We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Custer's Gulch RV Park

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 94: English reviews
Start your review of Custer's Gulch RV Park
 Click to rate
Champlin, Minnesota
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We were traveling with a caravan of four rigs. Management would not let us reserve specific sites so that we could be together. When adjacent sites opened up, they would not allow anyone to move to a different site. Some sites are great; other sites are terrible. Management was not friendly. We would try other RV campgrounds in the area...

4Thank MnBlueSkies
Fox River Grove
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Had a enjoyable time camping with all the amenities. Spacious with attentive details. We also took advantage of the ATV rentals that was very enjoyable. Will definitely come back. Location is perfect.

2Thank Betty O
South Range, Wisconsin
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Here is the letter I sent to the campground owner, Elaine: Dear Elaine: My wife and I were guests at your RV Park at the end of September 2016. The campground was in excellent condition. We had a very nice visit for five days. Our entire party of 5 camping units was delighted with every aspect of our visit. The...

3Thank Ric L
Cary, Illinois
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We have camped her three times and each time has been a great experience! The campground is located right next to the national forest and a very short drive or walk to the entrance to Custer State Park. All the attractions of the area are within a short drive. We tent camped here our first time and it was dark...

2Thank toomanypets5
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Beautiful situation just east of the town of Custer. Very close to the Crazy Horse Memorial (absolute must see), Mount Rushmore, Wind Cave National Park and others. Sites are well spaced and good hard packed gravel. #s 60, 61 and 62 are very private pullthroughs, all the others are (easy) back ins. Facilities are a little limited (not cable TV,...

1Thank Adrian K
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

We made reservations a year in advance for the Buffalo Round-up by calling the Chamber of Commerce. We paid in advance for two sites for us and our friends. When we checked in, the office personnel was rude when we told them we didn't know that they were a Good SAMs RV Park. She said, "You should have asked on...

5Thank 787,233
Vian, Oklahoma
Reviewed 28 September 2016

BEWARE... made a RV site reservation on June 5, 2016. On June 24, 2016 my husband was hospitalized and his cardiologist advised against travel. I called Custer's Gulch owner in late June to cancel. She was unsympathetic about our medical situation and instead of charging me $30 for one night stay per her website's cancellation policy or "working with me"...

2Thank FergusonLake
general1874, Owner at Custer's Gulch RV Park, responded to this review

The website has a disclaimer stating our policies can be changed at any time without notice. The customer booked a reservation during the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally and was aware that the entire amount of the reservation was due at booking and the amount was non refundable which is our normal policy during the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally. The policy is made...

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Easy to park big rigs. Excellent sites. Pretty park. Nice laundry room. Good satellite reception. We called on day of arriving and had no problems getting a site. Took us a little longer than we thought to get get there due to site seeing in Badlands. They called to check on us to make sure we were not lost. Great...

Thank Tina T
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

We just spent 5 nights in our RV in this park. It's a beautiful park, just minutes from Custer State Park and Crazy Horse and only 3 miles from the town of Custer. The sites are large and all back up to the woods. The laundry has 2 washers and 2 dryers. You can rent ATV' s on the premises.

Thank Naomi K
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Reviewed 5 September 2016

spent 3 nights in camp ground could not have asked for better set up very clean easy in and out very well organized loved everything about it. The owners always busy on grounds but very helpful and hands on excellent wifi

Thank worldarmo

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (7)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
6.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
6.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
11.8 km away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
Horse Thief Campground
Horse Thief Campground
#1 of 12 in Hill City
223 reviews
5.7 km away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.8 km away
Calamity Peak Lodge
Calamity Peak Lodge
#11 of 17 in Custer
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )

Additional Information about Custer's Gulch RV Park

Address: 12611 US Highway 16a, Custer, SD 57730-8350
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Number of rooms: 62
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Custer's Gulch RV Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sites are assigned by the Staff. We were not given a choice.”
MnBlueSkies, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All the sites are nice, but we always ask for one backing up to the national forest.”
  • Here is our campsite :)
toomanypets5, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Do NOT prepay for your reservation”
lori324, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I would not advise camping here at all.....unless you are perfect.”
kendrac258, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The sites up the hill seem to have more privacy than the ones around the pond.”
KaliCA, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5