We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Hale Maluhia Country Inn

    76-770 Hualalai Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-9776
    Hotel website
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    04/06/2017 05/06/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveller (116)
          Room & Suite (33)
          Dining (24)
          Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
          390 reviews
          #2 of 14 hotels in Kailua-Kona
           
          Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
          2,858 reviews
          #4 of 14 hotels in Kailua-Kona
           
          Ohi'a Park Estate
          161 reviews
          #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
           
          Big Island Retreat
          164 reviews
          #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
           
          Overview
          • Excellent54%
          • Very good22%
          • Average10%
          • Poor6%
          • Terrible4%
          Travellers talk about
          Free Wifi
          Free Parking
          Breakfast included
          Non-Smoking Hotel
          Suites
          Kitchenette
          Wheelchair Access
          Pool
          All hotel details
          Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
          390 reviews
          #2 of 14 hotels in Kailua-Kona
           
          Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
          2,858 reviews
          #4 of 14 hotels in Kailua-Kona
           
          Ohi'a Park Estate
          161 reviews
          #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
           
          Big Island Retreat
          164 reviews
          #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
           
          {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
          Write a Review
          Reviews (296)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language

          141 - 145 of 296 reviews

          Reviewed 27 January 2013

          The bait and switch was nice. The ground, kitchen, and common area were cute. But after being led to my room. My jaw dropped. I may has well set my tent up in the yard. Giant dead bug on the only shelf to put my...More

          3  Thank colt c
          Response from KonaPilgrim, Owner at Hale Maluhia Country Inn

          Aloha Gypsum, Thanks for the kick in the butt. From your January stay we have now found two professional housekeepers. We have fixed the soft spot in the bath floor and replaced the bath floor with marble, We also replace the entry carpet with porcelain...More

          Reviewed 23 January 2013

          The place is old, very charming, but definitely not as clean as the Marriott. It's also very affordable for being a few miles from downtown Kona. The B&B stands on top of a hill with a view on the Ocean (not wide open, but you...More

          1  Thank johnenvacances10
          Reviewed 18 January 2013

          Rooms here are musty, moldy, and tacky 1960's style. The breakfast isn't nearly as grand as the photos would lead you to believe. The promised hot tub was never heated. But the worst part of the place is that multiple chickens and turkeys run around...More

          3  Thank foodfreakSMA
          Response from KonaPilgrim, Owner at Hale Maluhia Country Inn

          Yes, we are a little musty at 70% humidity in the beautiful Kona Coffee Country and we do keep our prices low by not buying new furnishings every year or so. And we don't keep the Hot Tub hot due to the high energy prices...More

          Reviewed 4 January 2013

          We stayed at this B&B for two nights over Christmas and were delighted with our accommodations. We chose the Japanese cottage, which is more expensive than the other rooms but well worth the cost. Breakfast on Christmas morning was elaborate, and Sana delivered some lovely...More

          Thank rjgordon
          Reviewed 6 December 2012

          Who stays in their room on a vacation? This place is perfect for people who get out and go, want a filling, all you can eat breakfast, and don't care about luxurious accommodations. The room was slightly musty smelling, but is in a very humid...More

          3  Thank star152120
          Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
          390 reviews
          #2 of 14 hotels in Kailua-Kona
           
          Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
          2,858 reviews
          #4 of 14 hotels in Kailua-Kona
           
          Ohi'a Park Estate
          161 reviews
          #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
           
          Big Island Retreat
          164 reviews
          #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
           
          About
          Awards & Recognition
          Certificate of Excellence
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Breakfast included
          • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Breakfast included
          • Room amenities
          • Microwave
          Details
          • Price range
          • USD 77 - USD 157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Room types
          • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
          • Family Rooms ,
          • Suites ,
          • Kitchenette
          • Number of rooms
          • 7
          • Location
          • United States >
          • Hawaii >
          • Island of Hawaii >
          • Kailua-Kona
          • Also Known As
          • Hale Maluhia Country Inn (House Of Peace) Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona ,
          • Country Inn Kailua-Kona ,
          • Kailua-Kona Country Inn ,
          • Hale Maluhia Country Inn Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (116)
          Room & Suite (33)
          Dining (24)
          Hotel & Grounds (79)
          Bathroom (2)
          Nearby
          Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
          390 reviews
          3.97 km away
           
          Sea Village Resort
          230 reviews
          2.91 km away
           
          Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
          751 reviews
          2.82 km away
           
          Royal Kona Resort
          2,804 reviews
          3.53 km away
           
          Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
          474 reviews
          4.03 km away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          Holuakoa Cafe & Gardens
          583 reviews
          .99 km away
          TJ'S BBQ By The Beach
          609 reviews
          2.56 km away
          Da Poke Shack
          1,598 reviews
          2.54 km away
          Mi Taqeria Potosina
          14 reviews
          2.80 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Holualoa Gallery
          9 reviews
          1.05 km away
          Holualoa Village
          158 reviews
          1.18 km away
          Sadie Seymour Botanical Gardens
          17 reviews
          1.40 km away
          Kona Blue Sky Coffee
          26 reviews
          1.50 km away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          Bobb L
          It has been a long time since I stayed there but the owner/operator is pretty true to his words. He tries hard in a tough environment (natural) to keep it "clean". Nope, it will likely never be like the Resorts at Kukio, etc. I have stayed in both. You get where ya go. This spot is not for all, so be careful and considerate if you do go. As has been said, there is a lot of aloha here so go with the flow. Enjoy it so.
          11 November 2015|
          What is your answer?
          Posting guidelines
          Submit
          Room Tips
          "Just be aware that there are lots of frogs at night."
          Read review
          "Noisy from rats eating termites."
          Read review
          "The Maile room is a good budget option for guests who aren't fussy."
          Read review
          "Decide your amenities, not all rooms have them"
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing