We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

294 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 290: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights in March '16. Great little spot, a little dated, but very clean and great location. Easy walking access to everything there is to see and do in Gatlinburg. Our only real complaint was that our room was adjoined to the room next door, and we could clearly hear the guests when they were in their...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brant585
kendall H, Owner at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your great compliments. We are working on the WI-FI issues currently. You may request a room without a connecting door. We do have a few rooms like that. Hope to see you in the future.

Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I loved the room and the area. You're able to walk wherever u want as far as Gatlinburg. The people were nice. The only problem we had was the room needs a little moral lighting. But overall a wonderful stay and I would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Noah C
kendall H, Owner at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for you kind words. We will look into the lighting issues you mentioned. We look forward to serving your needs again.

south carolina
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Hotel was good value for the price, great location, within walking distance to downtown. It was neat and clean and staff was friendly. it is a little dated, Based on the location, I would stay here again. We stayed on the bottom floor. It was a little noisy when people where driving by, especially the motorcycles, you could hear the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ldscountry
kendall H, Owner at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind response. We strive to make all our guests happy. If you are unsatisfied for any reason, please let us know so we can try to make amends. We look forward to serving your needs in the future.

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

We are staying here for a family function. Cute hotel on the outside, but the inside is a bit dated. Went to the bathroom to take a shower and the tub does not drain properly. The bathroom looks like it had some incomplete work done to it. Went to bed, the mate ease are harder than a rock. Not a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D S
kendall H, Owner at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We could have tried to move you to a different room so that the smoke wouldn't bother you and the tub drain may have worked better. We hope to see you in the future.

Gamaliel, Kentucky
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

We originally stayed for the 4th of July then Labor Day Weekend. They are a great place that's within walking distance of everything! Rooms are clean & comfortable, staff is so friendly, great place!! True, it's a bit outdated but I can overlook that. We tried another place for NYE and cannot wait to get back to Mountain House.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ARyherdBrown
kendall H, Owner at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you in the future. We love guests who come back to stay with us each time they are in Gatlinburg.

Blanchester, Ohio
Reviewed 29 December 2015

This was a nice surprise compared to the dumps Ive picked in gatlinburg in the past few years!! The room was clean and everything worked as it should.The price was good and the staff was very nice. This is a older place, but will be the place we return to in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LAZYAACRES
kendall H, Owner at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Lenoir City, Tennessee
Reviewed 24 December 2015

I seldom stay overnight in Gatlinburg, living only an hour away, but I may have found the best value in the city. Mountain House is an older property, and shows its age in small ways. BUT where it's important - the beds, the fixtures, and the staff - this place has it all over the competition!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Logan V
kendall H, Owner at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We love guests who can appreciate our property. We hope you stay with us in the future.

Reston, Virginia
Reviewed 21 December 2015

I was looking for a decent place to stay not far from downtown. I was satisfied with this motel. It wasn't luxury by any means, but the room was decent and within walking distance of downtown Gatlinburg. It was so convenient so we did not have to drive during our stay and could get exercise too! The owner seemed very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hollins1984
kendall H, Owner at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We love to hear that we have met your expectations. We look forward to serving you needs in the future.

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 11 November 2015

A good clean room. Nothing fancy but centrally located two blocks off the main drag. No breakfast and the WiFi is weak. Get a room close to the office to increase the signal. This is a family run business that cares. Nice Folks!

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Yabolrunka
kendall H, Owner at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. We are working to resolve the WI-FI issues so that the signal doesn't fade. We hope you will stay with us on your next trip to Gatlinburg.

southern Indiana
Reviewed 9 November 2015

In the middle of October my husband and I took an impromptu trip from Indiana to Gatlinburg, in the middle of their busiest season. After checking online for available places to stay for one night, the options were slim, but Mountain House Motor Inn had a vacancy. After reading other reviews, we decided to give it a try. When we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PamsouthernIndiana
kendall H, Owner at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us. We also provide AAA, AARP and gov discounts along with military. We hope you will stay with us on your next trip to Gatlinburg.

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (49)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (14)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (Alternative) (13)
Viewed
King Room (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.6 km away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
438 reviews
0.4 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#20 of 78 in Gatlinburg
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.7 km away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
1.1 km away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

Address: 247 Newton Ln, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3537 (Formerly Econo Lodge Downtown)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Price Range: $73 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown Hotel Gatlinburg
Mountain Hotel Downtown
Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would try a 2nd floor room to insure an even quieter stay.”
 of 5 bubbles mikaelos, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lower level rooms are more convenient if you have plenty of luggage.”
 of 5 bubbles RobertC117, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 301 opens directly to the pool. Use Baskins Creek bypass to get to highway 321 to skip a lot of traffic if traveling this way.”
 of 5 bubbles SouthSeaPirate, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Accessible to everything!”
 of 5 bubbles elizzierussell, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The rooms farther to the back will be quieter (front rooms near office are close to a fairly busy little intersection.”
 of 5 bubbles jakeanddolly, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5