We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Historic Streetcar Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Historic Streetcar Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

484 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Historic Streetcar Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 463: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

I wish I had more nice things to say about this Inn. The location is great and breakfast is included as long as you don't mind drinking out of styrofoam cups. Breakfast is an assortment of breads, Cheerios and hard boiled eggs. It has a nice inner outdoor courtyard as well which you can sit in. It's also right on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlicesAdventures13
HSIGM, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review

I want to thank you for your honest observations on our hotel and sincerely apologize for the issues you faced during your stay. We have taken the points you make about the cleanliness of the room and utilized this to address directly and retrain our staff to ensure these issues do not arise again. We did examine the sheets you...

Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

This place was great. The staff was wonderful and the place is definitely historic and huge inside, they have a little courtyard for breakfast and a picture perfect porch with rocking chairs for your morning coffee. They offer a small breakfast but in new orleans it's all you need! It's pet friendly (which we didn't need but thought was great)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lolaforever
HSIGM, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review

We do have a nice setting and being close but not in the French Quarter is why we get so many return guests. We appreciate your kind words and honest observations. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, Richard Gillespie General Manager

Reviewed 12 September 2016

The Historic Streetcar Inn made us feel right at home from the very first phone call. They allowed our dogs to stay with us, which was easy given the green patches along the trolly line on St. Charles. Having the trolley stop just in front of the inn made life easy for everywhere we wanted to go. (buy a pass...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Celia B
HSIGM, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to New Orleans. It is great to hear that you had a great stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, Richard Gillespie General Manager

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 23 August 2016

For the price and the location, it is alright. Only street parking. Older hotel. Room was smaller then expected with a very little TV. Room was near the back entrance for the rest of the hotel so there was a lot of noise.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Muqtada_Burzynski
HSIGM, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to New Orleans. It is great to hear that you had a great stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, Richard Gillespie General Manager

Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

It's a cozy little family house in a great location. It was really easy to get everywhere by streetcar and the neighborhood is pretty safe at night with many great options of restaurants. Price is surprisingly good for the location and the breakfast is pretty nice (could be more complete though). Friendly staff and very nice bedrooms, even without fridges...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AnaCatarinaVitorino
HSIGM, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to New Orleans. It is great to hear that you had a great stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, Richard Gillespie General Manager

Columbia, Missouri
Reviewed 16 August 2016

The location was fantastic! It was great being able to park for free nearby and also just hop on the street car. The interior of the hotel and room were very disappointing. The hotel smelled very odd. It was like a smokey smell combined with an overpowering floral cleaning solution. Our room was not clean. It was actually the dirtiest...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shelbyr2010
HSIGM, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review

It is our hope that you will allow us to show you how we have addressed your concerns and that we can do better. Please contact me at gm@histioricstreetcarinn.com or 504-521-8000 when you have plans to return and our team will make sure you have a comfortable visit. Warm regards, Richard Gillespie General Manager

Reviewed 1 August 2016

Staff was amazingly helpful and friendly! The rooms were comfortable - the AC saved by nights! The location is great! Overall, I was amazed at how convenient the location was. There's a streetcar stop just outside the front door and with a 20 minute ride later, you'll arrive in the French Quarter! This was a quiet and calm little safe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pseudo n
HSIGM, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to New Orleans. It is great to hear that you had a great stay with us! We appreciate your observations on your room and will inform our ownership of your recommendations. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us...

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We had a room beside the main house at the first floor without a window that was a bit strange but the room was big and clean. For breakfast we had fruits, cereals, oatmeal, jogurt, jucies, different types of bread and we even could make fresh waffles that was the best part. There is also a little "garden/place" in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sun900
HSIGM, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to New Orleans. It is great to hear that you had a great stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Give us a call on your next visit to New Orleans Warm regards, Richard...

Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

While I might have been able to overlook the worn interior, the long wait to check-in, and the overly pungent floral cleaner smell, I could not overlook a dirty room upon arrival. I had to go to reception and asked for clean sheets after a very long day driving because my bed linen was not clean. The attendant was not...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank madrienne
HSIGM, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and thank you so much for your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. I am sorry the room was not good standards and we have taken this opportunity to retrain our cleaning staff on what is expected...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 16 June 2016

The Historic Streetcar Inn is a small, basic hotel built into two neighboring buildings, which I believe are former houses. The rooms are clean and very attractive with hardwood floors and high ceilings. Located on St. Charles Ave., the streetcar runs right in front of the hotel, giving you access to the entire city for only $3 per day. And...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyle W
HSIGM, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to New Orleans. It is great to hear that you had a great stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, Richard Gillespie General Manager

173 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (162)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#81 of 162 in New Orleans
762 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#107 of 162 in New Orleans
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#100 of 162 in New Orleans
942 reviews
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#101 of 162 in New Orleans
223 reviews
Avenue Plaza Resort
#68 of 162 in New Orleans
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Historic Streetcar Inn (formerly the Avenue Garden Hotel) is located on the historic St. Charles Avenue Streetcar line. Step out of the hotel's front door and walk out to the car stop, which is located just in front of the hotel. The French Quarter and Downtown are only minutes away via the streetcar, which drops you off at Canal and Bourbon Street! Travel in the opposite direction and go back in time as you take in the majesty of St. Charles Avenue's mansions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Historic Streetcar Inn

Address: 1509 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Avenue Garden Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Price Range: $89 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Historic Streetcar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Historic Streetcar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Garden New Orleans
Hotel Avenue Garden
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Historic Streetcar Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Charleston, South Carolina

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Historic Streetcar Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles birse2014, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay Down town at the Hilton or the Ritz both of these have never let us down.”
 of 5 bubbles 101kristens, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room far from the common coffee/patio area. Or a different hotel for a little bit more.”
 of 5 bubbles 919trishl, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“#20 is on the street front upstairs right on the balcony which was never used except by us. It's a good bet!”
 of 5 bubbles 537celiab, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I have no tips. I would not stay here for free!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 791phyllisc, 6 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay