel.
We’ll alert you of any changes.
Sign up
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good26%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“boutique hotel”(90 reviews)
“front desk”(240 reviews)
“great boutique”(17 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast Available
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,529)
There are newer reviews for The Ellis Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,491 results
Traveller rating
799
380
180
79
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
799
380
180
79
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelfront deskgreat boutiquesmall hotelpeachtree streetstreet noiseheart of downtownchain hotelsmarta stationwithin walking distancecorner roomvalet serviceroom servicevalet parkingbusiness tripworld of coca colakey card
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 1,491 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

What an absolute disappointment -- from top to bottom! A boutique hotel? That takes nerve! This place ranks among the worst that I have ever stayed at in the US. It is an absolute dump. Besides needing updating, renovation, the general level of cleanliness leaves...More

Thank Pippiduck
Response from Kim K, General Manager at The Ellis HotelResponded 1 week ago

We are sorry that you felt that we did not meet your expectation. We were completely renovated in May 2017. All of our guest rooms, guest corridors and lobby are new. We are sorry that you did not like our new décor. Also, we want...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So convenient for the main attractions of Atlanta. The Streetcar stops outside making it accessible for the Martin Luther King National Park. This hotel is clean, comfortable and has friendly staff. The food is good as well-what’s not to like?More

Thank amanwithnoname
Response from Kim K, General Manager at The Ellis HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5-star review from your recent stay at the Ellis Hotel. I was truly glad to hear you thought our hotel was quiet, comfortable, clean with a great location and good food as well! Our entire Team looks forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for volleyball. Room was tiny. Beds tiny. Air conditioning did not work. Called maintenance two separate days and they said that they would look at it never did. We could not sleep it was so hot. Will never stay there again...More

Thank Tina R
Response from Kim K, General Manager at The Ellis HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing a review about your recent stay. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional experience our guests have come to expect from us. The items you mentioned are important and we regret we missed the mark....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here one night while on a business trip. The room was comfy, if small. It was quiet and had a Keurig coffee maker in the room, along with a small refrigerator. The hotel staff was friendly, and the breakfast buffet in the morning...More

Thank dpmason
Response from Kim K, General Manager at The Ellis HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5-star review from your recent stay at the Ellis Hotel. I was truly pleased to hear you felt the Ellis was a lovely boutique hotel and that your experience with our Staff and our Service was a great one. Our entire...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed for one night in this hotel for business trip after 2 dissapointing stay in Holliday in Downtown Atlanta (just few hundred meters away). First impression was nice, friendly welcome by Vallery in reception. She’s nice and very helpful, check in was also fast...More

Thank Mikhael M
Response from Kim K, General Manager at The Ellis HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your 4-star review from your recent stay at the Ellis Hotel. I was truly glad to hear you felt the Ellis Hotel was a good hotel with a good location at a reasonable price and that you will re visit when back...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Room Service
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Multilingual Staff
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 153 - USD 317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#3 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#20 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#31 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#56 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 153 - USD 317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#3 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#20 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#31 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#56 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (232)
Room & Suite (300)
Dining (21)
Amenities (6)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sylbill
22 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Tom L | Property representative |
We offer a valet parking service through LAZ Parking for $35 per night, which is a little lower than almost every hotel in downtown Atlanta. If you choose to self-park, there are many public garages around us. Beware of... More
0
Votes
manar k
9 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Oreta S | Reviewed this property |
When I was there, there was no extra charge. I would bypass fromt desk and speak with hotel management. It should be easily explained and rectified, also put a hold on paying those charges, if you used a credit card. good... More
1
Vote
manar k
9 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Harry R | Reviewed this property |
I would advise contacting the manager directly and contesting the bill with your credit card company.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Ask for a corner room for the most privacy, and rooms at the back of the hotel have less traffic noise than..."
Read review
"Go High and ask for a corner"
Read review
"high floor"
Read review
"If you are allergy sensitive, please choose the pet-free room or that floor where the is air clean."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing