We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bienville House

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Bienville House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,618 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bienville House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,541: English reviews
Lake Mills, Wisconsin
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Stayed here for a long weekend recently. The lobby, courtyard and commons area were kept very clean and were very inviting. Our room was very comfortable and quite spacious. My one complaint- the hallway on our floor had the most stale, musty odor that seemed very odd since we didn't smell it anywhere else. We just decided to chalk it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Johnny S
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

Johnny, thank you so much for your great review of Bienville House. We strive to provide guests with personal attention, and are glad that you found our services (and cafe au lait) exceptional. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable space to stay while visiting New Orleans. We...

Alabama
Reviewed 8 February 2016

We stayed here on our honeymoon and we returned for our 25th anniversary. The hotel is still a lovely little place to stay. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the French Quarter location is close to everything. Just as we had done twenty-five years earlier, we parked the car and walked everywhere.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amie259
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

Amie, what an amazing way to celebrate your anniversary! We are so pleased that we were able to host both of your special occasions, and that our services have stayed exemplary throughout the years. We look forward to hosting you for many more anniversaries to come!

decajun45
Reviewed 4 February 2016

We stayed here when we went to New Orleans for a Mardi Gras parade. From the time we arrived to the time we left we were treated with care and friendliness from the staff. We took our small dog with us and all through the day, we were all greeted by everyone. The room was clean and we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank orleans4577
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on our luxurious services! It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to hosting you during your next visit to New Orleans!

Nashville, United States
Reviewed 2 February 2016

This hotel is in the perfect location and the staff is the best! Been visiting here for 10 years and always treated like family. Thank you to Beverly, Adrience, Cynthia, and Lucius for making our stay(s) a good one! Looking forward to next time.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathleen B
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

Kathleen, thank you so much for your wonderful review of Bienville House. We take pride in our amazing staff who strive to make our guests feel like family, and are thrilled that you were able to experience it. We look forward to hosting your next visit to New Orleans!

Los Angeles, United States
Reviewed 1 February 2016

Very expensive parking around 40.00 day with all the taxes so a 179.00 room will cost about 250.00 with taxes and parking. Would not recommend or return. Also it is across the street from a busy fire station. Breakfast is more along the lines or budget hotels/motels.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris S
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Bienville House. I am truly sorry that you did not receive the kind of service we are capable of providing and which you deserve. I hope you reconsider your impression of Bienville House and allow us another opportunity to provide you the type of...

Midland, mi
Reviewed 1 February 2016 via mobile

We went for the first time with my family and we had a pretty disappointing experience. Room without window, staff sleeping in a room close to us and making a lot of noise at 6am to go working. Some good things: location, pool and breakfast included. But overall not a good hotel for a family.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Grenoblemi
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and the Bienville House. I am truly sorry that you did not receive the kind of service we are capable of providing and which you deserve. Your comments have been brought to the attention of our Management however, regarding windows in rooms, we ask our...

Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

This adorable hotel is perfect for a fast get away or longer stay. Darling rooms, great location, and great price. Staci is the BEST! She's your first contact at check in. She gets to know you, asks specifics about your day, and completely takes care of you. Amazing detail to personal attention. You won't go wrong with this darling hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KellyB73
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Bienville House! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!

Sammamish, United States
Reviewed 31 January 2016

I was horrified to learn that my adult daughter was kicked out of our room almost 3 hours early after I left for the airport. She was distraught and I asked them to get her medical attention and instead they had the police help them escort her from the room and sent her on her way. These people are HEARTLESS...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bonnie D
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear about this. Please private message us on TripAdvisor with more information, so that we may look further into the situation.

Avon, Indiana
Reviewed 30 January 2016

A very pleasant surprise. Nice hotel with professional staff. Central to the French Quarter and easy access around town via taxi, trolley or bus. Easy walk all over the French Quarter. Souvenir shops and CANDY (praline and chocolate). Be sure to stop by the National Park Service Tourist Office down the street.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rick B
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us in January. We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay at the Bienville House!

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 28 January 2016

A very friendly staff. A laid back and comfortable old fashion setting room. A central area that walking around the french quarters. Our trip was too short but we made the most of it and loads of fun on Bourbon Street and city tours. Everyone in the area was willing to help you find your way around the city. Can't...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krichards90
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review! We look forward to having you back at the Bienville House soon!

664 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (377)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (101)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (135)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (272)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
King Deluxe Room (36)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (92)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Sun Deck Room - Two Double Beds (38)
Viewed
Superior King Salon Room (30)
Viewed
Superior Room - Two Double Beds (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 162 in New Orleans
1,228 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#37 of 162 in New Orleans
2,234 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4,386 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
608 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in French Quarter

Neighbourhood Profile
French Quarter
A small and teeming network of laissez-faire living lounged out on the balmy banks of the Mighty Mississippi, the French Quarter has long been a port of call for folks in search of a good time and a great story. Perpetually inebriated Bourbon Street runs across its midriff like a strand of cheap ribbon tied around an otherwise rather pretty and impressively well-kept vintage dress. Throughout the rest of the Quarter, brightly colored Victorian homes and businesses, famously done up with wrought-iron features, provide a distinct and immediately recognizable backdrop for all varieties of fun. At any given moment in this historic riverside setting, some of America’s finest meals are being cooked, most potent cocktails are being mixed, and most engaging music is being performed.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bienville House

Address: 320 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1082
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Price Range: $186 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bienville House staff and other travellers.
40 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (40)

Questions? Get answers from Bienville House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get a room with a balcony - don't get one that doesn't have windows be sure to check before booking.”
HelenTrueblue, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms have windows”
Fredotty, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room with a balcony”
jayzee42, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Enjoyed our "Sun" room - good sized and direct access to courtyard with outdoor tables and chairs.”
wkentf, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a room with a window if possible.”
RoadT448, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates