We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Vagabond Inn Ventura

Booking.comUSD 84*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 84*
Great Deal
USD 85*
USD 85*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Vagabond Inn Ventura
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

339 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Vagabond Inn Ventura
See the most recent reviews
Showing 325: English reviews
Santa Monica, California
Reviewed 8 September 2016

The rooms are clean, comfortable, Staff is friendly. I travel to Ventura often to visit family this is my go to spot to stay. This hotel has a great restaurant attached to the hotel awesome food I am telling you it was the best!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brittnee B
PALM DESERT
Reviewed 7 September 2016

I stay at this hotel/motel often when I am in Ventura. While they are not a 5 star hotel, they provide a very comfortable and convenient place to stay. Bed comfortable. Room was clean. Staff was nice. and I love that I can just walk the footbridge over the highway to go to the beach on the other side

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JUDY W
Glendale, California
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Rooms were not ready until past 6 pm, smelled horribly of cigarette smoke, Decor is run down and damaged. Only one nice person at the desk, all others were rude and unhelpful. Maid staff was very helpful and tried to make thing right. Friends room had a crack pipe in the toilet and had to plunge it themselves!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 847phild
MaroneeBaker, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

I do apologize to you for having to wait until 6 pm to get into your room. I will follow up with housekeeping to find out what happened. I know housekeeping would have seen a crack pipe in the toilet. I wonder if someone flushed one and they didn't check. In any event, it is unacceptable. I have printed out...

Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

We got there at night and the lady in front desk was very nice. Got our room and we found out that it was so close to railroad tracks and we got waken and scared around 3am when the train passed by. The bathroom door didn't lock, there were stains on carpet and bath tub, also there was a guy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David L
MaroneeBaker, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

David, I appreciate your comments. Thank you for letting me know how your stay was with us. We do have a train that runs behind the hotel across the street. We took the locks off of the bathroom doors because sometimes small children go into the bathroom and lock themselves in by accident. I do apologize for the carpet and...

Anchor Point, Alaska
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Due to the Ventura Fair room price was doubled. Room was clean and very quiet at night. The pool and hot tub were nice and breakfast at the restaurant was very good. The hotel allows pets, so I will be staying here on my next visit.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 162hale
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I've stayed at the Vagabond for the last 6 years attending the annual cycling event. The prices have always been reasonable and the rooms acceptable. However, it's taken a turn for the worse. This weekend the assigned room had many stains on the tired carpet. I usually don't complain but this was pretty disgusting. We were given another room which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John62748
MaroneeBaker, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

John, thank you for responding. I appreciate your comments. The carpets in some rooms are old and some are permanently stained. Because of comments like yours, the owner has agreed to replace old flooring. Hopefully next year the floorcovering will be new. I hope you come look at a room before you go elsewhere. I am hoping to get wood...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 23 August 2016

This is a very basic motel, so you get what you pay for. The main benefit is that it is right across from the RR tracks and the pedestrian bridge over US 101 that connects to the pier. They have coffee in the morning with cellophane-wrapped pastries as well as fruit. The pool is well-maintained. The trains can be loud,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank WIEireannach
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Efficient check in. Our room clean, comfortable and quiet. Comfortable bed had a great sleep. Loved the pool area. Pool slightly heated and very clean. Lovely fluffy large towels. The stairs and some other areas could do with a clean up and maintenance but that is just an observation and did not affect our stay. Great value for money. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggie G
Malmö
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Positive: cosy room, the bathroom is clear and comfortable, ok breakfast in comparison with other places' we stayed at. Right next to it there is a place serving fish taco. Delicious! Negative: next to the railway track and major traffic. The trains make warning signals when they pass by. However we were not disturbed by it during the night. Have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saga K
California
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Well, not actually on the beach but a short walk across a footbridge and a little more to the Ventura Promenade. Veteran motor hotel mostly updated, clean, and comfortable. If non-smoking is your thing, request to see room first because some are reputed to have residual smoke stench even after being converted to non-smoking. Otherwise, it will be a pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seamusb
MaroneeBaker, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Best regards and we hope you come again.

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,057 reviews
0.7 km away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.7 km away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Historic Downtown Ventura, the Vagabond Inn is walking distance to the shops, restaurants, theaters and more. Just behind the Inn is a footbridge that takes you to the Ventura Pier and Promenade to the right and to San BuenaVentura State Beach to the left (where you will find the famous Jolly Oyster!) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Ventura

Address: 756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-2916
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Price Range: $108 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Ventura 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Vagabond Inn Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Ventura Hotel Ventura
Vagabond Hotel Ventura
Ventura Vagabond Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ventura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vagabond Inn Ventura staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“lower lever rooms were noisy, could tell by the open doors with people handing outside. The stairs and railings were worn and filthy.”
pacificrealty, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“We had a room on the side near the front office, which was quiet, except for early morning departures.”
LadyDi_and_Cowman, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check the window. Check the carpet with a bare foot or put down a tissue and step on it. Verify you understand the HVAC.”
Anaheim_Marilyn, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms along the back of the building seem to be quieter”
276JoeR276, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“None great room”
stefnali2010, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 84* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 85
Hotwire.comUSD 85
TripAdvisorUSD 84
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates