We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Western Big Sky Inn

111 reviews
Save
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (2)
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good43%
  • Average9%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“big sky”(20 reviews)
“room was clean”(10 reviews)
“non chain”(2 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Pets Allowed
Wheelchair Access
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (111)Write a Review
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
49
46
10
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
49
46
10
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig skyroom was cleannon chainthe general managerdefinitely stay here againinternet servicecold cerealgas stationgood sizecomfortable staycontinental breakfastdesk clerkqueen bedwafflesno elevatorcoffee makera great place to stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2018

I wanted to sleep in a parking place somewhere out of sight, but decided it would be best to get a room. The first place I stopped was not very inviting. The sidewalks were not shoveled and were covered with snow. I decided I could...More

Thank Frog M
Reviewed 18 December 2017

We stay there at least 1-2 times a year for a week on business. The manager, Diane, is a treasure. She goes out of her way to be helpful. She really did a great job on decorating for Halloween--lots of fun--so we wish we could've...More

Thank kennethbD9995VT
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

Diane is an awesome manager. We certainly appreciate her service. She has a great idea to put up the hotel on the interstate advertising so folks would hear about this hotel!! She keeps thing real clean and works really hard.

Thank conniecG376FC
Response from diane4358us, Manager at Western Big Sky InnResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you so much!We try and having guests like you helps big time.

Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Not a lot of choices in Deer Lodge but this place was a very pleasant. While it's an older place and there is some noise from the walkway outside, the room was very clean and nicely maintained. I expected a shasty place - you know...More

Thank ShawnaK50
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

We didn't find an AAA rating for this, but they evidently have one. They weren't in the AAA book. We found this place by asking Siri for motels in Deer Lodge. The room is clean and comfortable, if a bit outdated. We didn't expect much...More

Thank SuzanneF3
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345622
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
USD 52 - USD 66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 52 - USD 66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Bill P
5 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Nancy B | Reviewed this property |
I don't know if there are designated pet free rooms. Because it seems that most motels are now pet friendly! We always request a pet free room when making reservations--because of allergies. The room we had was very clean... More
0
Votes
Andi C
The owner of this place does not have any idea how badly this place is run by the married managers. I had inquired about room rates as I was shopping for a place to stay so I could attend a beloved family members memorial. Our conversation took place on FB, no reservation was made, no confirmation code was given, no credit card number to reserve a room. The day of our supposed arrival I get a nasty-gram from the manager stating that by my not showing I cost them $79, that they turned away customers, etc. then I get a message from a family member to call the motel, so I did. The female that answered the phone slammed it down and hung up on me as soon as I identified myself. I wonder...if that $79 was going in her pocket and not the owners??? Just makes me wonder why standard procedures were not followed if she indeed thought there was a formal reservation made (there was not) and why she was so upset when she thought she had lost $79. She then blocked me from the FB account and I cannot seem to find the owners name. I will however file a complaint with the better business bureau, that should get the owners attention! Something's not right here. This couple passes themselves as the owner, but are simply hourly employees. I will never stay here! Never have and certainly never will. The Travel Lodge is a fine place to stay in my home town. I visit Deer Lodge every year and you have certainly lost any future business that may have come your way! Who owns this establishment?
16 September 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from R2Ontheroad | Reviewed this property |
No idea who owns this motel. Our experience was completely the way I set it up plus when we assigned a room in a corner of the building and we decided an end room would suit better with our puppy...We were given the room... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"For a stay of several days, the 2nd floor is quieter,"
Read review
"If you have a lot of electronics, bring a power strip."
Read review
"Ground floor you can sit outside of your room and easier to get luggage in"
Read review
"We always book the top floor so we dont have stomping above us."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing