We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Northern Light Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Northern Light Inn
Northern Light Inn
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

898 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Northern Light Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 748: English reviews
Boston, MA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here back in 2015 and although the room was nice, the customer service was not. This time, the customer service was excellent. The room was spacious, the beds were super comfy and the shower had good water pressure. I would definitely go back. Breakfast was decent but nothing special. I only gave the location 3 stars because being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annakiwi
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear annakiwi, Many thanks for your review. We are happy to hear that our customer service is improving and thankful to hear that you would like to come again for the third time. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Upminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is situated in the middle of a lava field and the views from the rooms are very unusual but fascinating. The rooms are large, clean and have every facility apart from a fridge. The hotel is very close to the Blue Lagoon which can be reached along a pathway in about 10 minutes. There are many comfortable sitting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivien97
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear Vivien97, Many thanks for your kind words and rating. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and we hope to see you again, one day.

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

They had a mid-day waffle bar. Does anything else even matter?! So besides the waffles, they have a fantastically comfortable common area with a self-serve bar. They left a notebook out for guests to use the honor system noting what they enjoyed. Major kudos for that. It made me feel like I was at home. The room was so-so, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BookOfTravel
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear BookOfTravel, Many thanks for your review. We are glad you liked our waffle bar and thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again, some day.

United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in hopes to see the Northern Lights. Unfortunately we didn't but that's just nature. I loved that they have a sign up sheet incase the lights show after midnight, they will call your room. The place was clean, staff friendly, and close to the Blue Lagoon which is a must!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlin J
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kaitlin J Many thanks for your review and rating. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and we hope to see you again.

Beccles, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Firstly, I don't have enough nice words about this lovely inn and the people running it. We arrived around 3pm and where swiftly checked in and advised about the honesty bar and complementary hot drinks and waffles (from3-5pm). After settling into our lovely room he headed back to reception to ask about excursions, the front desk staff where very helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shannon R
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear Shannon R, Many thanks for your nice review and rating. We are very glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and thankful to hear that you would like to return. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you with us again, some day.

Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Some of the staff were really polite and helpful while others clearly had other places to be and couldn't really be bothered. The geothermal power station next door gives off a lot of light pollution but didn't really detract from our stay. The hotel seemed to have a large building project ongoing while we were there. The room was great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tony C, Many thanks for your review. We will use your review and cover it on our next staff meeting as we are sorry to hear that only some of our staff was polite and helpful as you say and others not. That should not be the case. As you mention, we are currently extending adding 10 deluxe rooms,...

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A short distance (20 minutes drive) from Keflavik Airport and a five minute walk from the Blue Lagoon is the Northern Light Inn. Very friendly, helpful staff, great food and comfortable clean rooms. We stayed one night and had an early start but 04:30 for breakfast was not a problem !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MF54
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear MF54, Many thanks for your nice words and rating. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and we hope to see you again, one day.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My girlfriend and I (aged 22 & 23) stayed here for 2 nights and overall our stay was fairly good. Pros: - Everybody is friendly - Clean and spacious rooms - Dinner and breakfast was delicious! - Quiet rooms for drinking / playing games - Transfers to and from the airport and the blue lagoon included Cons: - A HUGEE...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Connor N
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear Connor N, Many thanks for your review and comments, which we highly value. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay but of course sorry to hear that some of the things you experienced was not so enjoyable. For our location, we try our best to inform our guests where we are as we are very...

Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

We had a very short layover in Iceland for our honeymoon and chose the Northern Lights Inn - we were most definitely not disappointed! First, the NLI offers a free shuttle to and from the airport and blue lagoon - which is an amazing perk when you look into the cost of transfer service in Iceland. Our very friendly driver...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy D
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tracy D, Many thanks for your nice words. We are glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us. We sincerely hope to see you with us again, some day. The NLI team

Reviewed 17 January 2017

Fantastically relaxing... staff are great. Only thing and it's all my fault being fussy eater, have something plain on the menu like cod/haddock on menu Would fully recommend Short walk away from blue lagoon where we had full massage

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear Helen S, Many thanks for your review. We hope to get the pleasure of seeing you again and please ask us for a simple cod as we always have fresh fish on our menu and if you want it as simple as it gets, then I am sure that the kitchen would accommodate that wish.

808 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (502)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (118)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Other (162)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (242)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Double Room (36)
Viewed
Quadruple Room (41)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Superior Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
4.2 km away
Geo Hotel Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
223 reviews
14.4 km away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
792 reviews
39.0 km away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 53 in Reykjavik
3,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.3 km away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
931 reviews
12.6 km away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#5 of 9 in Keflavik
45 reviews
15.6 km away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Babysitting
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Northern Light Inn - just 1 minute before the Blue Lagoon - is a wonderful place to see the Aurora Borealis, discover Iceland, and enjoy your getaway vacation. 32 geo-thermally heated rooms, free wifi, Cognac Lounge with 24/7 honesty bar, a grand cozy fireplace, and family hospitality await you. Delicious foods from the fjords and fields of Iceland are served in Max's restaurant: ocean fresh fish, free range lamb, geo-thermal vegetables, home baked breads and cakes. 24/7 complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and home made cookies are always available in the lobby for guests, and make-your-own Icelandic waffles every day. We offer free scheduled International Airport transfers from 06:00 (05:00 from the hotel) until 21:00, and complimentary regular shuttles to the Blue Lagoon. The Northern Light inn and Max's Restaurant are 20 minutes from Keflavik International Airport KEF, 45 from Reykjavik, 3 hours from London, and less than 6 from New York. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Northern Light Inn

Address: Northern Lights Road 1, Grindavik 240, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Southern Peninsula > Grindavik
Price Range: $326 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Light Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Northern Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Light Hotel Grindavik
Northern Light Grindavik
Northern Light Inn Iceland/Grindavik
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Northern Light Inn staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Northern Light Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room closer to the lobby so you don't hear the construction noise during the day.”
 of 5 bubbles PamelaH650, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not luxury feeling but over $200/night”
 of 5 bubbles KSeattlite, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles 901davidf901, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are similar in size, fixtures, and views. The entire hotel is quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewM_8, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not a bad room, but hotel is big and if you have mobility issues ask for a room close to the reception area.”
 of 5 bubbles konacoco, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5