We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
28/01/2018 29/01/2018
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Glacier House Hostel

    535 Glacier Ave, Fairbanks, AK 99701-3724
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    28/01/2018 29/01/2018
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    {"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (6)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 6 reviews

    Reviewed 23 October 2016

    A group of friends amd I stayed here for one night and could not deal with the smell of cat urine. We were scheduled for 2 nights. When we tried to cancel our second evening, the manager asked why and he was told because of...More

    4  Thank Bradley B
    Response from GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House HostelResponded 26 October 2016

    It is always disappointing to receive a negative review, although we were not surprised to see this as it had been threatened if we did not refund their money. Shortly after their late evening arrival my manager let me know that at least one of...More

    Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

    It was basic but comfortable. I stayed for the summer. I'd recommend for fellow travelers looking for a safe place to stay. It was my home for a while and I loved it (I'm not used to sharing living quarters but it was great)

    Thank MariaJM1980
    Response from GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House HostelResponded 24 October 2016

    Thank you Maria! Alex and I certainly enjoyed your company and you were definitely respectful of the house, if there were a place to review guests we would give you five stars back! GE

    Reviewed 17 September 2015

    It advertised a room for $17, but when we got there he charged us $30. The $17 rate was for a tent in the back yard. It was very dirty - I have been to about 15 hostels and it is by far the dirtiest...More

    3  Thank Dan S
    Response from GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House HostelResponded 22 March 2016

    Hello, I assume you accidentally booked the tent space, as it sounds as though you were taken by surprise; I hope you appreciated the discount we offered you and your brother as a compromise. I have double checked all the booking sites we use to...More

    Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

    Not fancy but clean and comfortable. Best sleep I had my entire trip. Host graciously was up late waiting on my post midnight arrival. Being a hostel bath and kitchen are shared but things were clean. May not be the best place for a woman...More

    1  Thank Anna B
    Response from GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House HostelResponded 22 March 2016

    Thank you for your very nice review! I hope you will stay with us again one day, please let us know, we have a special offer for returning guests! We have expanded since your first visit and I think you would enjoy some of the...More

    Reviewed 12 August 2014

    I've stayed in hostels before so I know better than to expect frills. I booked 2 nights at Glacier House Hostel in Fairbanks, AK on Bookings.com which described it as having a desk that was open 24 hours. The room was called the "Tree House...More

    4  Thank Denise F
    Response from GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House HostelResponded 22 March 2016

    It does sound like you had a rough night! Our very popular Tree House ordinarily is quite coveted by our guests, so much so that we had to limit the number of consecutive nights to five. My husband and I shared it on our wedding...More

    About
    Details
    • Price range
    • USD 20 - USD 41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Number of rooms
    • 6
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glacier House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United States >
    • Alaska >
    • Fairbanks
    • Also Known As
    • Glacier House Hostel Fairbanks, Alaska
    Nearby
    Nearby HotelsSee all 24 hotels in Fairbanks
    Regency Fairbanks Hotel
    312 reviews
    1.82 km away
    Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
    847 reviews
    2.06 km away
    Tamarac Inn Motel
    3 reviews
    2.19 km away
    Alaska Motor Inn
    1 review
    2.21 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Banks Alehouse
    153 reviews
    1.42 km away
    Chowder House
    164 reviews
    1.42 km away
    Aha Oriental Kitchen
    50 reviews
    1.21 km away
    Blue Roof Bistro
    22 reviews
    1.58 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Morris Thompson Cultural & Visitors Center
    1,210 reviews
    2.04 km away
    Fairbanks Ice Museum
    226 reviews
    2.28 km away
    Antler Arch
    59 reviews
    2.13 km away
    Two Street Gallery LLC
    46 reviews
    2.38 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Glacier House Hostel staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Don't go here - go to 9th ave. Hostel."
    Read review
    "Don't book the "Tree House Room"!"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing