We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (237)
Room & Suite (50)
Dining (16)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good11%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“long house”(25 reviews)
“sri lanka”(92 reviews)
“the river”(151 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
All hotel details
Additional information
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
293
41
12
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
293
41
12
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong housesri lankathe riverwhite water raftinggreat funsafety standardsfelt safeother companiesbean bagscanadian owneramazing adventureplaying gamescanyoning tripcurrydelicious foodamazing placewater buffalo
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

I stayed at Borderlands for one night, at the end of a ten day exploration of Sri Lanka. This was certainly the most basic of accommodations I stayed in during my trip, which isn't a complaint. I had one of the ensuite cabins, for which...More

Thank jeniferb
Response from BorderlandsL, Manager at BorderlandsResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Jenifer, Greetings from Borderlands! Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. As you mentioned here, our Ecolodge at Kithulgala have basic facilities which connect directly to the nature and we assure that it is a unique experience for a lifetime. Regarding your concern...More

Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

We visited Borderlands as part of our Honeymoon in March 2018. Where to start.. What an amazing experience. When we first arrived, we were shown to our room which was essentially a log cabin overlooking the river - what a beautiful setting. There was a...More

Thank John H
Response from BorderlandsL, Borderlands team at BorderlandsResponded 9 April 2018

Dear John H, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us so much. You were great guests. We take our safety very seriously and so we are...More

Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Borderlands is a MUST visit for anyone seeking authentic family fun & adventure. Accommodations are serene, open air on the river with gorgeous views. Food is abundant, local & delicious with a generous chef who will accommodate needs. Best of all, the staff is kind...More

Thank VeroniqueKuhner
Response from BorderlandsL, The Borderlands Team at BorderlandsResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Veronique, Greetings from Borderlands!! Thank you so much for your kind words, and we are so thrilled that you and your children especially enjoyed themselves so much during your recent stay. We pride ourselves on our safety, ensuring that all aspects are covered, and...More

Reviewed 18 March 2018

We ended up not staying here, but we were supposed to and we did go on the property for a supposed white water rafting tour. Why anyone would pay $$$ to stay here just because it is on the river is a mystery to us...More

Thank rroberts2018
Response from BorderlandsL, Borderlands Management Team at BorderlandsResponded 23 March 2018

Hi Robert, Greetings from Borderlands! Are you sure you came to Borderlands? The reason we ask is, 1.We haven't got any booking which matches your name or any walking clients, 2.We have been into issues like the guests have reached to wrong places in Kithulagla...More

Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

In one word: WOW! The canadian owner and his staff have recreated a piece of paradise on earth. We were received in a very relaxed way by a swedish cayaking guide after wich we enjoyed a great (and i mean great!!!) lunch. In general the...More

1  Thank Ruben d
Response from BorderlandsL, Borderlands team at BorderlandsResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Ruben d, Wow! Thank you for your incredibly detailed and kind review. I wish our response could match that level of enthusiasm on your post. We know we're not the cheapest option out there but hope that the money is certainly worth it. Well,...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Internet
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free Parking
Multilingual Staff
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 126 - USD 304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 126 - USD 304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (237)
Room & Suite (50)
Dining (16)
Pool & Beach (7)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Marijana22
30 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Cheeky_leon |
I used an adaptor that I bought at Gatwick, it was really easy I would worry about the 2 or 3 plug configuration My adaptor cost me £7.00 and I've it dozens of times since
0
Votes
Kate P
1 September 2015|
Answer
Response from Emily G | Reviewed this property |
I would contact them directly. Try Margaret Watts at: journeys (at sign) discoverborderlands (dot sign) com.
0
Votes
dark522
7 July 2015|
Answer
Response from BorderlandsL | Property representative |
Our email is journeys @ discoverborderlands . com for inquiries.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"try for an ensuite cabin!"
Read review
"Tents on platforms have shared shower and toilet facilities but the individual rooms have en suite. Head..."
Read review
"Ask for a room overlooking the river"
Read review
"The best rooms are the one upstream"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing