We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hill Club

TripAdvisorUSD 108*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 190*
USD 108*
Great Deal
USD 190*
USD 190*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Hill Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

635 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 490: English reviews
Start your review of The Hill Club
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The HIll Club looks and feels like an old British country club in the middle of Sri Lanka. Beautifully tended gardens, golf course next door, formal dining (where men must wear jackets and ties), billiard room, cocktail bar that looks as if it hasn't change for 80 years. Rooms old and maybe a bit tired but if you want all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UKDAB
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was our fourth visit to the Hill Club and the gardens were the best we have ever seen them - really beautiful. As in previous reviews, we like staying at the Hill Club with its Olde Worlde atmosphere and having to get dressed up in a jacket and tie in the evening. It was also lovely a cool there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maioha
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just loved this place. Would recommend it in a heartbeat. Once the club for coffee and tea plantation owners, it has a wonderful old world feel. We took the cheapest room, and not sure if we were upgraded or not but it was beautiful. Lovely views from the first floor out across the front gardens - and what gardens. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Raelene H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived at the Hill Club excited for a historical experience.Once greeted there were drinks in the bar and then we were shown our rooms. The room was a little dirty and there was a mouldy bath mat in the bathroom. I found myself to be very uncomfortable in this hotel and I did not enjoy it at all. One...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TeenTraveller1
Somerset51, General Manager at The Hill Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Our apologize for your bad experience. The price of the breakfast packet is us$15. The price is a nett price which includes the 28% Taxes & Vat charged by the Government. Please advise if the Receptionist mentioned the price and the items in the packets when you gave him the order. It is his duty to advise the...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a great evening here - like going back in time, a great taste of some old fashioned class. Was provided with a jacket and tie by the chief sommelier and sat by the roaring log fire for cocktails before dinner - made to feel very welcome. Food and wine were very enjoyable, and I would say that it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamieTree
Somerset51, General Manager at The Hill Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. Glad you found the Hill Club to your liking. We hope you would visit and stay with us the next time. Warm Regards Somerset.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Everything was worn out and threadbare,rhe towels, bed sheets and Staffs gloves had holes in them. Rooms are really tiny. Quaint old place though. Rhe rooms were really cold and they gave us hot water bottles at night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clivenm
Somerset51, General Manager at The Hill Club, responded to this review

Dear Sir, My apologize for the bad condition of the room and linen. Would sincerely appreciate if you could kindly advise the Room Number you stayed in or under which name you booked in to take immediate corrective action. Hope you would give us an opportunity to rectify the problem. Kind Regards Somerset.

Ubud, Indonesia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is wonderful! We loved the colonial touches and old-school feel. We walked around the gardens and appreciated the beautiful flowers. Our room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed dinner here and we ordered the Sri Lankan curry which came with an extraordinary amount of food which was delicious! We enjoyed a game of billiards in the billiards room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abbierudd
Somerset51, General Manager at The Hill Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. My apologize with regards to your driver not being able to have a drink. Unfortunately the rules of the club have certain restrictions. I shall address the issue with the committee that overlooks the operation. Regards Somerset.

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked having stayed in a wonderful old colonial hotel in Kerala so we understood the style and expected old world charm. Have to say we were generally rather disappointed with our experience here. Staff were ok and we were given nice welcome drink. We were given two of the larger rooms on the first floor (these are the even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joandgraham
Somerset51, General Manager at The Hill Club, responded to this review

Sorry for the poor experience. The Receptionist should have advised the charges for the Breakfast Packets. Please advise the room number you stayed in. Thank you for your constructive comments. Shall look into it.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When we got there the staff were very welcoming and offered us all drinks. However when we got to our room it was a bit dirty. They had left oranges out obviously for a while because they were going brown. The shower mat had not been cleaned because it was extremely dirty. The food was quite expensive but mostly worth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeeTrainor
Somerset51, General Manager at The Hill Club, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your constructive comments with regards to your stay at The Hill Club. I sincerely apologize for our short comings in the rooms and it shall certainly be looked into. Thank you for keeping us informed, as it helps us to serve our clients better. We would appreciate if you would kindly advise me of the...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The room was spacious and the staff were very accommodating for our tour requirements. The furniture was traditional. There are several public rooms, so there is always somewhere to relax. Very easy walking from the town. The grounds and the entrance of the hotel look very grand and beautiful. We enjoyed our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alex13sg
Somerset51, General Manager at The Hill Club, responded to this review

Thank you. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Somerset.

512 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (512)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (143)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (179)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.0 km away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
1,450 reviews
8.1 km away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
2,450 reviews
0.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
757 reviews
1.7 km away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
214 reviews
3.1 km away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Hill Club Restaurant
Hill Club Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hill Club is an exclusive members only Club, established in 1876, by the British Planters and continues as a prestigious club in Nuwara Eliya, which is surrounded by Tea Estates. With the British Planters moving out, The Hill Club remained and still remains a Members ONLY club after having opened it doors to Srilankans. To sustain the Club and to maintain same, the Club was opened to temporary members ( Tourist) Traditions are still maintained where Gentleman is required to wear Suit for Dinner and a lady smartly dressed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hill Club

Address: 29 Grand Hotel Rd, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $117 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hill Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your The Hill Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hill Club Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Hill Hotel Nuwara Eliya
The Hill Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hill Club staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Hill Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try for one facing the front of the hotel and gardens.”
  • Billiard Room
UKDAB, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our best rooms are those overlooking the gardens”
Maioha, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask to see the room!”
BeowulfCA, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not rooms 1-4 as at the top of the stairs and over the front door so very noisy”
kimw680, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a member's room.”
  • Worn out curtains
GeoffreyR561, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
USD 108* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 190
Hotels.comUSD 190
Expedia.comUSD 190
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates