We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Conwell Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Conwell Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Conwell Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 158: English reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Visited the hotel for a weekend. My daughter is at Temple so I wanted convenience. We ended up with convenience, charm and excellent customer service. It may seem like a small kindness, but we were unfamiliar with Pennsylvania laws regarding the purchase of wine. The manager of the hotel, Miranda, immediately found a bottle of red wine in the office...

2Thank christineyoung99
TheConwellInn_GM, General Manager at Conwell Inn, responded to this review

Greetings Christine, WE LOVE OUR TEMPLE FAMILIES! There's no better place to stay at Temple University, and I'd actually say of all colleges with hotels in the U.S., we REALLY lucked out with our location! We love being in the heart of campus, and I'm thrilled we could come through for you with much more than convenience. I've been wondering...

Reviewed 30 September 2015

I was able to park next to the Inn, the check-in was seamless, the room was very large and comfortable with a great bed for sleeping! I am a TU grad and it is nice to see and feel the energy present on a large school campus and stay on the campus is a great experience!

1Thank smalltowntravelerPa
TheConwellInn_GM, General Manager at Conwell Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, I love getting reviews like this from Temple Alums. It's great to know that The Conwell Inn is keeping up the Owl tradition of excellence! We pride ourselves on a quick and easy check-in process, and the most convenient parking on any college campus anywhere (and most city hotels for that matter!). I'm not going to say anything about...

Reviewed 10 September 2015

I spent an evening at the Conwell Inn while visiting my daughter at Temple University. Since the hotel is located right on Temple's campus, I am sure that many if not most of their guests are some how associated with Temple. However, if you want a clean, cozy alternative to the big hotels downtown this is a great choice. It...

2Thank kisskait80
TheConwellInn_GM, General Manager at Conwell Inn, responded to this review

Greetings! Believe it or not, only about 50% of our guests are related to Temple University. We're lucky enough to host guests from all over the world for all sorts of reasons and we love it! I am, however, always glad when a Temple family has a great time with us! We love being convenient to Center City via public...

Reviewed 3 September 2015 via mobile

Front desk person was no help at all, could not even offer eating recommendations, had no clue or advice on where to even get anything to eat. Food brochures in the room we outdated. Not close to anything. Would only recommend if your staying on campus and need no amenities.

2Thank John J
TheConwellInn_GM, General Manager at Conwell Inn, responded to this review

Greetings John, I'm sorry that you had such a disappointing stay, and I wish I had more to go off of so that I could apologize to you in full. There is actually a full guide to the 30+ food options within one two blocks of our front doors right at the Front Desk, so it appalls me to hear...

Vedano al Lambro, Italy
Reviewed 21 August 2015

I spent one night with my family during our holidays but am quite dissatisfied with the choice. The hotel is inside the Temple University campus in Philly and this is not a problem, however the access is quite difficult, the GPS is leading you on the wrong entrance, and even when you reach the entrance, you have to leave the...

4Thank Corrado R
TheConwellInn_GM, General Manager at Conwell Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, I'm sorry that you left feeling dissatisfied with your price paid. Philadelphia Hotel Taxes are high when paired with normal state taxes (15.5%) and the parking right next to our hotel, while some of the least expensive hotel parking in the city, will indeed add $15 to your nightly stay. All things considered, $139 a night for four people...

Miami Lakes Florida
Reviewed 20 August 2015

The smell in this room was so unpleasant and strong that we had to keep the AC extremely low to make it bearable. The place is obviously very old and historic in the center of Temple University's campus right next to its campus police (very hard to find and very difficult parking situation at $15 a night.) However, it's quaintness...

Thank lulimcarthur
TheConwellInn_GM, General Manager at Conwell Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, I'm sorry that Philadelphia failed you (and seemingly moreso than the hotel did!). We love our location in the heart of Historic Temple University, and while the building itself is a landmark at well over 100 years old, the hotel was part of new renovations just ten years ago, so everything inside our front doors is nice and new....

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Not a place we would normally book, but we loved staying on the Temple campus. Great location, large room, clean and comfortable beds, very quiet all day and night, safe. The front desk and housekeeping staff members were very friendly and helpful, both on the phone and in person. Several restaurants and a 7-Eleven nearby. A few cons: pricey for...

Thank 4Bubbles
TheConwellInn_GM, General Manager at Conwell Inn, responded to this review

Greetings! I'm glad you found us by chance! We love our location on Temple's beautiful campus...it's our own little Neverland, waking up each morning and looking out onto a bustling collegiate campus. We have a great staff, and I'm very lucky to have them...I'm glad that both the Front Desk and Housekeeping staff added some sunshine to your stay! We've...

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 31 July 2015

I was at Temple for a week long course. I stayed in midtown for the first 2 nights before I was able to get a room at the Conwell. Not being from Philadelphia and hearing about the rougher neighbourhoods around Temple, I was unsure about staying here. Turns out, campus is really nice and this was a great place with...

Thank rb0sma
TheConwellInn_GM, General Manager at Conwell Inn, responded to this review

Hi There! Glad you gave us a shot regardless of what you had heard about the area around Temple. Unfortunately, it's a stigma that we deal with from time to time, but stemmed from the neighborhood say two to three decades ago, yet continues to be brought up still today . Temple University has really made incredible strides to become...

Ellicott City, Maryland
Reviewed 24 July 2015

I was in Philly for a seminar at Temple and stayed at the Conwell Inn which is really conveniently located right on the Temple campus. The Inn has a shabby chic demeanor but was clean. It was a little noisy due to the shops located below the hotel. The rooms could use some remodeling. But it does have the basic...

Thank MJ2E
TheConwellInn_GM, General Manager at Conwell Inn, responded to this review

Greetings! I can't fully tell if you're criticizing or complimenting the vintage European feel of the hotel, but I understand either way - some guests love it and some don't! We have taken some measures recently to shift the shabby to the chic, but with the architecture that surrounds the hotel, we do tend to go for more of a...

New Milford, New Jersey
Reviewed 14 June 2015

Booked the Conwell Inn, since we went to a concert close by. The inn is on the campus of Temple University. Rooms are very small. My girlfriend and I were practically tripping over each other. Our room, supposedly, had a Queen bed, but the bed seemed the size of a double. Room wasn't very clean, either. The area in the...

1Thank Rich C
TheConwellInn_GM, General Manager at Conwell Inn, responded to this review

Greetings and thank you for reaching out to tell us about your experience. I am truly sorry if you felt your experience here was less than perfect. My apologies about the size of the room, as we do have some of the largest rooms in the city. Our corner rooms are a touch smaller, and I think that might have...

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (16)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Room/Suite (4)
View from Room (1)
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (20)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Room/Suite (6)
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 85 in Philadelphia
1,291 reviews
Penn's View Hotel
#11 of 85 in Philadelphia
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Conwell Inn is a charming, boutique hotel, comprised of period style guest rooms, each reflecting our quaint, Victorian-style while hosting an abundance of complimentary services including free wireless high-speed internet, free afternoon tea and cookies and a complimentary copy of our local newspaper. The Conwell Inn offers all the luxury of a "big-chain" hotel with the ambiance of a boutique inn. Known for our exemplary customer service, we pride ourselves on offering the highest quality services available. The next time you visit this marvelous city, let The Conwell Inn become your home away from home! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Conwell Inn

Address: 1331 Polett Walk (was West Berks Street), Philadelphia, PA 19122
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Price Range: $170 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Conwell Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Conwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conwell Hotel Philadelphia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Conwell Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Fort Worth, Texas
durham, nc
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Conwell Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“select a room on the inside of hallway not facing the temple grounds”
 of 5 bubbles sarahnmike2000, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“not near elevators - walls are thin and you hear everything”
 of 5 bubbles Keytool, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing west are looking at dumpsters, those facing east have more open view.”
 of 5 bubbles ssirca, 3 Dec 2015 | Read review
“The rooms that overlook the "walk" are great!”
 of 5 bubbles smalltowntravelerPa, 29 Sep 2015 | Read review
“I had room facing campus and was not bothered by any noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Al6244, 3 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5