We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Prytania Oaks Hotel

About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Prytania Oaks Hotel is an excellent choice for travellers visiting New Orleans, offering a charming environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as French Quarter (2.5 km) and Frenchmen Street (3.3 km), guests of Prytania Oaks Hotel can easily experience some of New Orleans' most well known attractions. As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms include a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a safe. In addition, Prytania Oaks Hotel offers free breakfast, which will help make your New Orleans trip additionally gratifying. Prytania Oaks Hotel makes getting online easy, with free wifi. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests. New Orleans has plenty of Mexican restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Juan's Flying Burrito, Johnny Sanchez, and Juan's Flying Burrito, which are serving up some great dishes. If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out The National WWII Museum (0.7 km), Garden District (0.7 km), or RTA - Streetcars (1.9 km), which are popular attractions amongst tourists, and they are all within walking distance. Enjoy your stay in New Orleans!
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Meeting Rooms
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Microwave
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Residential Neighbourhood
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
96
94
33
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
96
94
33
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden district french quarter high ceilings hardwood floors within easy walking distance charming hotel checking in old world charm bourbon st trolley block cereal cruise
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Our room was very very musty smelling. When we first opened the door it was overwhelming! However, after leaving the door open while we were there and lighting a couple candles, it got better during our stay (four nights), although not great. We spoke with...More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank MichelleandJoe64
Response from Dori S, General Manager at Prytania Oaks HotelResponded 11 October 2018

Dear Guest, I thank you for your review. I appreciate all you had to say and I do recall speaking with you and your husband last Friday evening regarding the mustiness as well as all the foodie options our City has to offer. You even...More

Reviewed 10 October 2018

I made a reservation on Booking.com for this hotel. i had to cancel my trip after few days i d booked! i was lucky my cancellation was free... but it s not well say but the hotel can take a pre-payment for all the nights...More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Julien B
Response from Dori S, General Manager at Prytania Oaks HotelResponded 10 October 2018

Dear Readers. When a guest books via a 3rd party, such as Booking.com, the terms of the reservation are always stated somewhere within their booking site pages. It is the guest responsiblity to read every drop down box, read all "small print" to understand what...More

Reviewed 23 July 2018

The reality vs. the description are two different things. The room was shabby, the curtains were stained and dirty from leaky, moldy windows (if you have allergies or asthma, you are going to be triggered HEAVILY), and there was no excuse for the level of...More

Date of stay: July 2018
1  Thank midnightrose01
Response from Dori S, General Manager at Prytania Oaks HotelResponded 25 July 2018

Dear Guest, I am extremely upset with this review as it clearly shows we failed you miserably. I am so very sorry. To say I am mortified is an understatement. Had I known, this would have been remedied while you were here so you can...More

Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

Spent three out of four nights with no ac temp reaching 90 according to the extremely nice maintenance man Mr Mike. On sight staff exceptional, apologetic and embarrassed about how we were treated by Dori Schumann the General Manager. The first morning after an unbearable...More

Date of stay: May 2018
3  Thank nmickan56
Response from Dori S, General Manager at Prytania Oaks HotelResponded 25 July 2018

Dear Readers, There was much more to this stay than the guest communicated. She did not advise that Entergy, the power company to New Orleans, was experiencing Outages due to the extreme loads so early in the season. The power company was not prepared for...More

Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

I did my research ahead of our vacation and found this charming hotel in the Garden District with parking for an unbeatable price. A lot of people have mentioned it was a little confusing having to check in across the street, but due to researching...More

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank KMB_GA
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ryann i
18 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Versace2016 | Reviewed this property |
You would need to take a taxi from the airport to get to the hotel. I believe it costs about $40. Once you get there you can take the streetcar north and south thru the city.
1
Vote
cortlandma
21 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Dori S | Property representative |
The Prytania Oaks does share a very small parking lot with the adjacent business, however, the main parking lot is 1/2 block away located at The Prytania Park. Which by the way, is where you check in and register.
0
Votes
kennymo
23 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Fred1973 | Reviewed this property |
I'm sure they will. We called before we got there and told them we'd be arriving about 10 a.m. They offered to let us park (for free) and leave our luggage there while we saw the city. Turns out, our rooms were ready, so... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Try for a first-floor room. It's an old place, and the stairs might be a bit much with luggage."
tu2rgirl
25 Oct. 2017
Read review
"we had the Charming Old World room which was a full sized bed and a bathroom. great for two people. but..."
amybL7775QN
23 May 2017
Read review
"Ask for a room upstairs , less dingy."
550adriand
10 Apr. 2017
Read review
"stay on the side of the building away from the street"
F5790RXsteveh
21 Dec. 2016
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
USD 137 - USD 178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaNew OrleansLower Garden DistrictCentral CityCentral City-Garden District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing