We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rathbone Mansions

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rathbone Mansions
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rathbone Mansions
See the most recent reviews
Showing 347: English reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Im writing this review the same night I checked in. Parking is limited. There are 3 spots on location, the rest are on the street if you are lucky. The mansion is a glorified house and looks absolutely terrible on the outside. I did get a "free upgrade" to a king size room. The inside of the room was pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Bvor
NewOrleansPat, General Manager at Rathbone Mansions, responded to this review

Wow! I am shocked, because I remember meeting you the day you checked out and you did'nt say anything to me about your complaints. Maybe writing a review after a 20 hour drive from Chicago was not the best idea. With that being said, There is limited parking which we do say on the bookit website,We have 5 spots for...

Proctorville, Ohio
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My mom and I spend 3 nights at the Historic Rathbone Mansions on Esplanade in New Orleans in mid-May. We were able to bring my puppy along, and had a gorgeous room with a desk, couch, and large closet, with a fridge and microwave. The breakfast each morning was wonderful with fresh homemade treats and the staff were friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank skyllo
NewOrleansPat, General Manager at Rathbone Mansions, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, hope to see you here again! Cheers, Pat

Trinity, Florida
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed here recently, in the property across from the main house in #306. This was a "girls weekend" type getaway, so we booked the Mardi Gras suite, which is the largest of all the rooms offered by Rothbone. The historical value and quaint appearance of both properties is appealing, but they have seriously neglected the basic in upkeep and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank HeritageSoftail14843
Guelph
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed at the Rathbone for the Jazz Festival and couldn't have found a better place for location and comfort. Only a 20 min. walk to the Festival along Esplanade Ave which is tree lined with mansions along the way. 10 min walk in the other direction took us to the French Quarter or to Frenchman St for time after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank riaPud
Michigan
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My wife and I just spent 5 nights (3/30 through 4/3/12 at the Rathbone. The staff of Pat, Donna and Tina were outstanding and very helpful. Gave us insight on places to visit and eat. The breakfast was fantastic. Our first morning we were pleasantly surprised that Pat prepared the grits and greens. Wow is all I can say. At...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank troopman5073
Jefferson City, MO
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed for a long weekend. I love the location, very easy access to the quarter. I think the overall facility was okay. Our room definitely needed some love though. A hole in the wall by the closet....drain in the tub that did not drain... Bathroom that needed grouting.... just to name a few. I think Pat is trying to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dcy1309
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Rathbone Mansion ll 3/20-3/24. Overall, it was a pleasant stay. We had some travel issues getting there Due to weather and flight delays and arrived a day late. Before arriving, I spoke with Pat who is extremely friendly and helpful. I only wish she was there throughout our stay. We only saw her...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mrscover
Ames, Iowa
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This was my second stay at the Rathbone Mansions--the first was in March 2011-- and even though it rained for most of our vacation, we had a wonderful time! The hotel is within walking distance to the french quarter (a cheap taxi cab ride), the staff are beyond friendly, the breakfast is delicious, the beds are very comfortable and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ChemGeekMandy
Rural, GA
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Rathbone November 18-23, 2011. We enjoyed 5 wonderful nights. I read many reviews on Trip advisor before booking the Rathbone-some great, some good and a few bad reviews. To begin, the Rathbone experienced a switch in management a few years. from what I can tell, all the bad reviews were from BEFORE the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ksumn1
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We were fortunate to find The Rathbone Mansions.Miss Pat and staff truly made our stay very enjoyable,she is very informative and colourfull.The room was very comfortable and more room than we needed(upgrade),but a nice surprise.We were semi-prepared on things to see and do,but we asked Miss Pat about local sights and all she suggested proved to be exactly as she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pjb0249
NewOrleansPat, General Manager at Rathbone Mansions, responded to this review

Well HELLO Canada! I miss y'all come back! Thanks for the great review and I am so glad you loved my beloved city! Cheers, Pat

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (188)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 139 in New Orleans
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#35 of 139 in New Orleans
228 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Maison de Macarty
Maison de Macarty
#26 of 139 in New Orleans
302 reviews
Canal Street Inn
#15 of 139 in New Orleans
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Treme

Neighbourhood Profile
Treme
That sound? That flavor? That certain je ne sais quoi that lets you known you’re in “Nawlins” and nowhere else? It’s all good and in broad abundance on the streets of Tremé, where so much of what’s considered to be the very best of New Orleans culture and tradition is, put simply, just how people go about their daily lives in this historic part of town. As one of America’s oldest African-American neighborhoods and among the nation’s first established residential areas for free people of color, Tremé’s significant heritage and contribution cannot be understated. This is especially the case when considering some of Tremé’s most famous residents, most notably jazz great Louis Armstrong. For full flavored food, funky and jazzed up music, and vibrant street life presented with homegrown pride, you can’t beat a visit to Tremé.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Historic Rathbone Bed & Breakfast Inn is steps away from the French Quarter, where the cuisine, sights and sounds are part of New Orleans' unique culture. Our Guest House is a lovingly restored antebellum mansion, offering warm southern hospitality and authentic New Orleans atmosphere. Located on beautiful Esplanade Avenue, amongst the ancient Spanish oak trees and 19th-century Creole mansions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rathbone Mansions

Address: 1244 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Price Range: $194 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rathbone Mansions 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Rathbone Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathbone Mansions Hotel New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rathbone Mansions staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Las Vegas, Nevada
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rathbone Mansions staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 2 was quiet, but mattress had seen better days.”
 of 5 bubbles DarleneV841, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A room in a different hotel is your best bet.”
  • TV cords hanging from the wall
  • Kinda broken stuff
  • Mold all over the air conditioner - coming into your room?
  • Unidentified holes in the wall
  • The banister that is totally broken
  • The phone that doesn't do anything
 of 5 bubbles sekelley, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“There wasn't anyone to check us in when we got there. But checkin / building access instructions are easy to follow.”
  • Living room in Mardis Gras suite.
  • Kitchen in Mardis Gras suite.
  • Mardis Gras suite.
 of 5 bubbles PghJared, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in 1244 is where breakfast is served and the pool is but they are much smaller than the other building.”
  • Deluxe Queen
 of 5 bubbles D4084YTpatricial, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“need a queen suite for any room to maneuver at all”
 of 5 bubbles ellanp0211, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5