We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Motif Seattle

Show Prices
#43 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Motif Seattle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Motif Seattle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,082: English reviews
Red Deer
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Great location but for the ridiculous price we paid per night it was not worth the money. The night before our departure, I dropped an item between the wall and vanity and found a bunch stuff from previous visitors that were caked with dust and dirt. Then my son decided to check under the beds and found various wrappers, and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne T
Mike W, Manager at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

Hello Suzanne T - Thank you for sharing your experience, I am sorry that you had to deal with those issues. Please know that we have investigated the concerns you have and will be ensuring our team is aware and use this as an opportunity to better ourselves. Thank you again for your support of Motif Seattle, I hope to...

Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Originally booked "family" room because rate was not much more, and square footage was HUGE. Just 2 of us, but we like to spread out if possible. That said, the room was extremely (EXTREMELY) dark. Bedroom was windowless and felt like living in a cave. Late sleepers might appreciate it, but not I. Changed to a dbl/dbl without issue, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
Mike W, Manager at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

Hello Richard G - Thank you for your review, I am sorry that your first room wasn't as expected but I am glad to hear that our team was quickly able to get you into a room that was better suited for you. Mike West Assistant General Manager Motif Seattle

Chandler, Arizona
Reviewed 7 September 2016

So, I stayed at the Motif for PAX 2016 and to see Seattle. The hotel is centrally located and that was AWESOME! That is the best thing about this place. I would say that the price for the room was a bit higher for what you would get. I do understand that you are downtown during a large event, but...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank P2845SBmichaelh
Mike W, Manager at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

Hello P2845SBmichaelh - Thank you for your review and I hope you had a great time at PAX! Your business is important to us and I appreciate your feedback. Thank you again and please come see us again next year! Mike West Assistant General Manager Motif Seattle

Fremont, California
Reviewed 7 September 2016

The location is fantastic, as is the staff. The bathrooms are disappointing, especially for the price. Although the new showerhead and water pressure are both great, the drains do not function and pipes are clearly blocked. We switched rooms due to a shower that wasn't draining (a stranger's whiskers floated out of the pipes and stuck to my legs during...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lannarose
Mike W, Manager at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

Hello Lannarose - Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear about your shower experience. I have shared your feedback with our engineering team so that we can get these items fixed. Thank you again! Mike West Assistant General Manager Motif Seattle

Baytown
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Great property! Hip, modern, clean décor. Great rooms and the banquet food we had was amazing! The customer service was 5 stars. We were treated like total VIPs and we had booked with a travel group, so we got an awesome rate. Great downtown Seattle property - 1.5 blocks from the train, very close bus stop, central to great restaurants,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bart L
Mike W, Manager at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

Hello Bart L - I am glad to hear that you had such a great experience with us and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! Mike West Assistant General Manager Motif Seattle

San Leandro
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Took my kids to Seattle for the first time and was very happy with the hotel. Central, clean with a fun atmosphere. We were withing walking distance of much of what we wanted to do and public transit was cheap and accessible. Service at the hotel was prompt and did I mention clean rooms?

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank elizabethmA4767EL
Mike W, Manager at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

Hello elizabethmA4767EL - Thank you for your great review and I am so glad to hear that you and your family had such a great time here and in Seattle! Please come back and see us again. Mike West Assistant General Manager Motif Seattle

South Salem
Reviewed 6 September 2016

No security no concierge Room cleaner kept knocking on door starting before 9:00 to clean room and mugs and I think sheets were not changed. Homeless mentally ill people were always hanging out right by front door. The elevators had room key to swipe to get to rooms for security but they weren't working and anyone could just come up....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank elleng861
Mike W, Manager at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

Hello elleng861 - I am sorry that we failed to exceed your expectations in several areas. We do have a concierge on our team, perhaps they were not working on the days you were here, but I hope that the rest of our team was able to assist you. Our security team is on site 24/7, you may not have...

Cincinnati
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Booked the room through my professional conference. Bathroom wasn't cleaned properly, sheets only changed once in a 5-night stay, and on the last night the air conditioning broke, meaning that I could not sleep because of the heat. Staff did not keep guests informed about what was going on with the AC and never followed up after I complained on-site...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 977ec
Mike W, Manager at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

Hello 977ec - I am sorry to hear that your experience was less that stellar. It is very important to us for our guests to have positive experiences with us and I am sorry that was not the case in your stay. I know that there are many options in Seattle and we appreciate your choice to stay with us....

Grand Rapids
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Our second time staying here and it was perfect. Can not beat the location! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful as well as attentive. Rooms are very clean and very comfortable. We had a lovely view of the bay which was such a nice thing. We will be back to stay again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rozc3
Mike W, Manager at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

Hello rozc3 - Thank you for your great review, I am so thrilled that you chose to stay with us again among all the choices in Seattle. We appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Mike West Assistant General Manager Motif Seattle

San Jose
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, as we explored Seattle most of the time. However, it was always clean, and surprisingly quiet for a holiday weekend. The wifi speed was pretty typical for a hotel this size. I was able to check my work email periodically, which is what I wanted. The location was perfect. I...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cheryl J
Mike W, Manager at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

Hello Cheryl J - I hope you enjoyed your time out and about exploring our beautiful city! Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Mike West Assistant General Manager Motif Seattle

483 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (285)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (134)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (170)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#39 of 100 in Seattle
3,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayflower Park Hotel
#22 of 100 in Seattle
2,066 reviews
The Roosevelt Hotel
#38 of 100 in Seattle
2,164 reviews
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#21 of 100 in Seattle
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Frolik Kitchen + Cocktails
Frolik Kitchen + Cocktails
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motif Seattle on Fifth Avenue in downtown Seattle Washington is a distinctly different and unique hotel located within the downtown neighborhood featuring the best shopping, theaters and cultural attractions on the West Coast. Whether you're in town on business or pleasure, our impeccable service and casual northwest flair will make your stay comfortable in Seattle.The hotel is noted for its exemplary level of service and sophisticated atmosphere, with amenities to satisfy both business and leisure travelers. Our 319 smoke-free guest rooms offer stunning views of Elliott Bay and the city and feature, Essential Elements bath products, luxurious bathrobes, Keurig coffee machines and refrigerators. On-site services include an award-winning concierge and bell staff, a business center and a fitness center. We also feature two restaurants; Frolik Kitchen + Cocktails on the fifth floor, including downtown Seattle's largest outdoor dining deck and seasonal summer entertainment on the patio, and Elephant & Castle British Restaurant & Pub. Motif Seattle is walking distance to Seattle's cultural, business and shopping attractions, including the ornate 5th Avenue Theatre and the classic Paramount Theatre, the famous Pike Place Market (with the world's first Starbucks coffee house), the Washington Convention & Trade Center and over 10 million square feet of retail shopping including Macy's Northwest and Nordstrom flagship stores. The Monorail to the Seattle Center's Space Needle and the Experience Music Project (EMP) is just step away. The Benaroya Hall and Seattle Art Museum are a few blocks away from the hotel. The hotel is also positioned for convenient Fifth Avenue access to Qwest Field, home of Seattle Seahawks football, Safeco Field, home of Seattle Mariners baseball, and Seattle Storm basketball. We are one mile from Seattle University, 6 miles from the University of Washington and its Medical Center and 6 miles from the campus of Seattle Pacific University. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motif Seattle

Address: 1415 Fifth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-2313
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Price Range: $312 - $616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Motif Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motif Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Seattle
Red Lion Seattle
Seattle Red Lion
Red Lion Inn Seattle
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#29 Business Hotel in Seattle
#30 Family Hotel in Seattle
#38 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motif Seattle staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question
Plattsburgh
6 months ago
over a year ago
Anchorage, Alaska
over a year ago
somers point
over a year ago

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Motif Seattle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get as high as possible facing the Harbour, and get away from the lifts.”
709andrewf, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere. Even the convention factory Westin Seattle is better.”
826vm, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a city view.”
TomP89, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors on one side provides a view of Elliott Bay.”
358rustyg, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“high floors have great views”
Rinemot, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5