We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

806 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 799: English reviews
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

Terrible very run down and poorly maintained. It is close to everything downtown but that is the only positive. Linens were bad especially the sheets. Bathroom TINY. No continental breakfast only one ice machine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DannyJoe12
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. Please accept our apologies that your suite was not clean. Our housekeeping team is there to ensure that each room is spotless and ready for our guest’s arrival. We hope that your concerns were addressed to our resort staff in order to resolve your concerns and provide you with a better stay with...

Reviewed 21 May 2015 via mobile

We booked this hotel because we wanted to stay close to downtown and we had a great experience. The staff was friendly and got is anything we needed (towels, pillows). The bed was comfortable and the room was huge! Nice flat screen TV. Our room was situated on the hill so walking up the hill may be a challenge for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that your time spent at our resort was a comfortable one. It is also very pleasing to see that you were able to view the mountains from your room at a great value. We look forward to you and your family staying with us soon...

Union, South Carolina
Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

I will definitely be staying here again! It is right in the middle of everything so we didn't need to move the car at all. Our room was upgraded for free for some reason, which I didn't mind. The rooms were nice and clean. Bedding was new including the mattress and box spring. No bed bug or any bug problems...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank blsalter
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you have a great time at our Westgate River Terrace Resort & Convention Center. It’s very pleasant to hear that our guests enjoyed all aspects of their stay. We offer the perfect place to stay for visiting downtown Gatlinburg and any of the other fun attractions. We...

Mount Sterling, Ohio
Reviewed 17 May 2015

This hotel looks great from the pictures and has a great location. The view and location were great. First room was overlooking Gatlinburg and a good view of the mountains. The second rooms view was of the dirty pool and hot tub that couldn't be used for not being taken care of despite the 90 degree and sunny weather. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank godfly13
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

We really appreciate your review on the Westgate River Terrace Resort & Convention Center! Please accept our apologies for not exceeding your expectations during your stay with us. Cleanliness is a top priority, and this was not done to our standard. Our housekeeping team is there to ensure that each room is spotless and ready for our guest’s arrival. We...

Reviewed 16 May 2015 via mobile

This place was incredibly dirty. The pool was broken the entire time we were there. The staff were less than helpful, and there were bugs dead and alive all over our room. It was not worth the money that we paid to stay. The entire experience was awful! Avoid at all cost!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank msmccartny
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies that your suite was not clean when you arrived. Cleanliness is a priority, and this was not done to our standard. Our housekeeping team is there to ensure that each room is spotless and ready for our guest’s arrival. We do hope that these issues were expressed and addressed with our resort management in order to...

Reviewed 10 May 2015 via mobile

Within walking distance to everything on Gatlinburg's main strip, the River Terrace may not be brand new but my wife and I have stayed in much newer brand name hotels that were over-priced, snobby and not as clean as this room. We had a room with a king sized bed, in the Mountain View building at the very back and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jon F
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing River Terrace Resort and Convention Center! We’re beyond thrilled you enjoyed everything from our fully equipped rooms to our mountain views. As you mentioned, we are just walking distance from the main strip. We hope you come back and visit us again soon! Sincerely, Idalise

Lebanon, Kentucky
Reviewed 5 May 2015

Stayed here for 3 night and 4 days. The room was big and spacious but not clean, the air was broke, the pool had dirt and a film floating on the top, the clothes dryer for the guest did not work, no one cleaned our room for 3 days, and to top it all off there was poo-poo on the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stephanie M
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Please accept our apologies for the issues of the room you stayed in. We strive to making sure our guests are provided with the best service and accommodations offered here at our Westgate River Terrance Resort & Convention Center. We do hope that these issues were expressed and addressed with our resort management...

Georgetown, Kentucky
Reviewed 4 May 2015 via mobile

I'll start with my only complaint, we were out very late on Saturday night, enjoying all the town has to offer. When we got back to our room at around 1am I promptly hung the do not disturb sign on our door knowing we would be sleeping in on the following Sunday. By 10:30 house keeping was knocking on the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank TNVOLFAN114
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. Keep in mind that check out time is at 10:00am. However, you can request for a late check out and front desk will determine this based on availability. It’s great to hear our staff was courteous and friendly. We feel honored you would recommend us and hope to see you again soon! Sincerely,...

Lake Placid, New York
Reviewed 1 May 2015 via mobile

If location is your main issue, this is the place for you. You cannot be more in the center of Gatlinburg than this place. The best I can say about the accommodations is "average". It is not bad enough to speak badly but not good enough to praise. We could not get the Internet from our room and there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rm1259
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts and impression of the River Terrace Resort and Convention Center. Our goal is to provide you, our guest, with superior service and quality accommodations which is why we are currently renovating as to keep our facilities in tip top shape. Regarding a fitness center, no we do not have a...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 26 April 2015

This hotel was one of the most affordable for a quick night's stay on a budget. However, it was one of the biggest regrets of our road trip. The rooms are old, the beds are old, the wood-paneling was merely painted over in a gross green color, the TV is old. The only good thing about this hotel was the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sara G
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing with us why the River Terrace Resort and Convention Center did not meet all of your expectations. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful view and our convenient location to the heart of Gatlinburg. It was sad to read that you found so much of our resort to be outdated which left you...

331 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (314)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (114)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.6 km away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 82 in Gatlinburg
426 reviews
0.1 km away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#20 of 82 in Gatlinburg
865 reviews
0.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
1.2 km away
Brookside Resort
Brookside Resort
#35 of 82 in Gatlinburg
896 reviews
0.6 km away
River Edge Motor Lodge
River Edge Motor Lodge
#52 of 82 in Gatlinburg
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains River Terrace Resort and Convention Center in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of downtown Gatlinburg, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park. With easy walking access to the main street in Gatlinburg and a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities, your dream vacation is waiting at River Terrace Resort and Convention Center! ... more   less 

Additional Information about River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Address: 240 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3208
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Price Range: $111 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Terrace Resort & Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your River Terrace Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Gatlinburg
River Terrace Resort And Convention Center
River Terrace Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from River Terrace Resort & Convention Center staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from River Terrace Resort & Convention Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors with a balcany”
 of 5 bubbles aaronj541, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Arrive very early if you hope to get what you reserved.”
  • Gross...
  • Dirty tub...
  • Dead cockroach on the floor outside our door.
  • Dead cockroach on the floor outside our door.
  • Everything but the tv was outdated.
  • Not so great compared to the river view we were supposed to get.
  • Dirty tub...
 of 5 bubbles H6353FMjessicab, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I don not know if there is a good room. Maybe there is now.”
 of 5 bubbles damonf553, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“try to get a room in the high-rise part that has an elevator”
 of 5 bubbles juliaB4795CY, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Built on mountain side so if there are issues waling up hills ask for a room in one of the lower units.”
 of 5 bubbles guardgrey51, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay