We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Belton Chalet

Hotels.comUSD 203*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
25/06/2017 26/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Belton Chalet
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Belton Chalet
See the most recent reviews
Showing 299: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We didn't stay here but ate at the restaurant twice based on recommendations from locals. This is probably the best restaurant in town. It's a real "foodie" place. It felt like fine dining in a big city, whereas most places are full of hiking boots and students on summer break. Be prepared for a wait, but you can enjoy a...

1Thank Kels2003
on the road
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We enjoyed staying at this historic chalet. The staff was very friendly. The restaurant was superb!!! Best part of the stay! Our only complaint is that the room was very warm. We knew there would be no A/C but didn't expect that with all of the windows open and a fan blowing that it would remain uncomfortably warm for the...

1Thank lsable
Lafayette, Ca
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed here on the night of 8-2-2014 and I will not stay here again. The room was hot and they had only a fan. There was no way too get breeze. The manager was totally uncommitted to client service. We had booked 8-2 and 8-4. We had called several times and said keep calling often a cancellation. We found...

3Thank Lesley H
BeltonGM, General Manager at Belton Chalet, responded to this review

Dear Leslie H Thank you for taking the time to write your experience regarding your stay with us on August 2. I am very glad to hear that you would recommend our restaurant to others. Thank you very much! We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in our renovated 1910 historic railroad hotel. We can understand that...

Jackson, Ohio
Reviewed 19 August 2014

After white knuckling the GTTSR we were the impressed with the Belton Chalet. Again chosen because of Trip Advisor recommendations our original plan had two nights, but because of the EB mess we had to cut it to one night. The rental company wanted $75 to pick up the car we got in East Glacier and originally we figured we...

Thank Eric A
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Reviewed 16 August 2014

First the Restaurant: Wonderful! We were a large group of 21 and Melinda worked with me before we went to Glacier. She gave us the private Heritage Room. I chose six items from the menu and she printed a special menu for us. The food was wonderful. Everyone was happy with their meal. My granddaughter and I stayed at the...

Thank Mjoharp
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I want to thank Brad and the owners of the Belton Chalet for helping us in a very sticky situation. Our hotel plans went awry at another location and we showed up at the Belton Chalet at 11:00pm with no where to stay. Everything in town was booked - literally. Another hotel was giving people blankets so they could sleep...

1Thank AbeleTeam
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 12 August 2014

When I die & go to travel heaven I will stay at the Belton Chalet. We hunt out historic properties and if you don't know what this means, or think you might want the local chain motor inn because it's got a color TV or ... please! don't book this and complain. This restoration is the most outstanding we have...

Thank jeans163
Reviewed 11 August 2014

No A/C or TV or elevator and the rooms were very small. This is an old railroad hotel. I was here with a group. Although it got down in the 40's at night the room was still "warm". There was a fan we ran the entire time and we kept the windows open the entire time. I didn't see any...

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Enjoyed the night here. Great place to stay and the location has a great view. Sat on our deck and enjoyed the evening. The trains are loud but the have ear plugs in the room if you need them. This was a nice place to stay after the Going The Sun Road.

2Thank Cheryl D
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We love coming here and this time we brought some cousins and stayed in the Lewis cabin. Note... if you can't handle passing trains and road noise, stay someplace else. Love the lodge with ping pong down below... Food is always top notch esp fresh fish or beef. We collect the Ware plates and enjoy the proximity to both the...

Thank Linda T

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (68)
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Dining (7)
Room/Suite (18)
View from Room (3)
Bathroom (1)
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (9)
Room/Suite (3)
Dining (1)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Other (3)
25/06/2017 26/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.3 km away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
333 reviews
3.8 km away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
278 reviews
0.3 km away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 km away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
318 reviews
8.8 km away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
172 reviews
6.3 km away
The Great Bear Inn
The Great Bear Inn
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a 1910 National Historic Landmark hotel built by James J. and Louis Hill of the Great Northern Railway. After being closed for fifty years, the property underwent a three-year restoration completed in 1999 and is now a National Historic Landmark. The Belton Chalet was the first chalet built for Glacier Park and the park’s first winter headquarters. Belton Chalet, family owned, once again welcomes guest from across the world. Thank you for being our guest and a part of our history. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Belton Chalet

Address: 12575 Hwy 2 East, PO Box 206, West Glacier, MT 59936
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Price Range: $213 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belton Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Belton Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belton Chalet West Glacier, Montana
Belton Chalet Hotel West Glacier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Belton Chalet staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Frankfort, New York
Frankfort, New York
Red Bank, New Jersey
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Belton Chalet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Since the hotel added them after built the bathrooms in each room have space for only one person at a time.”
DNvisitors, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing north-west toward highway 2/Glacier National Park. The views are quite nice.”
669scottb, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at back will probably be quieter”
Mulherin, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room on the back side to assure less train noise!”
BACIBEAR35, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you choose a room in the front with a balcony be prepared to here trains. I did get use to it. They also provide earplugs.”
christinemU8333TG, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
USD 203* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUSD 203
TravelocityUSD 203
TripAdvisorUSD 203
View all 7 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates