We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Glacier House Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Glacier House Hostel
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

6 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 6: English reviews
Start your review of Glacier House Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 23 October 2016

A group of friends amd I stayed here for one night and could not deal with the smell of cat urine. We were scheduled for 2 nights. When we tried to cancel our second evening, the manager asked why and he was told because of the smell. He accused us of bringing the smell into the place and would not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bradley B
GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House Hostel, responded to this review

It is always disappointing to receive a negative review, although we were not surprised to see this as it had been threatened if we did not refund their money. Shortly after their late evening arrival my manager let me know that at least one of this group of 10 smelled horribly, from several feet away, and considered asking him to...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

It was basic but comfortable. I stayed for the summer. I'd recommend for fellow travelers looking for a safe place to stay. It was my home for a while and I loved it (I'm not used to sharing living quarters but it was great)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MariaJM1980
GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you Maria! Alex and I certainly enjoyed your company and you were definitely respectful of the house, if there were a place to review guests we would give you five stars back! GE

Corvallis, Oregon
Reviewed 17 September 2015

It advertised a room for $17, but when we got there he charged us $30. The $17 rate was for a tent in the back yard. It was very dirty - I have been to about 15 hostels and it is by far the dirtiest for comparable prices. It was also way out of town. If you are walking, it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dan S
GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, I assume you accidentally booked the tent space, as it sounds as though you were taken by surprise; I hope you appreciated the discount we offered you and your brother as a compromise. I have double checked all the booking sites we use to be sure they accurately state the type of reservation and pricing. The price of $30...

Fargo
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Not fancy but clean and comfortable. Best sleep I had my entire trip. Host graciously was up late waiting on my post midnight arrival. Being a hostel bath and kitchen are shared but things were clean. May not be the best place for a woman traveling alone if she is not comfortable being surrounded by men in a shared environment....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anna B
GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very nice review! I hope you will stay with us again one day, please let us know, we have a special offer for returning guests! We have expanded since your first visit and I think you would enjoy some of the upgrades we have made, especially the addition of another kitchen and bathroom, both larger and...

Ellison Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I've stayed in hostels before so I know better than to expect frills. I booked 2 nights at Glacier House Hostel in Fairbanks, AK on Bookings.com which described it as having a desk that was open 24 hours. The room was called the "Tree House Room" and it said there was a shared bathroom and kitchen. It said the room...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Denise F
GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House Hostel, responded to this review

It does sound like you had a rough night! Our very popular Tree House ordinarily is quite coveted by our guests, so much so that we had to limit the number of consecutive nights to five. My husband and I shared it on our wedding night fifteen years ago, and it is still my favorite place to be on a...

Pleasanton, California
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I booked a night on airbnb and didn't realize it was a hostel first, but I was not disappointed. The place is very well managed. I was greeted by a very nice host who lives in the building next door, he checked me in and answered all my questions. The place has 2 bedrooms with 2 bunk beds each, a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank heckfy
GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very nice descriptive review! We have expanded since your first visit, and now have a total of five available sleeping rooms, enabling us to offer a private room option. We also added another kitchen and bath/shower room, both larger and nicer than the originals; the originals do indeed still function well but we are of course...

7 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.8 km away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
258 reviews
7.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,011 reviews
4.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Park Inn
2.4 km away
SpringHill Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Glacier House Hostel

Address: 535 Glacier Ave, Fairbanks, AK 99701-3724
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Price Range: $23 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Glacier House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier House Hostel Fairbanks, Alaska
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Glacier House Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't go here - go to 9th ave. Hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles E7567NOdans, 16 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Don't book the "Tree House Room"!”
 of 5 bubbles 730denisef, 11 Aug 2014 | Read review
2 of 2