We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Royal St Charles Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,071: English reviews
Marrero, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I gave a slumber party for my 16 year old daughter, and it was amazing. the rooms I selected was perfect.. my receptionist Keianna H. WAS very resourceful on the happenings around the area!!! and was an overall joy to book with!!! everything about this hotel screamed new Orleans !!!! We loved our stay and will be recommending you guys!!!!

Helpful?
Thank mrstappslim
Wynnewood
1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just across Canal from the French Quarter puts you near all the action and right next to the streetcar stop for the Garden District. And the lobby smells delicious with the conveniently located coffee shop there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank yeswaydude
Benjamin B, General Manager at Royal St Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear yeswaydude - Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed our authentic New Orleans coffee shop -PJ's and that you had a fun time taking the streetcar into the Garden District - it is so beautiful! We look forward to your return! Ben B. General Manager More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Went to this hotel on 19th November Rooms very small and room was dirty we had to ask for it to be cleaned Reception staff not very welcoming and lady concierge not really happy to help until I complained to duty manager We were supposed to be in Felix room however it was smaller than most rooms I have stayed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Janice P
Benjamin B, General Manager at Royal St Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janice P - Thank you for posting feedback. I think you have reviewed the wrong hotel as we do not have any rooms classified as, or named "Felix." If I am misunderstanding your feedback, please do reach out to us so that we can discuss further and ensure we can take the necessary steps in resolving. Sincerely, Ben B.... More 

Fulshear
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Solid hotel with quiet rooms and great staff located in the heart of the French Quarter. Great value for the money. Well managed property. Warm, friendly staff. Nicely appointed. Would definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 584ranir
Benjamin B, General Manager at Royal St Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you 584ranier for the very complimentary review. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our team is very proud of our hotel and the quality of service we provide - they will be thrilled to read your review. We sincerely appreciate you choosing the Royal St. Charles hotel and hope to see you again soon.... More 

Conyers
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location was exceptional but for the price we paid it was not worth it. Tons of hidden fees that were not included in the quoted reservation price. Front desk staff seemed dismissive to our needs.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank jasmineh810
Benjamin B, General Manager at Royal St Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jasmineh810 - We are happy that you enjoyed our exceptional location but very sorry to hear your impression of the other aspects. We disclose our nightly rate, taxes and amenity fee upon booking via the booking confirmation and ensure that all travel agents disclose as well. I will be speaking with the front desk to understand what transpired to... More 

Fort Lauderdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the very first hotel that we have been required to make our bed. The hotel skipped on almost every one of their services. The Pros were location and the elevators. The Cons were everything else

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank F6383FMcharlesg
Benjamin B, General Manager at Royal St Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear F6383FMcharlesg - We sincerely apologize for the misunderstanding but upon check-in we offered full housekeeping service and the option of opting out and not being disturbed on subsequent days. We had you down as selecting no service, only towel delivery. We apologize for the misunderstanding and would be eager to understand what other portions of your stay were not... More 

San Antonio
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

The place was perfect. The staff was very courteous. The location was also excellent, close enough to the quarter but not close enough to where the noise is disruptive. Would have been nice if PJ's would have been open but I now they were probably closed due to the holiday.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dianamQ6976AN
Benjamin B, General Manager at Royal St Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dianamQ6976AN - Thank you for the outstanding review and for selecting the Royal St. Charles Hotel as your Thanksgiving Layover. We appreciate the business and the team will love to here how much you enjoyed your stay. Take care, Ben B. General Manager More 

Chula Vista
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Only had time for a brief stay. The location was perfect-able to walk all over. The room was perfect, with wonderful amenities. Best night's sleep due to quiet room, hallways. Beautiful furnishings. Wish parking had been available more easily, but that's NOLA for you.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn S
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location but loud patrons. I would not stay here again. The room had little to no sound insulation. I could hear everything in the hallway and I am hard of hearing. Very close to french quarters and garden district.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Neil L
Moscow Mills
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is in one of the best locations of everything, you can walk to almost everyting. It's right around the corner from bourbon & canal. The casino is in walking distance and the shops at canal.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Margaret C

454 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (296)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Balcony Double Suite (38)
Viewed
Balcony King Room (38)
Viewed
Junior Suite (43)
Viewed
King Suite (49)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)
Viewed
Standard King Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#27 of 161 in New Orleans
442 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Compared to the more evocative monikers of some other parts of New Orleans, the downtown’s humdrum title might suggest that this area is all about business and little else. But don’t let the bland name keep you away from the Central Business District. The CBD offers a wide range of fun things to do that would be touted as exceptional in less jubilant corners of the world. Bordered by the French Quarter, the Arts District and Tremé, with the river at its eastern extreme, this hub for sports, gaming, shopping, theatre, family-friendly activities, and amazing regional cuisine makes a smart base wherever your interests lie.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Concierge
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of New Orleans - just 1 block from the world famous French Quarter, 1 block from historic Canal Street, 2 blocks from Harrah's Casino, 6 blocks from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and 8 blocks from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The famous St. Charles Streetcar stops at our front door and leisurely transports visitors to the Garden District and Uptown areas. The hotel completed a total renovation in October 2012. Each of the hotel's 143 guestrooms are newly renovated and feature a sleek design with modern amenities: plush Serta beds, 42" high definition TV's, wi-fi internet, in-room digital safes, in-room coffee makers with New Orleans Roast Coffee, eco-friendly Terra Pure bath products and much more. Additional features of the hotel include a 100% smoke free environment, state-of-the-art fitness center, 2,262 sq. Ft. Of event space, on-site concierge services, valet parking and PJ's Coffee & Cafe. The Royal St. Charles Hotel is a favorite among business and leisure travelers and ready to assist each guest with friendly and attentive New Orleans hospitality. We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay with us on your next visit to New Orleans! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal St Charles Hotel

Address: 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Price Range: $140 - $541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal St Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Royal St Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal St Charles New Orleans
Hotel Royal St Charles
Clarion New Orleans
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#75 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal St Charles Hotel staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Washington
1 month ago
London, United Kingdom
Wilmington DE
8 months ago
Atlanta, Georgia
over a year ago

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Royal St Charles Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the suites give you the best view of the city”
 of 5 bubbles 134sierrac, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are somewhat tiny, so you might want to ask for a larger room.”
 of 5 bubbles 613donnai, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms were a bit nosy due to the streetcars”
 of 5 bubbles lob34, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“"Very convenient to Bourbon Street, Canal Street and Casino"”
 of 5 bubbles roderickdewitt, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room on the 8th floor was very quiet with a view of the city.”
 of 5 bubbles mcook48, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay