We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel

Booking.comUSD 81*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

276 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 218: English reviews
Start your review of Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel
 Click to rate
San Luis Obispo County, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stay at the American when I travel via train or plane to seattle and arrive too late to get over to my home in Pt Townsend. Two blocks away from the train, bus or Link train is perfect. The hostel is run well and the staff are friendly and helpful. Everything works for me - just remember to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christopher52106
lauranada
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Well located if you are getting the train, location is also relatively close to attractions and has cheap restaurants close by. Area is a little dodgy but this seems true of most of downtown Seattle. The heating was broken (again?), no apology or explanation just a tiny electric heater which blew the fuse every time it was on for long....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauranada
Larry L, General Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

Our apologies about the heat. We are in the process of replacing our heating system.

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Last May (2016), I missed my Amtrack bus and found this place, it being close by the station. A call was made and they had a bed available, which I was so thankful for. I was very pleased with the service from the front desk clerks. I enjoyed the free breakfast the next morning, a good selection to choose from....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meleofraystone
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so pleased that we were able to help out when your travel plans changed unexpectedly. Thanks so much for staying with us! Kind Regards, Lydia, AGM

Reviewed 8 March 2017

I am starting to think I am just a big headache to you guys. The visit is either beyond perfect or you make me rethink my support of Hostel International. Let me be blunt. Room 234 has a heat exchange pipe in it. On cold nights do not plan on sleeping. The bang will be heard through your headphones and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie W
Larry L, General Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

So sorry you had a rough night. Our radiator heat does indeed clank on occasion. Our deepest apologies for the issue. We are working with a heating engineer trying to alleviate this issue. Again, very sorry for your less than satisfactory experience. We wish you the best of travels.

Reviewed 23 February 2017

You get what you pay for. Cheap but good service, good location, some bathrooms are quite old but there are also some new ones. You just have to look for it. ;) Around the hotel there are many (budget) restaurants (most of them are Chinese). I met great people there and the staff was quite friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
Larry L, General Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind comments. We appreciate your patronage. Travel safe.

SF Bay Area
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel OK, writing this from the perspective of a stranded traveler rather than a touring trekker. Got stuck at SeaTac Airport due to several weather related cancellations and needed a place to camp for a rainy Thurs night in February. Found HI on the internet, looked at the pictures, read the reviews, noted the prices...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank toughbutfair99
Larry L, General Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your detailed review. Our building is designated a historic property so, it needs to be kept as close to original design as possible. We certainly appreciate your keen observations. Thanks for staying with us and we wish you the safest of travels.

Philadelphia, United States
Reviewed 5 January 2017

I stayed here in September 2016 with my husband in a private room for us. It was quiet, good temp, bathrooms were clean, and I loved that we had a sink in the room. Across the way was a large asian grocery store that we went to get a late dinner when we arrived. We walked to the Pike market...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beatricea146
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

It was wonderful to host your stay in Seattle in September. It's one of the best months, weather-wise, to visit the city! Uwajimaya is a fantastic grocery store, right? Our community engagement coordinator, Kayla, even walks people through there during her weekly walking tours! I'm so happy that you had a great time during your stay and I hope to...

Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a stopover in Seattle on the way to Hawaii. It was the cheapest option out of all the accommodation available as Seattle is expensive when it comes to hotels and air bnb. I stayed in a double room with a bunk bed. Being end of November, the weather was cold and rainy. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabel M
Larry L, General Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your thoughtful review. Unfortunately we were having trouble with our heating system during your stay. Our apologies. They system is now fully functional and all rooms and the hostel are heated and warm. Travel safe.

Boston
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

I booked a triple for myself with a private bath. When I came by a couple hours before checkin to drop off my bags, I checked that they had the right type of room for me, but they didn't have the right room because when I confirmed there was a private bath, the person at reception said it didn't. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ericam1981
Larry L, General Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

Valued guest, I apologize for any confusion. Our main heating system was down during your stay. It is now in full function. We offered space heaters during your stay to warm the rooms. Towels are free and readily available at the front desk. Again, please accept my apologies for your stay. I wish you the safest of travels.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We were in one of their private room. The hostel is close to transportation and downtown Seattle. Calm, big Kitchen and dayly activities to discover around. I Highly recommend it. It's really reasonable price and very good location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samdyetvous
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for recommending us! I'm so happy that we were able to help make your visit to Seattle enjoyable and memorable. Please come back and see us again during your next visit! Happy Travels, Lydia, AGM

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Panama Hotel
Panama Hotel
#85 of 100 in Seattle
156 reviews
Pioneer Square
Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#3 of 100 in Seattle
1,990 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hostelling International Seattle, Seattle’s premier hostel, which is conveniently located at the historic American Hotel in the International District of downtown Seattle.Renovated in 2009, Bicycle rentals, Common rooms, Computers (to check e-mail and the web, print boarding passes, etc.),Credit cards accepted,Discounts to Seattle attractions,Grocery store (one-block away), kitchen (self-serve), laundry, & library/game room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel

Address: 520 S King St, Seattle, WA 98104-2834 (Formerly American Hotel)
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > International District
Price Range: $54 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Bozeman, Montana
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room at end of hall was away from stairs with less traffic and near a bath.”
toughbutfair99, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Private Room, or 4 bedroom dorm room.”
RockingTravelQueen, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a private room with 3 or more travelers.”
louiseo937, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Best views, Best Quality, Low Noise, Convenient Transportation to and from Sound Transit Link's International District/Chinatown Station.”
DennisAlabaso, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Best location ever just north of Downtown Seattle and south of the SeaTac International Airport.”
DennisAlabaso, 12 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 81* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUSD 81
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates