We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Show Prices
#24 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 422: English reviews
Newport News, Virginia
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is our second time staying at Commonwealth Park Suites. Location is excellent - right across the street from the State Capital. It is a short walk to great dining, conference center and canal walk by the James River. The rooms are clean and spacious, bed is comfortable, and views are great. Every employee is gracious and friendly. We will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. I will share your comments with the rest of the team and look forward to a future visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to our Hotel. Sincerely Anshu Kapoor

Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewed 5 June 2014

First off, don't even think about the $12.99 breakfast buffet. I'm a big fan of breakfast, and had eagerly anticipated a delicious breakfast in the hotel's own restaurant. This turned out to be a HUGE disappointment. The breakfast potatoes were cold, as was every single item on the "hot" menu. The French Toast was beyond pitiful. I took one bite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary T
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I apologize for your inconvenience. Our elevators are small, being a historic building and due to infrastructural constraints, there very little scope of improvement. Being a downtown property we do get our fair share of "sounds of the city". I am sorry that the food was not to your taste. We normally get...

Quechee, Vermont
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The FRONT DESK Personnel were exceptional as well as the porters and Valet Service. The short coming was the Bed in our Suite. The Mattress sloped into the middle making it uncomfortable to sleep.. The Location of the Hotel is Great as it right across from the Capitol. The sixwe of the room was very nice as was the full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 418Peter
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and nice comments about our staff. I apologize for mattress being sagging in the middle, a quick call with the room number would help us immensely. I apologize for the inconvenience once again. Thank you, Anshu Kapoor

Horgen
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I do Not know why we got the suite for wheelchair guests, but I feel sorry for them. No view, dark and the worst shower I have seen worldwide. In India you got a bucket and a ladle, that was superior to this one. I would recommend that your director should spend 2 or 3 nights with his wife or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gaiafraudulaHorgen
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I apologize for your inconvenience. A quick call with a little more specific details about the shower would be greatly appreciated. I can assure you that I have personally checked room 1106 and this room has a brand new shower valve. I apologize for the inconvenience once again. Thank you, Anshu Kapoor

Myrtle Beach, SC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Beautiful, big rooms. Excellent service but small on the amenities outside the room. But it excels in location, location, location. Stayed there where husband argued in federal court. Right next door to courthouse. Lovely view of Capitol.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wm1993
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. I will share your comments with the rest of the team and look forward to a future visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to our Hotel. Sincerely Anshu Kapoor

Palo Alto, CA
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at the Commonwealth Park for five nights. The hotel is not new but is generally well kept. There were a few signs of age, such as missing paneling in the elevator, some stains on the bathroom floor and a very slow-draining bathtub, but nothing that detracted significantly from our stay. The Hotel is directly across the street from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swj
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. I will share your comments with the rest of the team and look forward to a future visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to our Hotel. Sincerely Anshu Kapoor

Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I just returned from a weekend trip to Richmond, VA where we chose to stay at this hotel. There were a few pros, but mostly cons: Pros: Great service; friendly people; very responsive and polite. Outstanding location! Large rooms. Cons: Absolutely the WORST shower I've ever encountered in a hotel. First of all, the shower head was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sdnoethen
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Noethen I am extremely sorry for your inconvenience. We did process a full refund for stay. Sincerely Anshu Kapoor

Chantilly, Virginia
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Came to Richmond for a wedding at Monument Church and the Main Street Station. This hotel was very convenient to both locations and easy to get to off of Interstate 95. The setting across from the Capital grounds is charming. The staff could not have been more accommodating. Easy parking in front for leaving the car and unloading. A whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AvenueFoch P
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. I will share your comments with the rest of the team and look forward to a future visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to our Hotel. Sincerely Anshu Kapoor

Brightlingsea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Richmond was a bit of a stop-gap on our travels around the East Coast and we picked this hotel because it provided a quiet room with a nice view over the park. We stayed for just a few nights in Richmond and booked a basic room but we were amazed when we learnt that there were few people in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tarch333
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. I will share your comments with the rest of the team and look forward to a future visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to our Hotel. Sincerely Anshu Kapoor

Raleigh
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We were in an emergency situation after my dad had surgery at the VA hospital because the other lodging we had didn't work out. A Hilton rep tried to help us because the Doubletree was sold out. The hotel is super old, and not charming-old. Gave my elderly mom the bed and I took the pull out sofa. No sheets,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I hope your dad is feeling better. I apologize for the inconvenience. We normally do not keep extra sheets and blankets in the rooms they are provided upon request only and if the sleeper sofa is required to be used we do put mattress pads on them. All...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Richmond - Downtown
0.5 km away
Residence Inn Richmond Downtown
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 81 in Richmond
955 reviews
0.3 km away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 81 in Richmond
731 reviews
0.5 km away
Courtyard Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Maxine's Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Address: 901 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Price Range: $292 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TravelClick so you can book your Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Park Hotel Richmond
Commonwealth Park Richmond
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Richmond
#8 Business Hotel in Richmond
#19 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#21 Family Hotel in Richmond
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suites have a very large living room area”
 of 5 bubbles 273stephanieo, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Suites with fron view of the State Capital”
 of 5 bubbles r0xannep0tts, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the capitol! I stayed in 1108 and it was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles sumdude_512, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Get a room away from the corner near the intersection to cut down on street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles DBTurner, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“the king bed suite is amazing”
 of 5 bubbles heatherhQ8950UD, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5