We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kona Reef Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
Panoramas (23)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

536 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kona Reef Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 497: English reviews
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Reviewed 25 September 2012

You can't beat the location of this resort, and it seems to be well-managed, nicely landscaped and clean. We stayed a week in A27, a privately owned and managed unit overlooking the surf. We booked through HomeAway, and it was our first time renting from a private party, but it was a flawless experience. The unit was updated, well-appointed and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tropic_Travelers_12
Eagle Mountain, Utah
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Fabulous location. ON the water. Sea Turtles coming up to say hello. Whale Watching while eating breakfast on the lanai. Walking into town and through the shops. We stayed for a week in February and will come back again. My kids spent hours and hours in the pool and playing at the beach next door. The staff was extremely helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sam L
Evansville, Indiana
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We absolutely loved this place. In the morning we would eat breakfast on the lanai and watch the surfers. We were in unit B224 and we could of not asked for anything more in the unit. The pool, hot tub, and barbecue area was always clean and well taken care of. We will return only for a longer stay there....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BillandTerriS
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We just got back from a wonderful 2 week visit to Kona, we stayed at the Kona Reef condo number 25D and it was perfect, not only was the owner wonderful to deal with but the condo which was ocean front was very nicely decorated, very clean, and had all what you needed for a comfortable stay. There were nice...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Robert1159
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Our stay is in unit b5 , a privately owned unit . Nicely dcorated and well equipped with kitchen uticles and beach gear . Parking is not a problem with the majority being covered . Short walk to town , friendly and responsive staff that we have had to deal with . Nicely landscaped and well maintained with an excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank C P
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This condo was all that we needed while in Kona. The one bedroom unit was ground level. With sea right on front door. Condos are the way to go. This one was only 1 mile from Kona town. Easy walking. The only down fall was the mosquitos that you had to fight your way through the back door. I mentioned...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julie B
KonaReefGM, General Manager at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you for your wonderful comments about the Kona Reef and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do are best to ensure that our grounds are maintained and kept, as a means to try and eliminate the tropical pests like the mosquitoes that we have here. We hope that they were not too...

Oxnard, California
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed in B13 beautiful view of the water, staff was very nice. They had a sign on the door as you enter "please remove your shoes", we did and within minutes noticed the bottom of our feet were black. Looks like no one has swept or mopped the floors in a very long time. Everything worked fine in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bndcooper
Johnsburg, Illinois
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Let me just say its a wonderful place no beach swimming but, if you are a smoker and follow there smoking rules expect to pay 260.42 for there cleaning charge. My husband NEVER smoked inside the unit and hardly ever had the sliding door open. Yet when I got home the told me they found cigarette butts and the place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank george6263
KonaReefGM, General Manager at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this review

Aloha, it is a policy of the resort that smoking is prohibited in all guest rooms and room lanais throughout the resort. Guests are advised of the policy upon check-in. You were given a copy of the houserules and were given a map of the smoking area locations. Unfortunately we received a complaint about smoking in your unit and after...

Aurora, Oregon
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We rented unit D-18 for a week and were impressed. It was in a quiet location within walking distance from town with great ocean view. We loved having two bedrooms with separate bathrooms. There was only one air conditioner (at the front of the unit), and it was far from the master bedroom at the back of the unit. Everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve-h132
KonaReefGM, General Manager at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor, but Castle Hotels & Resorts does not manage the unit that you were staying in at the Kona Reef. My suggestion would be to contact the owner and find out where you can post your comments. Mahalo!

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We had never been to the big island so this was a new experience all the way around. We wanted to take our extended family so we were able to exchange our timeshare weeks for four 1-bedroom condo's at this resort through RCI. Although we were spread out through the resort, it still worked out well. We arrived late in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank phillynda
KonaReefGM, General Manager at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor, but Castle Resorts & Hotels does not manage the unit that you were staying in at the Kona Reef. Thank you!

528 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (292)
Viewed
View from Room (71)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (83)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (189)
Viewed
BBQ Area (6)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Oceanfront Condo Unit (52)
Viewed
Oceanview Condo Unit (56)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.6 km away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.5 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,705 reviews
8.3 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
7.0 km away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kona Reef is an oceanfront condominium resort adjacent to a sandy beach park in historic Kailua-Kona and near quaint shops and restaurants. One- and two-bedroom suites offer full-kitchens, FREE WiFi, and ocean or garden views. Amenities include an oceanfront swimming pool, jet spa, and a cabana with barbecue area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kona Reef Resort

Address: 75-5888 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1312
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $197 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Kona Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kona Reef Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Reef Kailua
Kona Reef Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kona Reef Resort staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Kona Reef Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles LeonP703, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We liked buildings A and D the best, there are four floors in each building with 7 and 8 units on the floor in each building.”
 of 5 bubbles 2mchfn, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ocean View units on ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles Onlinezombie, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“1 bedroom unit - A-5”
 of 5 bubbles NorthDakotaBound, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“E-22 is the best I've stayed in... Clean, fresh, bright and cheery!”
 of 5 bubbles Kelwelles, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5