We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Avenue Plaza Resort

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Avenue Plaza Resort
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

686 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Avenue Plaza Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 671: English reviews
Howell, United States
Reviewed 9 October 2015

The location was nice and right by the streetcar. It was nice that we could keep our car parked there on our last day after checkout so we could get in a few more hours in the french quarter before we left without worrying about finding another parking space.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elizabeth F
Ladd M, Resort Manager at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth F, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our resort. We appreciate you choosing our resort while visiting our great city and look forward to hosting you again upon your return to New Orleans.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 October 2015

This is a very decent accomodation at a reasonable price for New Orleans. Situated right by the St Charles streetcar for easy travel. There is a small pool and outdoor space. Rooms are a decent size. No room service or bar etc. Avoid the free breakfast unless you want to spend an hour with a timeshare salesman. We didn't quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Procrustes
Ladd M, Resort Manager at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear LadyDi_and_Cowman, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our resort. You are correct the view from the roof top is spectacular. We appreciate you making Avenue Plaza your home away from home and hope you visit us again upon your next visit to New Orleans.

Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

Booked this resort for a family reunion February, 2015 through Wyndham. We were promised quite a few things but when we got to the hotel they told us due to a policy change which took place Oct. 01, they no longer could offer valet parking as an inclusive amenity with the room charge. Even though it had originally been included...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Anna J
Ladd M, Resort Manager at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Anna J, I am very sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience during your recent stay with us. I would like the opportunity to discuss your experience and see how I could be of assistance. Please send me an email @ ladd.marks@wyn.com so we can hopefully set up a time to talk. Again, I am very sorry to hear...

Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Location is wonderful - in the garden district so it's away from the chaos of french quarter. The trolley stops right outside the hotel. Good, local restaurants within walking distance. Valet parking only @$23/day - "park on the street at your own risk." Hotel is lovely, very clean, and well-appointed. Service people (doormen, front desk, etc) were very helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brenda54949
Ladd M, Resort Manager at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Brenda54949, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our resort. You are correct our location is perfectly located in the beautiful garden district off the historic St. Charles Avenue. I am sorry about the housekeeping service as we are a timeshare property which is why we do not offer daily housekeeping service. I hope that...

Colorado Springs
Reviewed 2 October 2015

Stayed here for a week in September 2015. Excellent location, just steps from the streetcar stop. Good selection of restaurants, cafes, bars and a drugstore just a short walk away. We also easily made the walk from the hotel down to the WWII museum. Our small suite was large and comfortable, with the added nicety of a vanity where my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank COSNOWBIKER
Ladd M, Resort Manager at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear COSNOWBIKER, Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive and thorough review of our resort. You are correct, the balcony is a great area to sit, relax and take in the New Orleans ambiance. I am so happy that we were able to provide you and all of our other guests/owners with a tour of the...

Long Island, NY
Reviewed 2 October 2015

The hotel is very nice with polite, friendly staff. The rooms are clean and spacious. We had a studio which had 2 queen beds, full refrigerator and kitchen. The shower stall was big with a rain shower (not my favorite, but elegant). The pool area was nice but the pool was a bit small (good enough to cool off in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete_LongIsland_NY
Ladd M, Resort Manager at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Pete_LongIsland, Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of our resort. We appreciate your ownership and look forward to having the opportunity to host you when you return to New Orleans.

Redwood City, California
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

This was a great place to stay when we visited New Orleans last week, it was 30 steps to the trolley that brought you down to Bourbon Street and downtown and it was only a few blocks from the port where we took our cruise , very nice room and centrally located with the fantastic restaurants right nearby, Copeland's cheesecake...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cabinetpat
Ladd M, Resort Manager at Avenue Plaza at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Cabinetpat, We just wanted to thank you for your feedback. We always appreciate hearing great experiences, and hope that you come back to visit us soon. Thank you again!

Saint Charles, Illinois
Reviewed 23 September 2015

We just returned from a week in NOLA. The resort was clean, comfortable, and centrally located to a lot of New Orleans. All of the elevators were working. The street car stopped directly in front of the hotel. We made exclusive use of the street cars and being a senior, we could not beat the fare of $0.40 per person...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eric M
Ladd M, Resort Manager at Avenue Plaza at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Eric, Thank you for providing the positive feedback. We certainly strive to achieve such a vacation as you were able to experience. I have to agree the amenities offered by the city of New Orleans and the ease of access is a huge benefit. Our sales team is also here to educate about ownership opportunities and programs that we...

McAllen, Texas
Reviewed 22 September 2015

I stayed at this hotel for 3 night, along with a group of friends and a kid. And we had a great time place is a great location, hotel was great it look very nice and was very clean, staff was very helpful and great to deal with. So over all highly recommend this place. And try the Trolley Cafe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jagtx
Ladd M, Resort Manager at Avenue Plaza at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Jagtx, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Avenue Plaza. We conduct many hours of training and strive to obtain a superior level of standards. We are going to be sharing your comments with our team so they know the hard work is paying off. Thank you and please come see us again!

Selbyville, Delaware
Reviewed 20 September 2015

We were very happy with almost everything about the APR. The well appointed room had a full kitchen, comfortable king bed, updated bathroom and, much to the wife's delight, a separate sitting area with desk and mirror for make up. Although this is a timeshare property, we weren't timesharing and no one pressured us to attend a presentation. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OpaSteve
Ladd M, Resort Manager at Avenue Plaza at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review

OpaSteve, Thank you for choosing the Avenue Plaza Resort as your vacation destination. We appreciate the feedback about our check in process which we are working on training our associates to still be personable but speed up the process. We have called our elevator contractors out and they are in the process of evaluating any noise that is being caused...

301 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (248)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#102 of 162 in New Orleans
226 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#86 of 162 in New Orleans
769 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#103 of 162 in New Orleans
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Resort

Address: 2111 St Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Price Range: $151 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Avenue Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Avenue Plaza New Orleans
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avenue Plaza Resort staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question
Decatur, Illinois
Fort Wayne, Indiana

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Avenue Plaza Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had rooms on 9th floor. Not bad. Check out Floor 1 for outside balcony”
 of 5 bubbles mjapfelbeck, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay above the 4th floor”
 of 5 bubbles AirdrieJudy, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Obviously, try for rooms towards the top of the building”
 of 5 bubbles Alan_D_Hudson, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“little to go on, our choice: a king bed studio or double queen. chose the king. The double queen = better? cannot say. rooms = quiet enough”
 of 5 bubbles micrabits, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“12th floor rooms have best views and are closest to roof top deck.”
 of 5 bubbles nm_flag, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5