We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hanging Gardens of Bali

Traveller (2212)
Room & Suite (564)
Pool & Beach (322)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Hanging Gardens of Bali is a luxurious destination in the heart of the jungle. It is situated near Payangan, a village North of Ubud, whilst the hotel rests in the centre of the magical island of Gods. The enchanting five star luxury resort has 44 private suites and individual villas, each enhanced by its own granite infinity pool, rippling into the jungle below. Each villa is designed with traditional Alang Alang thatched roofs in complete harmony with nature. In 2014, TripAdvisor and Conde Nast Traveller named our Twin-Tiered Cascading Pool as the World's Best Pool and number one honeymoon destination in Bali by Conde Nast Traveller. In 2015 Hanging Gardens of Bali has been awarded: World Luxury Hotels Awards, Seven Star Global Luxury Awards and World Travel Awards as well as other prestigious recognitions, such as the World Luxury Spa Awards and the World Luxury Restaurant Awards. The renowned Garden Restaurant serves innovative Indonesian dishes with Asian flare and Mediterranean delicacies flavoured with the local herbs and spices grown on the land and freshly-caught fish from the Jimbaran Bay. The truly luxurious Spa Collection combines natural, local ingredients and ancient techniques to create beauty therapies and treatments that soothe the mind, rejuvenate the body and energize the soul. Complimentary shuttles to Ubud center are scheduled daily for guests. The airport is around 90 minutes away by road depending on traffic.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
Breakfast Available
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Shuttle Bus Service
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Smoking rooms available
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
1,748Reviews
2,436Photos
58Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,190
  • 288
  • 148
  • 66
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
i recently spent a weekend an awesome resort called the hanging gardens in bali..the jungle like setting high on the hilltop was so beautiful and relaxing i didnt want to leave ..the staff was so friendly and helpful .i was amazed..ther services were totally awesome...great
Read more
Response from Hanging Gardens U, General Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Allan B, Wow! thank you so much...you have made our day... Your review is a credit to our wonderful team and fabulous resort. We are over the moon that you enjoyed all our facilities so much.... We look forward to hosting you once again With Gratitude
Read more
Our trip to the hanging gardens of Bali, has been nothing but awful! It’s overprices and unclean. For the money you pay to stay here, you’d think you would not have stains on the side of the bed. Loose pool tiles causing myself to fall into the pool, rude and unhelpful
Read more
Response from Hanging Gardens U, General Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Casey M, I have looked into your comments seriously and in depth both with the team members who interacted with you and the manager in charge. We always take very seriously guest comments both positive and on the odd occasion, negative. My findings in your case is the total opposite to your comments and allegations in fact they border on the malevolent and untrue. Our house keeping and in-villa cleaning is scrupulous to say the least and after checking with the team I can say with confidence that your villa, as with all our villas are always spotless. Your allegation that our staff are rude and unhelpful is so far-fetched that it barely deserves a mention. But I will say that our fabulous team are dedicated to giving our guests the utmost in service with truly Balinese hospitality. I am wondering who was actually rude to whom! By the way all our prices are advertised saying ++ meaning tax and service (21%) will be added to the final bill. In regard to our amazing and award-winning Spa Collection and your allegations of bad service and being charged wrong. The Hanging Gardens Spa Collection offers Luxurious Spa Treatments in a stunning riverside location overlooking the Ayung river and I cannot emphasize enough how well received our Spa experience is by all of our guests. The Spa collection is one of Bali’s premium Spas with an unrivaled location and the most dedicated, experienced and hospitable staff I know for a fact that you were shown the pricing both in Indonesian rupia and USD$ (we do not show prices in AUS$) So there is no way you could have been given a price of $75AUS or misunderstand the price tag. The package you took is one of our premium luxury spa packages and in fact just the champagne that is included in the package and which you seemed to enjoy so much costs more than the $75 you alleged. This treatment package you took lasts 4 hours. Is situated next to the beautiful Ayung river and your treatment was performed by 2 expert masseuses & takes 6 additional people to prepare the location for you. The spa area on the river location cost almost $10m to create making sure we kept the location natural & uninterrupted! In light of all this and the amazing reviews we generally receive, your negative remarks do leave me saddened and puzzled especially as it denigrates the reputation of our amazing resort and wonderful local team. Further, more everything we offer is superb value for money as we have created a destination which is a “Once in a Lifetime Experience”
