We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Royal

Show Prices
#104 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

441 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 409: English reviews
Palestine, Texas
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I just can't say enough of the excellent service given by the kind and considerate staff of this hotel! I have a serious and debilitating disease, and the kind staff went above and beyond the call of duty to help me, and see to my comfort! I highly recommend this establishment!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacifus
Chesterton, Indiana
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We arrived and parking was full - no problem, expected that. Directed to a lot several blocks away and paid $54 for 24 hrs. Walked up 4 flights of stairs to our room and found that it had not been renovated as advertised online. All of the photos you see online are NOT what our room was like. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KellyH37006
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear KellyH37006, thank you for your feedback. We apologize that your stay with us failed to meet expectations. While it's true that the historic nature of our property means that we have stairs instead of an elevator, the Agent you spoke with should have phrased that much better. As for the parking, nowhere does it say that it is "provided,"...

Corolla, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

I wasn't too sure about how the hotel would turn out but we took a chance and booked the room. It was perfect for our stay. Very clean with a beautiful courtyard area. The room was small but we weren't looking for anything big and glamorous. There are no elevators so keep that in mind if you have restricted mobility....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Laura M
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Laura M, thank you for your feedback. Your kind words were a pleasure to read. Yes, this hotel offers the "French Quarter Experience" of three floors of wooden stairs overlooking a beautiful courtyard; which is part of it's charm but certainly a drawback to one with mobility issues. Our staff prides itself on it's service so we are happy...

Akron, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed a total of 6 days at Hotel Royal, and we held our small wedding in the beautiful and quaint courtyard. It couldn't have been a more perfect stay! We had booked a total of 6 rooms for ourselves and our guests. While every room was slightly different and had its own quirks, all of our guests were happy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John V
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear John V, thank you for your feedback. Your words were a delight to read. I couldn't be happier that everything went well for you and your guests on your big day. We certainly cannot wait to have you both back! Regards,

Reviewed 1 week ago

When looking for a hotel in the French Quarter I used TripAdvisor. As I selected the hotel another site pop up appeared for Hotels.com, giving the impression that it was the next step in the reservation process. I picked the hotel through them and paid using my American Express card. I received a confirmation shortly after via email. All this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William K
Trisha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear William K, Thank you for your feedback. It is with great pleasure to hear that our staff was so helpful and accommodating. Though the hotel was not what you expected, I hope that we have made a big enough impression that you will consider visiting us again on your next trip to New Orleans! Kind Regards

Meridian, Mississippi
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Let me start by saying I really wanted to like this place. I often stay across the street at a private condo and love this location in the quarter. It is away from the crowds and within easy walking distance of anything in the Quarter. It just wasn’t to be. It seems this place has an identity crisis …. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ReadytoTravel51
Trisha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Readytotravel51, Thank you for your feedback. It is with great disappointment to hear that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. The Hotel Royal is a very old historic hotel. We work hard to keep up with the property and make sure that everything is running smoothly. Unfortunately, due to the age and structure of the building we...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can't stress highly enough how amazingly courteous and friendly the staff were - they were LOVELY :-) Southern hospitality at its very best. Also the location is very good - right in the middle of all the galleries and 5 minute walk to Bouron St.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frank R
Trisha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Frank R, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff was so accommodating. Thank you for your feedback. Please visit us again on your next trip to New Orleans! Kind Regards

Greer, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Okay I have a couple of issues with hotels that charge over $300 night and then want you to pay to park on their property. I just think that is in poor taste all around, Matters little what day it is, when you have that area set aside yet require your guests to pay up to $40 day for it,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank madbeacher2009
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear madbeacher2009, thank you for your feedback. As we have 43 rooms and only seven parking spaces, it would be bad service for us to include the parking fee in the room rate as not everyone is lucky enough to get a spot. However, the situation with your A/C should most certainly have been handled better, the bellman should have...

Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a small boutique motel. Like most of the buildings in the French Quarter it is a very old building with great history but some less than desirable qualities. Pros: Fabulous location! 1 block from Bourbon St. Couple of blocks from Jackson square and a little longer walk to Canal St but you don't realize it because there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swampyankee64
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear swampyankee64, thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to read that you found our staff pleasant and helpful and enjoyed our location. It is true that due to the location and age of the property it does come with those quirks which for some are intolerable but for others are charming so it really depends on an individual's...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed in many locations in New Orleans in the French Quarter. The rooms are small, very poorly appointed and WAY overrpriced. Total rip off. I don't cry easily but I cried today. Waste of money. Wish I had booked at the Bourbon Orleans.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julie G
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Julie G, thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay was disappointing. If you don't mind giving me more information so we may better serve you in the future. Regards,

319 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (178)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Deluxe Balcony Room (31)
Viewed
Royal Balcony Suite (36)
Viewed
Royal Superior Room (28)
Viewed
Royal Superior Room with Jacuzzi Tub (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#114 of 162 in New Orleans
698 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Helene
Hotel St. Helene
#122 of 162 in New Orleans
263 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#44 of 162 in New Orleans
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#93 of 162 in New Orleans
439 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#13 of 162 in New Orleans
1,082 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in French Quarter

Neighbourhood Profile
French Quarter
A small and teeming network of laissez-faire living lounged out on the balmy banks of the Mighty Mississippi, the French Quarter has long been a port of call for folks in search of a good time and a great story. Perpetually inebriated Bourbon Street runs across its midriff like a strand of cheap ribbon tied around an otherwise rather pretty and impressively well-kept vintage dress. Throughout the rest of the Quarter, brightly colored Victorian homes and businesses, famously done up with wrought-iron features, provide a distinct and immediately recognizable backdrop for all varieties of fun. At any given moment in this historic riverside setting, some of America’s finest meals are being cooked, most potent cocktails are being mixed, and most engaging music is being performed.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Royal has completed 100% renovations of all sleeping rooms and suites as of September 2011. We are also currently under new management and working diligently to correct all challenges faced in the past. Our new staff is here to serve you and ensure that your stay with the Hotel Royal is a wonderful experience! Located in the heart of the French Quarter on the corner of Royal St. and St. Phillips, Hotel Royal is the perfect location for leisure and business travelers alike. All 42 contemporary rooms and suites are surrounded by brick walls, high ceilings, fan windows and comfortable furnishings in the antebellum style. Accommodations range from courtyard rooms to large balcony suites with Jacuzzi, complete with private bath and wet bar. All guest rooms feature:-300 thread-count linens & duvet covers-Welcome Amenities upon arrival-All-marble bathrooms with spa tub or shower/tub combo-Suites with iron-laced balconies-Recessed Lighting -Wi-Fi access-Flat screen LCD TVs-Irons and ironing boards-Individual air conditioner controls-Ipod clock radios ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: 1006 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2704 (Formerly Rue Royal Inn)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Price Range: $138 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Royal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel New Orleans
Royal New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Royal staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Royal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away!”
 of 5 bubbles KellyH37006, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There is a quant inside courtyard with fountain, ask for ground floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles , 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 25, which was beautiful, but right where the staff congregated and the clean linens were. It wasn't a problem since we didn't spend much time in the room, however it was quiet loud in the mornings. If you want to sleep in really late, that room would not be ideal.”
 of 5 bubbles vacaybabe, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Be ready for the stairs!”
 of 5 bubbles mareahc, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Older travelers and others averse to climbing stairs should request a first floor room!”
 of 5 bubbles 488gwynh, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay