We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mendota Lake House B&B

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Mendota Lake House B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 37: English reviews
St. Charles, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had booked an Air BnB, and it didn't work out. We were in Madison without a place to stay. I called Mendota Lake House, and they told us they had two free rooms. We were so pleasantly surprised to see that the house is beautiful and right on the lake. It offered us the peace and quiet we needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizatess
dpwaugh, Owner at Mendota Lake House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you so much! Glad you enjoyed your stay and what we have to offer here. Hope to see you again! Best, David

Pewaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 26 October 2016

I'm giving these five stars to David Waugh, co-owner and innkeeper of Mendota Lake House Inn, for his exemplary customer service. My wife and I had recently booked a room there on a very busy Madison weekend for a non-refundable rate. However, due to an unexpected family emergency, we were unable to use the reservation. David was very understanding and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
Brusly, Louisiana
Reviewed 10 September 2016

I booked this Inn for a 4 day getaway, for my daughter & myself. I read reviews, but thought I'd give it a shot. This is not what you think of as a 'bed & breakfast'. It should be considered a room, with light breakfast. That is what you get here. Don't expect the usual attention you get at a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
dpwaugh, Owner at Mendota Lake House B&B, responded to this review

Thanks for writing this review. I try hard on our website to indicate we are not a typical bed and breakfast. We are light on service. Yes, you do get soap and towels, but if you need more, you need to ask or help yourself from the supplies armoire. We are a place to come and make yourself at home....

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at Mendota Lake House. The location is ideal-overlooking Lake Mendota and within walking distance to the Capital as well as to campus. We hardly drove our car while we were there. The house is beautiful as are the gardens. The public rooms are a wonderful place to hang out and have breakfast or just sit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EllenSo
Champlin, Minnesota
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the Walt Whitman room. This was our first B&B experience, and it did not disappoint! The room was very quaint and full of character. The weekend we stayed was very cold but the room was adequately heated. The breakfast was nice as well, and Bob and David were very helpful if we had any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
Plymouth, Michigan
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Mendota Lake House is a 5-room B&B located on the edge of Lake Mendota, within walking distance of the Capitol building and about a one-mile walk to the University of Wisconsin campus. The home is a large 1911 "grand home" that speaks to the history of this part of Madison. The friendly owners, Dave and Bob, are lovingly restoring the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marty F
dpwaugh, Owner at Mendota Lake House B&B, responded to this review

Thanks for this very thoughtful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. And we will definitely check the radiator in the James Baldwin room to see if we can tweak it to make less sound.

Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay. Location is so convenient. Hosts were kind and friendly. The Lake view was beautiful and I only wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy it more. The accommodations were comfortable and very well priced for new years eve. As other reviewers have stated breakfast is not huge but I think the owners did a great job...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
dpwaugh, Owner at Mendota Lake House B&B, responded to this review

Thanks Emily, I am glad you stayed with us. Hope to see you again soon!

New Hope, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 26 November 2015

You can't beat the location. Minutes to the square by car, walking distance to some very good restaurants. The house itself is charming and authentically Arts and Crafts. Lots of space to hang out downstairs and watch the sun go down with a glass of wine. David is an excellent host. I would have given this an excellent rating if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Persnickety2014
dpwaugh, Owner at Mendota Lake House B&B, responded to this review

Thanks for commenting and thanks for staying. We enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again!

Schaumburg, IL
Reviewed 29 October 2015

This is a B&B that is very interesting. It is one of Madison's grand homes. The owners are in the process of making it a true gem. We stayed here for three night in October. We were able to walk to Capital Square, find great places to eat and enjoy a lovely city. The house is right on Lake Mendota...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappyinSchaumburg
dpwaugh, Owner at Mendota Lake House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for staying and thank you for sharing! Great photos too!

Chicago, United States
Reviewed 9 October 2015

Had a wonderful stay at Mendota Lake B&B, Lake Mendota is directly behind the B&B with paved walkways. Walked to the Capitol and restaurant and bars. Hosts were very nice and helpful. Room was large and well furnished. The grounds of the B&B are full of amazing plants. Would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila W
dpwaugh, Owner at Mendota Lake House B&B, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon!

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.9 km away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 61 in Madison
586 reviews
0.9 km away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
1.4 km away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 61 in Madison
605 reviews
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Want to be on the lake and downtown? We are on a hill overlooking Lake Mendota, Madison's largest lake. And we are a 15 minutes walk to the State Capitol building. Sunsets are breathtaking. We are on a busy street in a funky neighborhood with eclectic shops and award winning restaurants, and we are one mile from the University of Wisconsin campus. In our back yard is lake Mendota and complete tranquility where you can take a stroll along the lakeshore path, or sit back and watch the boats while the sun is setting. While we don't serve a hot breakfast, guests enjoy a hearty continental breakfast with fresh and organic products. We will provide you with what we look for in our own travels -- a clean room with a comfy bed at a reasonable price in a great location. Because Bob and David have their own private apartment in the lower level, the entire house is for our guests -- including the kitchen should you want to save money and eat in. Languages spoken include French, Italian and Spanish. We are always making updates as time and money permits. And while we do have some fancy upgrades happening, our goal is to keep things simple which translates to keeping it affordable. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mendota Lake House B&B

Address: 704 E Gorham St, Madison, WI 53703-1522 (Formerly Collins House Inn)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Price Range: $141 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mendota Lake House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Mendota Lake House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mendota Lake House B&B staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Mendota Lake House B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for a room with a view of the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles EllenSo, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Quieter and lake view on the back side.”
 of 5 bubbles MartyF_12, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Loved the deck area with Walt Whitman room”
 of 5 bubbles WirralGibby, 11 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Walt Whitman room is great for a couple”
 of 5 bubbles jzskins, 13 Dec 2014 | Read review
“The Oscar Wilde is the largest room with a couch, love seat, pedestal table & chairs, dressing table & king size bed. Beautiful views of the lake + the university. Definitely take this room.”
 of 5 bubbles joannkatz, 3 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay