We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rorke's Drift Hotel

SA HotelsUSD 181*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Rorke\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 205: English reviews
Start your review of Rorke's Drift Hotel
 Click to rate
Leeds
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My daughter and I spent three glorious nights here at the beginning of April. I drove down from Johannesburg-a lovely drive-without any problems and easily found the hotel, following google maps. The gravel roads are fine for an ordinary hire car. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly young lady and given a refreshing drink before a short tour...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KGLeeds
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

We have just spent two nights at the Rorke's Drift Hotel and I cannot recommend this hotel enough. The location is stunning on their banks of the Buffalo River just a 10 minute walk from Rorke's Drift. The staff are friendly and welcoming and the service first rate. The food was excellent, breakfast freshly cooked, lunch 'comfort food' after a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malrantoo
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2017

This is a lovely hotel: near-excellence but not for families with children. Its location is one of the finest in Africa: an amazing view from the banks of the Buffalo River across to rural African life. The accommodation is simpler than some but that makes it great. The food is simple which is fine for adults. But this isn't for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rsbwhitelegge
Snapsh0t, Owner at Rorke's Drift Hotel, responded to this review

We are so sorry that your family did not enjoy their visit in spite of our best efforts. Some local lodges do not take children under 12 but we do not place any restriction on parents and feel that they need all the help they can get when travelling. Some of our most appreciative guests have been remarkably small and...

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017

I last visited Rorkes Drift in 2009 and the nearest accommodation was in Dundee. It was a pleasant surprise to see that a new hotel at Rorkes Drift had opened. The rooms are clean and comfortable with good views of the surrounding area. The comfortable lounge area has a well stocked bar and the dining experience was very good. the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisn47
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

The location of this hotel is remote but well worth the journey. We were greeted at reception by a friendly young girl who offered us a welcome drink which was much needed. She then gave us a brief orientation of the hotel which was a nice touch before escorting us to our room. The owner Charles was an excellent host...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017

I stayed here for 1 night with my husband and my parents. 1 night wasn't enough and I would recommend staying for 2. This part of our holiday was really one for my husband and my dad, both of whom are interested in military history. I've seen Zulu many times (I'm the youngest daughter of a man who never had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jo8084
UK
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We spent two nights here in February for the battlefield tours and weren't disappointed. The hotel is situated right on the banks of Rorkes Drift which made it easy to imagine the crossing point and all those men and provisions moving across it. Our tour guide was someone called Pat who was very informative throughout. The owner Charles wasn't around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jilly1230
Snapsh0t, Owner at Rorke's Drift Hotel, responded to this review

We are really sorry that your stay coincided with some staff shortages which were quite unplanned due to sickness and the hospitalisation of a baby. During our busy season this can make for some problems and recruiting and training takes time - and is being successful. That also affects the state of the gardens which were running riot with the...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 11 February 2017

This place is not the easiest to get to - it's a long way from anywhere and the gravel roads have quite a few potholes! - but the journey is well worth it. The main hotel and accommodation are constructed in a Zulu rondavel style - great thinking. The view from the balcony over the Buffalo River is stunning and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank uMvemve
Snapsh0t, Owner at Rorke's Drift Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments and the points about the evening meal has received serious concern and discussion. High summer here burns up the local produce of vegetables and we experienced severe shortages in our supply requirements, which is now passed. One of the aspects of 'miles from anywhere'. Our pool does have a shaded Lapa and the...

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Having driven some 17 hours to reach this hotel, we were extremely disappointed with the standard of this accommodation. Considering they really are charging premium prices, the cleanliness and quality were not good enough.... bathroom grubby, stained bedding and everything in general need of updating. Evening meal choice limited unless you paid extra for à la carte. Having said that,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank langebaan28
Snapsh0t, Owner at Rorke's Drift Hotel, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you were disappointed in our hotel. Perhaps your 17 hours was a bit too far into rural Africa. Most of our guests seem to like our slogan of 'finding your African space' and it is very rural with supplies remote, and skills in short supply. We had also been struggling with water supply and that...

cambridge UK
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Whilst the position and hotel itself are to be recommended, the staff very welcoming but the standard of the meals let the hotel down. Supper was mediocre and tasteless. We booked a twin bedded room only to discover that we were shown to a double bedded room. Not a disaster but poor that our booking request was not actioned

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvonne b
Snapsh0t, Owner at Rorke's Drift Hotel, responded to this review

We are so sorry that we missed your request for twin beds; it was clearly stated on your initial enquiry. Your comments on our food is quite alarming and has been the subject of discussion with the supervisors. So sorry you were disappointed.

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rorke's Drift
36.6 km away
Royal Country Inn
Royal Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Dundee
91 reviews
137.8 km away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
4.0 km away
Rorke's Drift Lodge
Rorke's Drift Lodge
#2 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Isandlwana Lodge
Isandlwana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Isandlwana
203 reviews
9.3 km away
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
#4 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
132 reviews
14.6 km away
Elandsheim Retreat
Elandsheim Retreat
#1 of 1 in Elandskraal
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At Rorke's Drift on the Buffalo River the new Rorke’s Drift Hotel stands the slopes of Shiyane Mountain (The Oscarberg), in the rolling hills of Zululand. The historic crossing that gives the area its name is within its grounds and the comfortable modern facilities are priced to meet the needs of the discerning traveller. The visitor will enjoy peaceful relaxation in the rural landscape, surrounded by iconic history and natural countryside. Phase One of the construction is now complete with 7 double and four single en-suite rooms. Phase Two will raise the capacity to 30 rooms so that coach touring parties can be accommodated, for the recommended two night stay. The hotel provides an affordable destination at this historic location. Visitors will be stunned by its position overlooking the Buffalo River and with its open views towards Isandlwana, and by its architectural design that is a modern amalgam of Zulu and Victorian cultures. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rorke's Drift Hotel

Address: Isandhlwana Road, Rorke's Drift, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Rorke's Drift
Price Range: $231 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Rorke's Drift Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rorke's Drift Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Rorke's Drift Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay extra for the river view.”
KGLeeds, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“rooms overlooking the river seem to have the best views.”
chrisn47, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Need a room with a view”
langebaan28, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“River view”
caduceus2015, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Worth paying a little extra for river view rooms.”
hotlips_03, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
SA Hotels
USD 181* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates