We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Deca

Show Prices
#60 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Deca
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Deca
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,276: English reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a great city-location hotel. Even though it had hardly any of the amenities we usually look for (pool, breakfast, fridge and microwave in room), we knew this going in, and so were not disappointed. We did enjoy access to the coffee shop and bar located within the hotel block, and we enjoyed being able to walk to shops,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linds310
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review

Thank you linds310 for the outstanding review. I love that you considered us “charming”. I also think it is fantastic that you took the time to review the hotel so that you knew what you had reserved. So many guests do not take advantage of our incredible website. Our website is full of so many wonderful pictures, neighborhood facts, and...

Tigard, Oregon
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We rented out two floors for the New Years show that was across the street. "Neptune Theater".The rooms were cool and upto date, with a unique flair. The beds are SUPER comfy with lots of Fluffy pillows. The staff tolerated us....LOL...it was New Years...LOL. It's close to Great food just a short walk away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uncleherb
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review

Hello Uncleherb, Thank you for your review. It seems like it has been a while since you stayed with us so I guess you need to come back very, very soon. We would love to see you again. Oh and by the way, we would love to “tolerate” you again. It would be our pleasure..  Best Wishes, Jonathan Bartlett...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel is incredibly overpriced and the service is horrible. You literally have to call and ask them to clean your room and bring fresh towels. For the price, you'd think they could afford actual toilet paper and a fan in the bathroom. I would NOT recommend this hotel if you would like to enjoy your stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SeaCle
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review

Dear SeaCle, Please accept my sincerest apologies about your experience at the hotel. I assure you we are not used to receiving reviews like yours and will make every attempt to correct these issues. While we love to read all of the positive reviews we take the few negative reviews very seriously and use them as a tool to learn...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Its ok, Not the Best but could have been worse. I have NEVER spent this much on a hotel in my life, My room was small No exhaust vent in bathroom, Keycard was a pain to get working in elevator....Maybe I just expected to much for what I was spending.... :( However the Staff was great

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RonE52024
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review

Dear RonE52024, Thank you for your review. I am so sorry that we did not create the experience you were hoping for. I do appreciate your comments about the staff. The team truly is outstanding and loves to treat our guests to the highest level of comfort and care. Also, we are already working on solutions for the two issues...

Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The reviewer that referred to the Hotel Deca as a "hidden gem" nailed it. The art deco theme of the hotel works. The District Lounge's funkiness, it's in the basement, is a plus. The room views are spectacular. The sites of Seattle are easily accessible from the Hotel Deca by walking, shuttle or bus. The staff is courteous and pleasant....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phil M
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review

Thank you Phil M for your review. I love your title “Hidden Gem”. It really made our day to read your review. We look forward to your next trip to the hotel. Best Wishes, Jonathan Bartlett General Manager

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stay at this hotel every time I come to Seattle, which is a few times a year. The customer service is exceptional, especially the free shuttle. I'd especially like to compliment Kelsey on their staff, who is a thoughtful and courteous driver and front desk assistant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lululeroux
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review

Hello Lulueroux, WOW!!! We are so excited to learn that you had such an enjoyable time. I did share your comments with Kelsey. She was thrilled. She is an amazing ambassador for the hotel and truly cares about our guest’s experience. She is one of the many reasons I think we have the best hotel in the city. Thank you...

Reviewed 22 May 2014

There are not too many choices for a hotel in UW area. We have 2 kids at the University of Washington, and staying at Deca allows us to walk to and from their hosing and meet with them easily. University Village is a great outdoor shopping "mall", with restaurants and nice shops. I wish the hotel had a gym. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dubravka M
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review

Dear Dubravka M, We are so excited that you have chosen Hotel Deca to be your home away from home while you visit your kids at the University of Washington. Thank you for your tip to all of our future guests about the great views on our higher floors. They are the best in the entire city. Also, we do...

New Westminster, Canada
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I loved our view and the location of the hotel. The staff was friendly and I felt comfortable leaving my car parked there overnight. The bed was SUPER comfortable and the pillows were fantastic. Our breakfast experience was really disappointing. The menu was limited and the service was... friendly but scattered. The food was okay. I did like the thick...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zombiemaegan
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review

Hello Zombiemaegan, I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of our wonderful hotel. I will pass on your comments to our restaurant partner. Although we do not operate the restaurant here at the hotel the owner of the restaurant takes all comments extremely seriously and will make the necessary changes. I do hope to see...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Had numerous issues w event we were hosting there. Various front desk personnel were not very helpful at best and severely lacking in customer service department at worst. And to finalize it, despite not having checked out and still being onsite and having been told we could check out at noon- room was processed and turned over without consent prior...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ivsy95
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review

Dear Ivsy95, Thank you for letting me know about the issues that occurred during your visit to the hotel. Clearly there are a number of areas that we fell short so I would love to get a moment to speak with you directly about your experience. This is not the level of service we expect from our team and I...

Davis, California
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stay here alot as it is close to the UW, Fremont/Wallingford area, where my daughter lives. Love the views of the mountain and of Elliott Bay and the Space Needle. Clean and very comfortable beds. Good staff too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wendee S
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review

Dear Wendee S, Thank you for taking a few moments out of your day to write such a wonderful review. We are all so happy you had an enjoyable visit to the hotel and found the room to be comfortable. Hopefully we will see you on many more occasions during your visits to Seattle. We would love to become your...

402 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (208)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (164)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
City Premium, 1 King Bed (30)
Viewed
City Premium, 2 Queen Beds (32)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Studio Single (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University Motel Suites
#73 of 100 in Seattle
70 reviews
Fremont
Staybridge Suites Seattle - Fremont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Since its origin Hotel Deca has remained a fixture among Seattle’s University District hotels serving the needs of leisure and business travelers for 75 years. Our contemporary lobby with its warm fireplace, bold murals, and book strewn mahogany bookcases welcomes everyone as a distinguished guest. Elegantly appointed guest rooms feature boldly patterned textiles, a corner bay window, luxurious down blankets, wireless internet access, and of course every other modern convenience. For guests lucky enough to stay in our Sky level rooms (floors 7 thru 15), the hotel offers some of the best views in all of Seattle of the downtown skyline, the University of Washington campus, the surrounding lakes, or the beautiful mountain vistas. If you are looking for something even more unique, try our Penthouse floor. Featuring three unique suites with their own fireplaces, marble baths, flat-panel televisions, and wrap around outdoor decks, they are the pinnacle of luxury. Located in the heart of Seattle’s University District, the Hotel Deca is situated just two blocks for the University of Washington’s main campus. A brief stroll through our historic neighborhood leads to the discovery of a unique blend of architecture, culture, and outdoor adventure. Whether it is the Burke-Gilman trail where hikers and bikers alike enjoy 27 miles of scenic adventure, the Burke Museum of Natural History, or the many eclectic shops, restaurants, and theatres, there is always something new to discover. We are just 3 miles from downtown Seattle where some of the finest restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and museums in the country enjoy spectacular views of Puget Sound. While in town guests can also enjoy leisurely sunset cruises, Duck tours, golfing, winery tours…the possibilities are endless! Hotel Deca is a 30-minute ride from SEATAC International airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Deca

Address: 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4508 (Formerly Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel)
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Price Range: $214 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Deca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Deca staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Deca staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Southwest corner rooms have the best view.”
middle_aged_mom_12, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't use old blankets as mattress covers. Buy mattress covers.”
528signej, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“clean rooms”
roselundy, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have great views of the city and space needle Also, rooms have huge closet space for familes and group trips”
chides2017, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a high floor so you get a view.”
BridgetJ315, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5