Read more
We stayed here for a night and were amazed by the service and standards of the hotel. All the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The villa was clean and we loved all the features of it. The main pool was also amazing, really enjoyed relaxing here
Read more
Response from Hanging Gardens U, General Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali
Responded yesterday
Dear AmTravelAm Thank you very much for your lovely and "amazing" review We are so pleased that your stay with us was so enjoyable It is a credit to our wonderful team and fabulous resort With gratitude
Read more
8 days on Bali, 7 nights here, a time we are very grateful for. The hanging gardes team took great care of us. Their program, if the massages or the cooking class they organized, it all was kept very private with two to three couples which also helped to get in more contact with
Read more
Response from Hanging Gardens U, General Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali
Responded 1 week ago
Dear emha4 Your review is certainly a tribute to our fabulous resort and wonderful team. We are so happy that you enjoyed the facilities and the unique jungle experience and most of all the service We will be so happy if you return to celebrate your anniversary With much gratitude
Read more
It’s really overpriced The spa and the food is overpriced for bali the service is bad the staff are not well trained and the rooms are not very clean you don’t even have water in the toilet The room dining works only from 12noon to 10:30 pm which is very disappointing for a
Read more
Response from Hanging Gardens U, General Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali
Responded 1 week ago
Dear sirine113, We are very disappointed with the review you have posted. Not because you have complained but because of your complete negativity which totally belies the actuality of the Hanging Gardens of Bali experience. I am always ready to accept constructive criticism but I feel that this is anything but constructive and borders on being a total fabrication Over priced? Compared to what? Our spa and culinary offerings are some of the best in Bali with a full dedicated team taking care of our guests needs and wants. To say our team are not well trained is ridiculous and barely warrants a reply as you have not given any facts to back up your comment Room not clean? No water in the toilet....sorry but this also is a misrepresentation of facts. Our rooms are looked after by a dedicated House Keeping team with the highest standards that are reviewed at all times. Again I wish you had given facts...that made you feel the way you did Our in room dining is is available until midnight with last order taken at 23:30 and we always fill our guests culinary needs. I wish I could have answered this in a different manner but the sheer misrepresentation of our wonderful team of dedicated employees forces me to be more blunt than normally would be.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHanging Gardens of Bali
The Panoramic Suite at the Hanging Gardens of Bali
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHanging Gardens of Bali
The Panoramic Suite at the Hanging Gardens of Bali
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHanging Gardens of Bali
The Panoramic Suite at the Hanging Gardens of Bali
Unfortunately got bitten by bugs, couldn't sleep whole night and wasted my stay.
the lounge by the private infinity pool in our room (super comfy!)
PreviousNext
123456113
I’ve been to Bali twice now, in August and then September/ October. Both times were equally good in terms of weather, although it is dark by 6.30pm. Hope that helps.
0 votes
USD 60 to enter the property! Sorry for a late reply.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi Sorry for the delay. There are no rooms right by the pool. They are all located via the cable car covering the levels. Spencer
0 votes
Hi, We can arrange transfer at a fee. You may reach the team through our website - chat or mail and they will revert back to you. Jungle Wishes.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12345612
"Villa Family is the best option to stayed with your family. There is twin bed on the second floor."
"Villa #23 was gorgeous with the perfect setting on the mountain"
"river side is to very noisy,because of the river and those rooms are never see the sun. But green is amusing."
"Panoramic villas are the same as riverside villas but higher up the hill, with a better view"
"We stayed at the second highest level. The view of the valley was exquisite. Monkeys came to visit."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
USD 634 - USD 988 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ubud hanging gardens by orient-express hotel payanganhanging gardens ubudhanging gardens hotel ubud
LOCATION
IndonesiaBaliGianyar RegencyPayangan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing