We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Courtyard King Kamehameha\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,674 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,264: English reviews
Omaha
Reviewed 2 February 2014

In the heart of Kona. Pick this property because of it's location. It's any easy walk to restaurants (including fast food) and shopping. So...if your counting your pennies, you can eat on the "cheap". This is NOT a resort in the sense of a large pool and expansive beach. A smallish pool and a small beach set back in a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tivmamtv
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your review of the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We sincerely appreciate that you have provided both the positives of your stay and those aspects that you were not as enthusiastic about. All guest feedback is valued and we appreciate every comment as It allows us to continuously improve the experience for future guests. We...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Rooms are the usual Courtyard standards, though on the small side. Clean and comfortale with a mini-fridge, coffee maker and balcony. We enjoyed how close the hotel was to shops and dining and to the South Kona Coast. The pool area was serene. There is a tiny beach with good snorkling at this property. Just don't swim behind King Kamehameha's...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank JBR888
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you very much for your great review of your recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We’re delighted to hear that you had a very pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our friendly service as well as our amenities and our convenient location. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we...

Fairbanks, Alaska
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Rooms are very clean and comfortable. The hotel is right on the beach. We didn't always get towels and coffee replaced but the front desk had what we needed. They made a big deal about smoking in the rooms with a $250 fine if you smoke in room or balcony. We stayed here at the beginning and end of our...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MossGlen
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, We appreciate your review and comments about your recent stay. All guest feedback is taken seriously and we will certainly share yours with our management team. We are truly sorry that your recent experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations but thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Mahalo

Reviewed 28 January 2014

The hotel is conveniently located in downtown and is walking distance to many restaurants and other activities however this is not a resort. If you looking to be in the middle of things and don't mind overlooking a car dealership this is a great place. Beyond the view (or lack there of) the pool was full of kids and there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jhitch46
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, We appreciate and value all guest feedback and would like to thank you for taking the time and posting your comments on your recent stay. Although we were happy to learn that you enjoyed several aspects of your stay we do sincerely regret that your accommodations were not as you had hoped in terms of the view, we do...

DC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Great setting. A Marriott - all what would be expected there with an occasional lapses. Plumbing had to be fixed after complaining about bathtub not training properly. Housekeeping forgot to replenish bathroom needs and had to be prompted. Nice bar/pool area. Nice beach. Nice grounds along beach for walking, running.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank atikkan
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, We appreciate and value all guest feedback and would like to thank you for sharing your valuable perspective with us. We are truly sorry that there were a few concerns that arose at the time of your stay but we are glad that your overall visit was enjoyable. We hope that we can welcome you back soon. Mahalo

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The King Kamehameha Hotel is located near many good restaurants and interesting sights. Our room overlooked the harbor and an historic monument. The staff was very helpful. Our luggage was routed to Hilo. When it finally got to the hotel, we were not there. As per request, the staff moved the luggage into our room. We appreciated that the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Edam231
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy to learn that how much you enjoyed your stay as well as your dining experience at our Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille. Your kind remarks for our hotel and staff are greatly appreciated and we hope that we can welcome you back again soon. Mahalo

Cranbury, New Jersey
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Location is walkable to almost all the restaurants and to the shopping center. The beach is clean and without the big waves - make it relaxing to just swim and do lapses. I am a Marriott Gold Member and was disappointed this Courtyard does not have the 'aura' of Marriott. We have the view of the rooftop, but could see...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank emmadeguzman
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience. We appreciate your loyalty as a Marriott Gold Rewards Member. Although you have expressed an appreciation for our convenient location it is definitely disappointing to learn that we did not fully impress you. We are sorry that you stay was not as you had expected in terms of the view...

colorado
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Right in the heart of the town, on pier with small beach, lots of activity going on all the time. Little noisy, dated, but they seem to be really trying to make this a wonderful stay for you and your family. Very kid friendly, nice pool, amenities abound, lots of food choices and easy walk. It is a good get...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lostcolorado
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you very much for your great review of your recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We’re delighted to hear that you had a very pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our friendly service as well as our amenities and our convenient location. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we...

Adinkerke, Belgium
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We booked this hotel for its location having a late arrival with our flight. A shuttle bus, that we booked ahead, was ready at the airport and took us in a 10 min. drive to the hotel. Only 1 employee was available for check in and there was a lot of people checking in at that time (10:30 PM). All...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PDA68
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We greatly appreciate that you have taken the time to express your impressions with us. We are so pleased to learn that you had a very nice time while staying with us and that our location was convenient for you. All of...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We booked this trip / hotel without knowing much about the Big Island. But I must say, we picked the perfect hotel. Kailua-Kona is the right part of the island to stay at, and King Kam Hotel is perfectly located in Kona. Pro - * Great location - walking distance to beaches, local restaurants, brewery, grocery stores as well as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stellaaaaaaa1229
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I do agree that we offer the best value for the best location in Kona. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Mahalo

1,574 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1355)
Viewed
View from Room (142)
Viewed
Room/Suite (217)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (328)
Viewed
Bathroom (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (152)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Other (390)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (219)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (54)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.2 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,063 reviews
43.6 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
1.2 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,635 reviews
20.9 km away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel and restaurants newly renovated in 2011. All 452 rooms have been upgraded which feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen television and complimentary in-room safe. You’ll experience a brand new hotel from the moment you step into the new lobby. You’ll also find completely renovated corridors, business center, meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool and a 24-hour complimentary guest fitness center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-3612
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $270 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
59 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (59)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our partial view ocean room was so partial I wouldn't bother paying for partial again next time.”
 of 5 bubbles mestiza91, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ocean view was good”
 of 5 bubbles V2790UBchristiner, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ocean view was worth the upgrade.”
 of 5 bubbles AlyxisPaige, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the elevators. Ocean view is overlooking parking lot and tennis court.”
 of 5 bubbles DanielG847, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Views and Location!”
 of 5 bubbles PepperGracie, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay