We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Santana

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Santana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Santana
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,103: English reviews
Ghasri, Malta
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was the worst experience in a Hotel anywhere in the world. Their Customer Service was downright disgusting and the receptionist, a young lad, had no idea what he was doing. I arrived at the Hotel Santana about 8.30pm on Tuesday 7th March 2017. I had stayed there before and found the hotel to be comfortable and good value for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mae717
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. Starting off, we would like to show our regret for not meeting your expectations during your stay which is ultimately our main goal. However, for the benefit of who is reading this review, we would like to clarify why such a stance...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel lived up to most of the reviews i had read before we booked.......it was in the middle of some internal updates whilst we were there. The hotel was clean and the staff were all very pleasant. The gym area really needs some additional equipment for it be to be anywhere near really useful to people wanting to do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We would like to thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to note that you had an overall enjoyable stay. We value all comments and suggestions as they help us improve our service and product further. That is why we will certainly pass them on to the rest of the management team for further review....

Lancashire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here last weekend for 3 night as a base to partake in the Malta half marathon on the Sunday. I'd arranged a return airport transfer via email from the website at a cost of €40. My driver, Martin, was waiting in arrivals when I got there & the half hour transfer to the hotel commenced with a running commentary...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vixen1980
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We would like to thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that we have managed to meet and exceed your expectations regarding our hotel and its services. Hotel Santana and all the team strive daily to make sure that all our guests leave our...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Taking value for money into account, this is the best hotel I have stayed at. As opposed to some other Maltese hotels, the internet works well and is a good speed even on the 4th floor. The room is spacious, clean and pleasant. It is maintained at a pleasant temperature even when the wind is howling outside, as it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Retetet
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Please accept our heartfelt thanks for the great review and the high rating that you gave us on TripAdvisor. It is such a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you found our product to be of good value for money. We will most certainly relay your comments to all...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have been here almost a week and this hotel is clean, welcoming and in a good location in St Paul's bay. You have to pay a local Environment tax which applies to everywhere in Malta. This was only 7 euros for the two of us for a week. I think it's an excellent idea as the impact of so...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kathy W
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We would like to thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay. We very much appreciate your comments and we thank you on behalf of our staff. We have also noted your suggestions and we will pass them on to the rest of the management team for...

England
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First time in Malta didn't know what to expect. At the airport a lady in the passport queue said you either love Malta or hate Malta. After 4 days I am still trying to make my mind up. The people are lovely, very friendly and helpful. The restaurants are plentiful and very reasonably priced. There are an abundance of bars...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KJH76
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We would like to thank you for your review. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay and that you chose Hotel Santana. On behalf of the team we thank you for your kind comments and for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. Whilst we also hoped that you liked our Malta, we also look forward...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel for a university trip and I have to say the room was not worthy of four stars. The following issues with the hotel were: The balcony door did not have a lock on it an the cleaners would often leave it open after cleaning the room. The air con was useless and did not work...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Helen S
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. First of all, we apologise if we have not met your expectations and for any shortcomings you encountered during your stay here. Your opinion and your comments are truly valuable to us, and we appreciate all feedback as it helps us improve our product....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were given a room on 4th floor, very nice, but toilet was leaking, next morning Caroline phoned and said she was very sorry and we would be up graded, Wow! Room 703....fantastic! Thank you Caroline x we had a wonderful holiday, hotel is superb. P. S. Do a night at "goodfellas"...eye opener, we're in our fifties but they made...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nick C
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, We would like to thank you for your review on Hotel Santana. We very much appreciate your comments and your high rating of our hotel. We also thank you for your comments about Caroline. She will be pleased when we will relay your comments to her. Whilst we thank you again for your review, we also look forward...

Alsager, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had the half board option. The variety and quality of food at both breakfast and Dinner was very good. The staff are friendly. There was some renovation going on but the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Very good value for money and very much improved from our last visit.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colin C
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay and we appreciate your great comments about our staff and our hotel. Whilst we thank you again for your comments we also hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel in...

lichfield
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

stayed five nights in this hotel. good location. food ok. staff excellent. entertainment ok. rooms ok with kettle and fridge. indoor swimming pool superb and rooftop pool also. value for money and would revisit.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mrsjeanday
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear mrsjeanday, We would like to thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and that you chose to share your experience with other reviewers on TripAdvisor. We are also glad that you had an overall enjoyable stay and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Santana again in the not so...

638 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (468)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (161)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (165)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Rooftop Pool (13)
Viewed
Standard Room (24)
Viewed
Suite (40)
Viewed
Superior Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.3 km away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
2,495 reviews
0.2 km away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
1.2 km away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
1,898 reviews
0.3 km away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
2,572 reviews
8.8 km away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $56 - $916 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Santana staff and other travellers.
97 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (97)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Santana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher up better view & try for one at front overlooking the square but none have 'views'”
 of 5 bubbles FlybabyBLM, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at back are quieter but smaller”
 of 5 bubbles stephenwM5183DF, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“if you can book a suite facilities excellent”
 of 5 bubbles kenrobson26, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“east side looking onto back streets and no sun . rest better views and sun”
 of 5 bubbles pabnewroad, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We paid extra for a comfort room - larger”
 of 5 bubbles colinc475, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5