We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White House

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skagway
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for The White House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 113: English reviews
South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2015

We only stayed one night in this beautiful B& B. It has large bedrooms with high ceilings, no A/C but plenty of fans which is in keeping with period of this house. The furnishings are very tasteful and the bathroom was absolutely gleaming it was so clean.the breakfast was very good and the owner was very attentive and sociable. An...

Thank Les P
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

We so very much appreciate your taking the time to post a review. So glad you enjoyed your visit. Warm regards, Jan and John ... "“Too much of a good thing can be wonderful!” ― Mae West."

South Central PA
Reviewed 24 May 2015

Not much to add. Great place. about 10 blocks from the ship docks, so you aren't bothered by the crowds, but it is a bit of a walk to get to the train depot. Now I need to add more characters to satisfy TripAdvisor. Sort of like the White House needs to get a license from the city before they...

2Thank lislian
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review while traveling. How 'bout all that sunshine we ordered up for you ?! The WPYR Train depot is 8 blocks from our place. If the walk is longer than one wants, the city shuttle is available and only $2 per person. Being larger than a traditional B&B, we opted to...

Reviewed 17 October 2014

After several stays at budget hotels while through Alaska, I came to The White House in Skagway - what a delightful surprise! Charming, wonderful hosts and staff, loved the room, good breakfasts, coffee and cookies during the day, great location, interesting guests. I spent 3 nights there and loved my entire stay in Skagway. I doubt I'll be doing this...

2Thank Anna S
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

Sounds like you had an amazing trip through Southeast Alaska. Thanks for making us a part of it. Kind regards, Jan and John Tronrud. "One can pay back the loan of gold, but one dies forever in debt to those who are kind. ~Malayan Proverb"

Whitehorse, Canada
Reviewed 4 October 2014

Our flight to Juneau was cancelled, and we needed a place to stay to catch the first morning flight. The White House was open and had a room. While checking in, we were invited to sample the host's freshly baked cookies, which kind of set the tone wonderfully! Our room had a great view of the cloudy mountains by the...

1Thank Geoff W
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

Hope to see you again and next time the treats won't be unexpected. Kind regards, Jan and John Tronrud "Gratitude is the memory of the heart. ~Jean Baptiste Massieu, translated from French."

Wasington State
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at The White House two nights--one before and after doing the Chilkoot Trail. The location is perfect because it's away from the crazy crush of cruise ship humanity in Downtown but still an easy walk to there if you want to shop or go to restaurants. The staff and owners were super helpful and accommodating--fantastic service! Our King...

1Thank outdoorjunkies
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

“...no matter how avid they themselves may be for praise and appreciation, people are often niggardly in giving it to others, however merited it is.” ― Eleanor Roosevelt, You Learn by Living: Eleven Keys for a More Fulfilling Life. Thank you for your kind words. So glad you enjoyed your visit. Safe travels. John and Jan Tronrud

Fernie, BC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our first impression of this hotel was good. Lovely looking from the outside; main floor was nicely decorated with interesting antiques and quiet places to sit and read. The diningroom had complimentary tea and cookies. The staff were very friendly and helpful. However our room was a real disappointment. It was spacious but sterile, uninspiring and almost institution like....stark white...

Thank Janice K
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

“Just because it isn't perfect, doesn't mean it isn't awesome.” ― M.R. Mathias, The Sword and the Dragon. I am pleased to hear we succeeded with a good first impression. Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your particular room. So often that is the case when one has to book something more than they were looking for. The furnishings...

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Before I arrived, I had anticipated that The White House would be a conventional B&B, but in actual fact it is more truly a small hotel, as the owners do not live on the premises and it has rather more bedrooms than most B&Bs. Skagway is a small town and the hotel is only a short distance from the main...

1Thank G7443
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

“Too much of a good thing can be wonderful!” ― Mae West. Thank you for your detailed and well defined review of our place. The ladies running the place in my absence are very thoughtful and detail minded and we are very lucky to have them working with us. We do live on site, in the refurbished army barracks, right...

Spring Lake, Michigan
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I came in on the Alaskan Ferry System to spend two nights and three days. What a treat the White House B&B turned out to be for us. A 1908 house with real character and great people running the B&B. Our room was on the second floor and very very quiet as well as clean and furnished...

2Thank randy f
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

“In ordinary life we hardly realize that we receive a great deal more than we give, and that it is only with gratitude that life becomes rich.” ― Dietrich Bonhoeffer Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay. Looks like you had a fine visit to our little paradise. Safe travels randy F.

Westfield, New York
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was just a really great place to stay in Skagway! The building was restored in 1990, after the 1977 fire had caused considerable damage. They were able to bring it back to it's earlier luster. The rooms each have private baths and have nice touches like handmade quilts and wall hangings. Breakfast was fun, we met other patrons from...

Thank RLM2014
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

“Gratitude is not only the greatest of virtues, but the parent of all others.” ― Marcus Tullius Cicero Thank you for the nice write up. I will make sure that Kate, Chelsey and Alex see it as well. We have three fantastic ladies working with John this summer At the White House and we are ever grateful for their attention...

Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a very comfortable two nights here. We had room 101 on the ground floor which was huge. It is within easy walking distance of the centre of Skagway. The town is lovely when there are no cruise ships in! The breakfasts were OK and the homemade muffins excellent. It was a shame that there was no fresh fruit,...

Thank stonellas
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay. We do actually serve fresh fruit as well as canned - apples or oranges. Sorry you missed them. Hope you enjoyed your time in Alaska, I understand there are a number of similarities to NZ. Safe travels. “We must find time to stop and thank the people who make a...

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (13)
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (11)
Bathroom (1)
Room/Suite (3)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skagway
0.5 km away
Westmark Inn Skagway
Westmark Inn Skagway
#2 of 2 in Skagway
192 reviews
26.8 km away
Halsingland Hotel
Halsingland Hotel
#2 of 4 in Haines
115 reviews
26.5 km away
Beach Roadhouse
Beach Roadhouse
#1 of 4 in Haines
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.0 km away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
25.8 km away
Captain's Choice Motel
0.2 km away
Historic Skagway Inn
Historic Skagway Inn
#4 of 5 in Skagway
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A comfy little inn, bringing together modern conveniences and Skagway history, for a restful night's sleep. Rooms vary in size, but they all feature cable TV, handcrafted quilts, wireless Internet, mini refrigerators, screened windows and ceiling fans. The Continental breakfast has lots of choices. Warm, welcoming, and open year round. Afternoon tea and the cookie jar are always a treat. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White House

Address: Eighth & Main Sts, PO Box 41, Skagway, AK 99840-0041
Region: United States > Alaska > Skagway
Price Range: $101 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The White House Skagway, Alaska
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Skagway, Alaska

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The White House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room upstairs facing town. The cruise ships coming into the harbor would be fun to watch.”
Mary_the_tourist, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I've stayed both downstairs and upstairs, both are very nice.”
941kellym, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms are on the 2nd floor, so they may be quieter. Stairs only, no elevator. There are 2 rooms, I believe on the main floor.”
RobbyRose, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“going to Skagway and need a place to sleep ---this is a must”
delfordb, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“Just stay here. you won't be dissapointed.”
December2043, 6 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5