We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
30/07/2017 31/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Green Tortoise Hostel

    105 1/2 Pike St, Seattle, WA 98101-2009
    Hotel website
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    30/07/2017 31/07/2017
    No availability for your dates from these sites
    Traveller (213)
    Room & Suite (85)
    Dining (12)
    Four Seasons Hotel Seattle
    1,406 reviews
    #2 of 101 hotels in Seattle
     
    Inn at the Market
    2,644 reviews
    #1 of 101 hotels in Seattle
     
    Kimpton Alexis Hotel
    2,018 reviews
    #4 of 101 hotels in Seattle
     
    Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
    2,333 reviews
    #8 of 101 hotels in Seattle
     
    Overview
    • Excellent49%
    • Very good35%
    • Average8%
    • Poor3%
    • Terrible5%
    Travellers talk about
    “free dinner” (48 reviews)
    “bunk beds” (33 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast included
    Self-Serve Laundry
    Air Conditioning
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Airport Transportation
    2.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from The Green Tortoise Hostel
    Special Deal: Free breakfast with your stay
    {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
    Four Seasons Hotel Seattle
    1,406 reviews
    #2 of 101 hotels in Seattle
     
    Inn at the Market
    2,644 reviews
    #1 of 101 hotels in Seattle
     
    Kimpton Alexis Hotel
    2,018 reviews
    #4 of 101 hotels in Seattle
     
    Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
    2,333 reviews
    #8 of 101 hotels in Seattle
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (534)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages
    There are newer reviews for The Green Tortoise Hostel
    See the most recent reviews

    11 - 15 of 440 reviews

    Reviewed 24 March 2017

    Around the midnight arrived staff in the room and did something in the room. Next morning I complained about and told I'm a customer and I payed money and don't want that staff running around the room and doing there something. Hostel manager didn't like...More

    1  Thank Aivars O
    Response from GreenTortoiseSeattle, Public Relations Manager at The Green Tortoise HostelResponded 3 weeks ago

    Hi. I am very sorry that you had a bad experience at the hostel. It sounds like everything was ok until someone was in the room at night? I do not know what the staff was doing in the room, but I guarantee that they...More

    Reviewed 21 March 2017

    For a hostel, this one is pretty sweet. It has loads of dorms that are mostly occupied, a lot of bathrooms, free breakfast, towels for $1, and a big common space where you can meet others. Each of the beds has a curtain which is...More

    2  Thank OneWildLifeTravel
    Response from GreenTortoiseSeattle, Public Relations Manager at The Green Tortoise HostelResponded 1 week ago

    Thank you so much for your stellar review! We are so glad that you think Pikes Place Market is the coolest area of Seattle. Sorry about the marijuana smell. We work hard to keep the smoke flowing out of the building from the lounge, but...More

    Reviewed 19 March 2017

    We had a great stay at Green Tortoise. We booked a double bunk bed as a couple which was a great cost-effective option. The staff are friendly and facilities are kept clean. Awesome showers! The beds have a curtain to allow some privacy and there...More

    Thank mcdermida
    Response from GreenTortoiseSeattle, Public Relations Manager at The Green Tortoise HostelResponded 1 week ago

    We are so grateful for your awesome review. Please stay with us again soon!

    Reviewed 6 March 2017

    I liked breakfast. However, the beds need improvement as I could feel the guy move under me all night. It's probably good to get a single room. Also the guy manning the kitchen in the morning needs some anger management counseling. He gets irritated and...More

    Thank RockingTravelQueen
    Response from GreenTortoiseSeattle, Public Relations Manager at The Green Tortoise HostelResponded 1 week ago

    Hi! Glad you enjoyed your time in Seattle. We are sorry that you had someone in the bunk beneath you that was a violent sleeper. Usually you cannot feel too much movement, but perhaps they were having nightmares. ;) I am very sorry to hear...More

    Reviewed 2 March 2017

    I dont like the long term stays they seem to allow. Definitely met an older person who seemed like they were there a long time; It was a little awkward. Place generally clean, and large, private bathrooms were small in number, but there never seemed...More

    1  Thank ckmetz002
    Response from GreenTortoiseSeattle, Guest Relations Manager at The Green Tortoise HostelResponded 1 week ago

    Thanks for your review! We do try to limit the number of nights one can stay in our hostel. We apologize for any awkward encounters! Glad you liked the location and the privacy curtain. Hope you stay with us again.

    Four Seasons Hotel Seattle
    1,406 reviews
    #2 of 101 hotels in Seattle
     
    Inn at the Market
    2,644 reviews
    #1 of 101 hotels in Seattle
     
    Kimpton Alexis Hotel
    2,018 reviews
    #4 of 101 hotels in Seattle
     
    Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
    2,333 reviews
    #8 of 101 hotels in Seattle
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Breakfast included
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Breakfast included
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    Details
    • Price range
    • USD 46 - USD 107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Number of rooms
    • 30
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Green Tortoise Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United States >
    • Washington >
    • Seattle
    • Also Known As
    • The Green Tortoise Hotel Seattle
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (213)
    Room & Suite (85)
    Dining (12)
    Hotel & Grounds (174)
    Bathroom (5)
    Nearby
    Mayflower Park Hotel
    2,178 reviews
    .40 km away
     
    Inn at the Market
    2,644 reviews
    .17 km away
     
    Motif Seattle
    231 reviews
    .31 km away
     
    Kimpton Palladian Hotel
    448 reviews
    .38 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Ellenos
    656 reviews
    .06 km away
    The Crumpet Shop
    806 reviews
    .04 km away
    Radiator Whiskey
    185 reviews
    .05 km away
    Matt's in the Market
    714 reviews
    .06 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Pike Place Fish Market
    426 reviews
    .05 km away
    The Gum Wall
    1,557 reviews
    .06 km away
    Market Theatre
    12 reviews
    .05 km away
    Pronto Cycle Share
    16 reviews
    .09 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Kelly C
    12 June 2017|
    Answer
    Response from GreenTortoiseSeattle | Property representative |
    You are more than welcome to stay with us! We've had guests from ages 2 to 92! We hope you enjoy your stay and your adventures in Seattle. Bon voyage!
    1
    Vote
    cyrobot
    11 June 2017|
    Answer Show all 2 answers
    Response from GreenTortoiseSeattle | Property representative |
    Emily B is correct! Doors lock after 10pm, but you will have a key. In addition, front desk staff can buzz you in 24 hours.
    0
    Votes
    Deborah R
    21 March 2017|
    Answer
    Response from mervinmer | Reviewed this property |
    what is the question?
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "free breakfast, eight or six beds, restroom, common area, smoke room, windows, lock storage, activities, pub..."
    Read review
    "Ask about private rooms if you are a couple that wants to sleep together"
    Read review
    "Go somewhere else"
    Read review
    "Be sure to wake up early if you want to eat the free breakfast. It runs out fast"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing