We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gateway Inn Savannah

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Gateway Inn Savannah
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Gateway Inn Savannah
See the most recent reviews
Showing 27: English reviews
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Nothing was upgraded but the tv and that didn't work all i can say is yuck! Everything smelled smokey and nothing looked clean at all, i saw no housekeepers or anybody else i asked for a refund because the place looked like a horror show!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimbleles
Jeremy H, Director of Sales at Gateway Inn Savannah, responded to this review

We apologize for your experience at the hotel and we will be looking into the problems that you mentioned. The cleaning staff would normally start working close to check out time so it is possible that you left before they arrived. That being said, we take all reviews seriously and will make any adjustments to ensure that these issues do...

Alpharetta, Georgia
Reviewed 22 March 2013

ok the location isn't bad.. it's busy around there... who every said it is dangerous... noo it's not. it's rather affordable, altough for St. Paddys it was quite high.. for THAT... i mean... ugh... it was nasty... spots all over the place.. the sheets and towels were not clean at all, the bathroom wasn't clean. i do not expect much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iwi M
Jeremy H, Public Relations Manager at Gateway Inn Savannah, responded to this review

Thank You For Your Review, We are under new management and have been working hard to make the improvements that you mentioned. When it is not a holiday, our rates are around $40 to $50.00 a night and we now have flat screen televisions and a great cleaning staff. Please give us another chance the next time that you are...

Indialantic, Florida
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Found this hotel online for a busy Savannah weekend. It was inexpensive...really inexpensive. Upon arrival, there was 1 car in the lot while other hotel lots were full. There was a chemical smell to the lobby, there were trash bags at the entranceway to be taken out. The pool had a note that it was closed by order of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gotiger11
Atlanta
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We thought we would save a few dollars by staying here are rate was $58. We were visiting Armstrong Atlantic State University and this hotel is near the campus. It was absolutely not worth it. I do not know where to begin to tell the nastiness of this hotel. The sheets were covered with hair. Unfortunately, we did not arrive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GTechMom
Standish, Maine
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Hotel would have been fine if things had worked. toilet didnt flush, vending, internet, juice machine & hot tub out of order. Bathtub dirty/moldy and hairs in tub. Free breakfast consisted of a small basket with a few mini muffins, mini bagels (tasted weird) and bread. Cream cheese not on ice. A jar of peanut butter & butter everyone dug...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mguilford1
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Stayed for 1 night traveling to Florida. Good for the price. Clean comfortable rooms, beds soft and comfy. Older style hotel, nothing flash. Internet not working, told router was down???? No vending machines working and hot tub not working. Good for price, would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Selena39
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 14 October 2010

The hotel was exactly what u paid for. It was not the best but it was not the worst. I traveled to Savannah to meet up with a friend and it was a good spot to stay the night.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kimluvmickey
Ridgeland, SC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

This is a quiet hotel, located right off of Abercorn St. It is good for the value, cleansiness was ok could have been shown a little more care. Big downfall, NO MICROWAVE in the room. The bed was soft and comfortable, sheets , bed spread and towels were clean. Its a good place to stay if you wanna get a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smthchlt29936
florida
Reviewed 30 October 2008

We arrived at our reserved hotel on October 16, 2008, after 6 hrs on the road. Found the room to be unsatisfactory and went looking for another room. We ended up at Gateway Savannah (a Clarion hotel) and found the staff to be friendly, courteous and with a great sense of humor! They let us look at a room before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jhyeehaw55
Winona, MN
Reviewed 2 April 2006

If you travel to Savannah, don't buy the line you've got to stay near the historic downtown area. And DON'T stay at the Gateway Inn on 11520 Abercorn (Hwy 204) near the shopping malls. Bad points: Shower head broken, didn't stay up; no one there to fix it. No towel rack and no toilet paper holder - both broken. Hair...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank travelcamel

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Econo Lodge Midtown
#92 of 113 in Savannah
66 reviews
Avalon/Oglethorpe Mall Area
TownePlace Suites Savannah Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn
#76 of 113 in Savannah
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Gateway Inn Savannah

Address: 11520 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31419-1902
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Price Range: $79 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Gateway Inn Savannah 1.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Gateway Inn Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Savannah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gateway Inn Savannah staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Please stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles 228caria, 23 Jan 2015 | Read review
“no room is safe in this place. Needs to be shut down.”
 of 5 bubbles lindan633, 18 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Go somewhere else please!”
 of 5 bubbles MsLady2014, 18 Mar 2014 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay