We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 110: English reviews
Start your review of Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
 Click to rate
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

My husband and I rented "Heavenly Host" for a week and thought it was quite nice for the price. The cabin was a. J e size for a couple and the back porch was private and comfortable. The couch was a little uncomfortable and the dishes/utensils could have been nicer but that's not unexpected in a vacation rental property. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamieoTN
Mishawaka, Indiana
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We and our friends stayed here and had a nice cabin!!!! Easy parking comfy beds a real nice set up. Hot tub, also jacuzzi bath tub and pool table. Swimming pool was available but is t was a little chilly for the hot tub and pool. Close to shopping and downtown Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tdolly2
About Hotel's Favourite Review
MountainShadows, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments about your cabin and stay. Much appreciated!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A log cabin in the forest not a five star modern hotel! This we did not expect a luxury apartment, perhaps those with negative reviews had expected something different. We had a great time. Beautiful, peaceful and relaxed. Great location for Gatlinburg and Smokys. There were some problems with internal door locks and some crockery broken, no hair dryer or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidBK
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in Bear Necessities. Perfect, clean cabin for our vacation in Gatlinburg. Kids love the hot tub! Bedrooms and bathrooms are great, couldn't ask for more. Fully equipped kitchen made it easy for meals too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken A
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments about one of our most popular vacation homes and hope to see you many times in the future.

Lebanon, Tennessee
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

1604 Maple Tree Cottage. Worst place ever, up stairs not bad. Downstairs a whole other matter. Carpets stained and nasty, bed was comfy. Bathroom was GROSS scum ring around tub. Floors looked as if they had not been cleaned, just swept over. Never mopped, corners had black crud in then. Sent manager pictures and have had no response. The towel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We’re very sorry this guest was unhappy with portions of their cabin. We always make sincere efforts to address and correct matters as soon as we learn about them during a guest visit. Unfortunately we we did not have an opportunity in this situation as we only learned about these concerns after guest departure. In a subsequent contact, we did...

Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

The cabin was beautiful. Had a few things that needed attention, cleaning of vents and fans. The shower curtain needed cleaning in the main floor. Everything else over all was fine. We had a great time. I do property mgmt for a living and I check everything as a habit including bedbugs. We enjoyed our time. We stayed in bear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and input. We have had our housekeeping staff address these issues . We’re so glad you had a good time during your visit to Gatlinburg.

Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

By far the worst experience I have ever had with any resort or business period. My fiancé and I booked a cabin for New Years weekend because we were getting married in Gatlinburg. The experience of staying in a cabin for the weekend was what initially drew us to get married in Gatlinburg. The day before our wedding, we went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James H
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Initially let me say, our policy concerning poor reviews and comments is to, as much as within us, offer sincere apologies for errors and situations that are our fault and even those that may not be, offer refunds or free nights on a future visit when warranted, and do our utmost to put the situation to rest on a good...

Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Upon arrival our nightmare began...we stayed at Tranquility and there was NOTHING tranquil about this place. The floor in the kitchen was sticky as were counters. The microwave did not work. The mattress in the king room was shot, had a Valley so deep in the middle we needed help to get out of bed. In fact all the mattresses...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samfam1
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We are so very sorry your experience was less that satisfactory. Unfortunately we did not learn of these matters in time to correct them. We do make every effort to address any concerns as soon as we possibly can.

Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

This has been a nightmare. We rented 1606 Bobby's Hideaway at Mountain Shadows Resort for us and my family. The bedroom my children were to sleep in has dust mites. They covered my children and they had scratch marks all over their bodies. They didn't sleep at all. They had to get a room at the Marriott Inn. The coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daizzi678
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We want to apologize for the allergic reaction experienced as well as the other housekeeping issues. Originally reported to us as bed bugs, we immediately contacted our pest control service as well as our bed bug assurance team. They could not find any evidence of any pest infestation so one of the guests in the party did stay the entire...

Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

We get away with several couples every year and have always loved Mountain Shadow Resort. But this time we stayed at Tranquillity and we were very unhappy. The dishwasher was broken as well as the drawer to the stove. The refrigerator did not have much storage because parts were missing on the door to make it usable. When someone on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We are sorry this cabin was not as spacious as you would have preferred and that you experienced some negative maintenance issues. Our maintenance department has installed a new dishwasher and determined the water leak from the shower was likely from splash out that can occur if the shower curtain is askew. Your comments are most welcome in that it...

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
4.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
5.8 km away
Glenstone Lodge
Glenstone Lodge
#40 of 78 in Gatlinburg
941 reviews
4.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
4.7 km away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
442 reviews
6.2 km away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxurious log homes - hot tubs, spas, fireplaces, fully equipped kitchens, gas/electric grills, game rooms, swimming pool. Honeymoons to Family Reunions. Gatlinburg trolley, Adjacent to National Park. Children's Playground. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort

Address: 1901 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5950
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Price Range: $191 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Shadows Log Home Hotel Gatlinburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for in depth pictures of desired cabin.”
randalls158, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask about parking and the condition of the bed mattress”
powellgs, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Loved this cabin...plenty of room for the 6 of us”
  • Upstairs Suite
  • Deck off of the main floor
Comish32, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“There are lots of great cabins avoid Mountain Shadows Resorts. Don't repeat our mistake.”
joe37919, 21 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Check layout and floor plans before choosing. You can also call office they will answer any questions”
  • Kitchen
  • Fireplace bedroom and living room
  • Bedroom and bathroom
Cmramage, 22 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hotwire.com
Booking.com
CheapTickets
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates